We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serena trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kigali Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I spent 2 days at this hotel with my helpful friends. My room was very clean, with a very comfy bed and lovely bathroom. The hotel has a business centre which offers Internet and printing services, and I was usually the only person in there so never had to wait to use the facilities. The hotel also has free wifi. The printing is obscenely expensive here. My print bill for approx 900 pages was almost $900!! The gym is good for a hotel although isn't air conditioned. Breakfast was good, with plenty of fruit and cereals, and eggs made to order. I found evening dining to be of a very poor standard- the service was very slow and the food wasn't nice at all. This hotel is fine for business but is very expensive and I would be disappointed if I had paid to stay here on a special holiday.

Room Tip: Room on the seventh floor is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntezifabrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Serena was a very welcomed surprise for my wife and I on our trip to Rwanda. The room was large and well appointed with life's little luxuries. Nice soft towels, comfortable bed and pillows and very spacious. We ate one of our meals nearly every day at the hotel and it was wonderful. Although very costly, I would recommend the Serena.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimtravels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is a very high end hotel in most respects, superbly located in a very safe neighbourhood within walking distance of the city centre. The rooms are in oustanding order, beautifully decorated, very luxurious with amazing bath rooms and comfortable clean bedding. The hotel is frequented by high end 'money no object' tourists and business travellers. The bar area is lively at night with a nice outside terrace. Public areas are spacious and clean, the pool area is nice with attractive landscape gardening. Food is quite good. WIFI is okay and all in all it is hard to find my fault with the Serena, Its worth the price if you have the budget. One area that does need improvement, (and is common to a number of central african hotels) is what we perceive as the sometimes unwelcoming attitude of check in staff. Service is not given with a smile, check in is slow and pedantic, i think that modern computer technology really scares them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelguru85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

I spent 4 days at this hotel whilst on a business trip. My room was very clean, with a very comfy bed and lovely bathroom.

The hotel has a business centre which offers Internet and printing services, and I was usually the only person in there so never had to wait to use the facilities. The hotel also has free wifi. 

The printing is obscenely expensive here. My print bill for approx 900 pages was almost $900!!

The gym is good for a hotel although isn't air conditioned. 

Breakfast was good, with plenty of fruit and cereals, and eggs made to order. I found evening dining to be of a very poor standard- the service was very slow and the food wasn't nice at all. 

This hotel is fine for business but is very expensive and I would be disappointed if I had paid to stay here on a special holiday. 

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Serena is the best hotel in Kigali by far but also the costliest. Good 5 Star hotels in Africa are all costly, but given the high level of service at the hotel - Hotel Serena can justify charging its customers. The rooms are also very comfortable and the bathroom fixtures are what you would find in the finest hotels globally. Having said that, the food quality leaves much to be desired especially the quality of eggs and also the cold meats. The food is very costly and the quality can be much better for the level of prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

The Serena hotel in Kigali was such a nice surprise. The room was very well appointed and there is a gorgeous outdoor pool and well manicured gardens. Wide selection of food in the dining room and the bar had a great entertainer who sang and played the keyboard. Staff was very accommodating plus free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a decent option. The biggest plus is the staff behavior. The staff members were always prompt and courteous. Facilities, however, need to improve. Since other hotels are appearing in the scene, they need to make the hotel a bit modern.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varatharajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.2 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 49 in Kigali
171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
0.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#5 of 49 in Kigali
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#10 of 49 in Kigali
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigali Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigali Serena Hotel

Address: KN 3 Ave | P.O. Box 7469, Kigali, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range: £187 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kigali Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Central Kigali, the ambassadorial and commercial heart of Rwanda, and the city's pre-eminent meeting place for diplomats and businessmen. Relaxed yet elegant, the hotel features an executive lounge and Bar and one of the city's most popular venues, the Milimani Restaurant styled to offer a classically elegant interior and a light filled atrium overlooking the verdant tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kigali Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing