We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful. I checked out within the hour.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpha Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpha Palace Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awful. I checked out within the hour.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I was booked in for work and my heart sank on seeing the reception. On seeing the room I almost burst into tears. The bathroom was filthy, the discoloured water trickled out of the tap. The mattress was stained and it overlooked a noisy car park. The best thing about the hotel was that they refunded me my
$100 and I checked into the Grand Legacy opposite. Twice
the price but worth it. Avoid the Alpha Palace if you can.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abeshababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sudan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

its better hotel as compared to value .but negotiation in rwanda is strongly recommended up to 50% down as in rwanda people ask charges like that. staff is good and hotel has all the required ammenities

Room Tip: nothing special all r equall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malik tariq m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed here for one night having flown into Kigali. It was about 5 - 10 mins from the airport so very handy, but there was nothing exciting about the place. My room was basic but acceptable, no air con but this wasn't needed when I was there. The bathroom was rather poor, but it all worked, the water was hot after a while, and fine for a shower.

I didn't eat in the hotel, check out was straight forward but £50 for the night was moderate for what it was but still I suppose OK for a capital city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samgees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyeri, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

It's a convenient place for particularly first time visitors to Kigali due to the good proximity to the airport. The food, service & rooms are fine and the small pool is a welcome addition. I was disappointed that the VISA machine was non functional but all in all it a good hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the western end particularly on Friday nights when its party time next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed one night here to catch an early flight out of Kigali airport the next day.

The situation is good for the airport but fairly noisy. The staff were not friendly and the room was badly maintained.

Although the bathroom had a bath, the hot water tank was only sufficient for a brief shower and even that would flood the bathroom possibly bedroom.

The restaurant was OK but not special.

The hotel's best feature seems to be its swimming pool, which we did not have time to use.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I spent two separate nights there. One en route to Agakera and one prior to flying out of Kigali. It is very well located for both being close to the airport and Agakera road. About 3 km out of town, closer to the airport than Chez Lando and off the main road giving it the potential to be a little quieter. I say potential because the lack of carpet in the building and lofty ceilings for a modern building make it a bit of a noise chamber.
The rooms are ensuite but quite basic for all that - spacious with DSTV but the furniture is cheap and many a room has the odd cracked window. Each room has a balcony. Some electric fittings are a bit loose and not all light fittings have light bulbs and shades are a luxury! But it has a restaurant (service a little slow), a fair sized pool (a bit tired but OK), a little internet cafe, a gym and views across Kigali. So it does well for amenities and is quite a popular place but is more student hostel than hotel in ambience, poor finish and a bit scruffy but on the whole clean and at $70 per night better value than many similar places in Kigali.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmerGilesRutlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Okapi
Hotel Okapi
#24 of 47 in Kigali
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kigali, Rwanda
0.8 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#12 of 47 in Kigali
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Express by CityBlue
Express by CityBlue
#20 of 47 in Kigali
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Posh Hotel
La Posh Hotel
#31 of 47 in Kigali
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iris Guesthouse
Iris Guesthouse
#10 of 47 in Kigali
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Palace Hotel

Property: Alpha Palace Hotel
Address: Boulevard de l'Oua, Kigali 2632, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing