We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel”
Review of Grand Legacy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Legacy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top Class Hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the African Development Bank meeting when rooms were in demand across Kigali. It had just opened and was lovely. The rooms are furnished to four star standard and service is very keen if at times slow. The waiting staff struggle with English or French but they are keen to please.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeshababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Grand Legacy Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Abeshababe,
,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment on our TA page.
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and our sincere regrets regarding other concerns, we are working on empowering our team in this area and already we have very good signs.I hope we will get the chance to host you sometimes soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    51
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
18
3
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A complete surprise. I have been to Kigali six times and always stayed in good to excellent accommodations. The Grand Legacy is a complete surprise! Open only about a month and a half, the facility is sparkling clean, wonderful but limited offerings in the restaurants, good prices at the bar(s) and Arnold, the personal trainer really does know his stuff. I worked out twice in their small but adequate fitness area and Arnold could not have been more attentive and supportive. A complete change from other hotels. I had an opportunity to speak to the London trained chef and he really is trying to make this hotel "stand out." The showers and rooms are very well appointed and the beds are amazingly comfortable - especially after a long day of travel.I travel a great deal and this hotel really stands out. I highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: Laundry service is a bit expensive. Extremely quiet for a hotel in the middle of the city. A/C unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karol J, General Manager at Grand Legacy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Joe Rugby,


Thank you for taking the time for your favorable review of Kigali's new addition to the Luxury Hotel Scene. We appreciate the positive feedback and will strive to maintain and take our service to higher levels of excellence as we move forward.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Legacy Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality

Karol Joszkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has only been opened for a month but will soon be one of the main hotels in Kigali. I only found out about it as my office knew it was here. It's very well done inside with a lot of care and attention but it needs someone just to tweak it to give it the final luxury touches before it becomes the best hotel in town.

The bedrooms are very plush with all the facilities you could want although strangely no minibar in my room. If you want anything you call it up as room service.

It also loses a mark for the wifi & hotel food. Although there are lots of wifi access points in the hotel, for some reason wifi is still not that great (maybe they're all competing with each other) so coverage in the rooms is very poor. I think a good wifi expert could soon sort out the reason. You had to sit directly below the router to get decent coverage.

Also the hotel food menu is very limited given the ambition of the hotel (only 5 main choices) & the food when it did come was overcooked. Once again if they brought in a chef who knew what they were doing they would do a great trade as all hotel food in Kigali is particularly poor, but this one isn't great.

If they fix these things then they will probably be the top hotel in Kigali. Either way they will soon start to take people away from the Serena & Mille Colline as this is a good modern new hotel in a city that really needs it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickyc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karol J, General Manager at Grand Legacy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Vicky007

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand Legacy Hotel. Your kind words as well as constructive feedback is most welcome and will assist us as we move forward and strive to be the number one hotel in Kigali.

Our Mini bar's are unfortunately " in transit " and were unable to reach us on time for our opening, however we are confident that they will be in service in the next couple of weeks.

Our Chef and F&B team will be launching our comprehensive menu by mind June and we are confident that the culinary experience will match the expectation of the discerning traveler going forward.

Wifi Access point signal penetration into the guest rooms is currently a technical challenge which we will rectify urgently. In the interim, each room has its own desk top PC with an internet cable connection.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Grand Legacy.

Kind Regards

Karol Joszkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
3.5 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
703 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
3.4 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#4 of 47 in Kigali
108 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Legacy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Legacy Hotel

Property: Grand Legacy Hotel
Address: KG 173 St, Remera, Kigali, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Legacy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Legacy Hotel has 43 rooms , a business/leisure hotel situated just a short stroll away from the International Airport and five minutes walk to Kigali convention center - a perfect escape to the hustle and bustle of the city center.All rooms are Modern and comes with modern technology. The hotel hosts two restaurants and various conferencing options.We offer free shuttle services to & from the airport and to the Memorial site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Legacy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing