We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An important piece of history”
Review of Ntarama Church

Ranked #4 of 61 things to do in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site of the April 1994 massacre has been declared a genocide memorial. It remains a solemn tribute to those who were slain, the bones and belongings of the dead still lying among the aisles and the altar.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An important piece of history”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

You will have to take a bus from Kigali to Nyamata, but it's less than an hour each way and well worth the visit. We took bike taxis from the bus station to the church (a cheap and popular option). There are a couple buildings on site, one being the church, where the Hutus invaded during the genocide. Clothes and bones of victims fill the buildings, and blood stains are still visible on some walls. Be prepared for some disturbing stories and images, but the visit is definitely an important piece of history for all of us to learn about and remember.

I visited in November of 2012.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank maurerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorial site for 1994 Genocide”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have wanted to visit this memorial site on previous visits to Rwanda but have never been able to find the right time. We are so glad we did on this visit. A beautiful, sensitively preserved site where thousand of men, women and children were slaughtered.

We wre met by a well informed guide who spoke very good English who accompanied us around the building. We have visited several memorial sites over the years, each one heartbreaking, each one reminding us of the senselessness of such slaughter.

A fitting memorial of those who died and a reminder that we must never forget and to stand against this ever happening again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaishaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must-see genocide memorial”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The church at Ntarama is now a genocide memorial.

The church is outside Kigali a little ways, but it is absolutely worth your while to go there to see it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank torontorita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ntarama church is located close to Kigali and is a nicely preserved memorial to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi. Rwanda today is moving past its history but we can not afford to forget nor afford to miss visiting the places that affront our own humanity.

What I always tell our guests is you can not understand Rwanda without these visits. If you miss the memorials you will miss the extraordinary resilience of the Rwandan people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellyrwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
366 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Heartbreaking”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

To get here you have to take an bus from Kigali to Nyamata. Jump off near Ntarama and take a motorcycle the last bit. There is different houses around the church. The actual church is filled with craniums and other skeleton parts. Here is also clothes from the victims aswell as coffins with victims. Around the church are other buildings, for example a building where they burned the bodies and the old sunday school for the children. There is no entrance fee and you get a guide when you get there. You should put something in the tip box when you're done.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanielHenrysson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ntarama Church also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Ntarama Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing