We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kigali Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Serena Hitel offers a lovely restaurant with a wide variety of dishes. You can have anything from a light meal to something more substantial or even just a drink on the deck outside. The staff is friendly and helpful and the restaurant also offers free wifi to all patrons.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bronseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very good conference facility, easy walk to hotel but a bit pricey. Food was excellent and location is central but a bit far from the airport. We had a good conference though with amble facilities and great air condition. Wifi speed was good .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jschwarze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

You will meet as always the usual Serena hospitality. The hotel is old though and there is only so much they can do. Some rooms have old noisy air conditioning that will keep a light sleeper awake all night.
The breakfast is great and you can sit by the appealing pool for your meals.
There is a gym and you can book a massage as well to relax your body and muscles

Only ten minutes from Kigali airport and you can arrange transfer from the hotel. Serene and quiet though the security search could be annoying at times but understand in this part of the world it is almost default in many countries to keep you safe

Mariott is coming up near by to ease pressure on this hotel which is by default the choice of most finesse a visitor and hence almost always full! You can take a walk on the roads nearby, security is quite good compared to many places i have been

Enjoy your stay here

Room Tip: Pick a room facing away from the main road for a more quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference and found the staff friendly and helpful. I was in one of the first floor rooms and didn't have much of a view.

I found the room size to be alright, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a good size too.

Wifi was a bit hit and miss but it generally worked and speed was good. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tinuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Okay, so we had been on the road for about 18 days staying in remote places and we were now staying one night in Kigali before heading back to Uganda.

You do have to go through a security screening to get into the hotel which includes your bags and your body just like in an airport but I'm okay with that. Traveling these days...well, get used to it!

This is a wonderful city hotel, nice rooms, great staff, easy check in, nice amenities etc. Our very nice and large room on the 4th floor overlooked the freeform pool and the lovely open air restaurant by the pool. We had air conditioning, yea! and television and a good bath!!! . Okay, okay, I know that AC and television aren't that big of a deal but the bath was fabulous. You have to remember that when you are on the road in Rwanda and Uganda that you will be the dirtiest you can imagine. Few roads are paved and in the dry season, everything and everywhere is dusty. Some vehicles don't have AC and it's hot so you have to simply open the windows of your vehicle thus getting a mouthful of dust. Not only you will be dirty but your bags will be filthy. We always take our own wash cloths because many hotels outside of the USA don't offer a simple washcloth. Believe me, they were red when we finished as the dirt and dust is red mostly.

So first of all of the staff was fabulous - we had someone tour us around both restaurants because we couldn't decide where we wanted to dine that evening. We finally decided by the pool in the open air, no AC, was our choice. The food was wonderful as was the atmosphere by the pool.

We saw many business people there so assuming it is a sought after hotel for the business traveler as well..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my second trip to Kigali Rwanda and both times I have stayed at the Serena, it's hard not to recommend this location, good rooms, 100% reliable wifi! pleasant spaces for private meetings, restaurant food acceptable, safe walking to the city. I leave tomorrow but will be most happy to return. Unlike any other African country the streets & countryside are plastic litter free, fantastic, airport is a dream to pass through compared to Nairobi. BA need to organise direct flights from LHR.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just loved the Serena Hotel ! Our large room and bath was comfort plus and the service excellent. Breakfast was an array of western and local dishes and we enjoyed the meal sitting on the verandah overlooking the beautiful pool. We paid extra to check out at 6 pm (instead of 11 am) as our flight was at 9 pm. Such a good decision as our room was made up and we were able to have a rest before departure. The Serena has strict security measures on entering the hotel, but that fact was actually a comfort, even though Rwanda in general is a very safe country on all counts. The hotel is well-appointed and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalgal2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.2 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#2 of 49 in Kigali
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#10 of 49 in Kigali
189 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#5 of 49 in Kigali
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigali Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigali Serena Hotel

Address: KN 3 Ave | P.O. Box 7469, Kigali, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range: £163 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kigali Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Central Kigali, the ambassadorial and commercial heart of Rwanda, and the city's pre-eminent meeting place for diplomats and businessmen. Relaxed yet elegant, the hotel features an executive lounge and Bar and one of the city's most popular venues, the Milimani Restaurant styled to offer a classically elegant interior and a light filled atrium overlooking the verdant tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kigali Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing