We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but showing signs of decline”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed 27 June 2014

While the general aesthetic of the hotel remains lovely- well designed and beautifully decorated, the lack of proper maintenance and investment is starting to show and makes this hotel rather poor value for money.

My bedroom window had a big crack across it that was covered in scotch tape and during the first 2 days of my week-long stay, I had no hot water in the bathroom... The AC also didn't function very well, which might explain the abundance of mosquitoes. Housekeeping services were erratic, as was the quality of front desk competence. That being said, all hotel personnel were gracious and polite, which made up for the wear&tear apparent all around us. F&B was also quite good- excellent breakfasts.

The seaside gardens, pool, and bar are so pleasant that I'd still be tempted to return- if not at least just for a sunset cocktail! But the spa was comically lousy- completely disorganized and in a terrible state of ill repair...Best avoided all together!

The hotel just needs a little reminder of what 5*standards are, as for now, it truly doesn't make the cut.

Room Tip: Sea views, but close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enzoenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear enzoenzo,
Thank you very much for choosing the Radisson Blu Hotel for your stay in Dakar. We appreciate you taking the time to express your experience on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that we felt short of your expectations. Your comments have been shared with all the departments concerned and actions have been put in place to improve the service. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the changes.
With best regards,
Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I recently had a long term business stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel. I found the staff and service to be excellent. The large infinity pool and poolside bar is the showcase with a beautiful view of the Atlantic. The gym was very clean, all cardio machines worked including five heavy duty treadmills. There is a spa; the service was also excellent there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theblueox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear theblueox
We are glad to know that we met your expectations during your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and we thank you for sharing your great comments on Tripadivor. We hope to see you back again soon.
Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Checkin took over 25 minutes. Mosquitoes in room. Broken coffee maker and balcony door. Gorgeous setting with with infinity pool and bar. Good food -- especially deserts. Far from anything if you want to do anything fun in the evenings. A lot money relative to what it delivers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Toryalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Toryalai,
Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvsor. We are very disturbed seeing some of the shortfalls. This has been discussed with the departments involved to improve our services. We apologize for the inconvenience. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back and we promise you will see the difference.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Hotel was nicely situated relatively close to the airport, nice architecture, My room had a view of the water and it was definitely a beautiful view. The hotel food was vary tasty, the grilled fish of the day had to be one of the best fish I had in a while. They didn't have much food variety at the morning buffet though, and breakfast did not have much variety, Overall wonderful experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredvaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear mk1bykunbi,
Thank you very much for sharing on Tripadvisor your feedback on your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and for your constructive remarks on the buffet variety which have been shared with the kitchen staff. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and we look very much forward to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I love the location, service, comfort of the rooms. The rooms are always clean, functional and spacious. I always got the ones overlooking the pool. On week ends the pool is noisy but the windows are very good when closed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Toomuchtravel2013,
It's such a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are most appreciative of all your nice comments on our hotel and we very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on many more occasions.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is right on La Corniche, the main coastal road that heads north of Dakar, with a stunning view on the sunset on the Atlantic. An amazing pool overlooks the sea surrounded by a bar, a grill and a restaurant, all sharing the same magical view. All common parts are decorated in modern style with great taste. The rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and well equipped but not at par with the amazing rest (get me right they are very good, just not as good ...). Only small remark: the hotel could be in any other part of the world. Nothing specially links it to the location apart some excellent dishes served at the restaurant. However a very recommendable hotel!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear baol1969,
We thank you very much for taking the time to share on Tripadvisor your comments on your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and for recommending our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dakar.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed twice in this hotel for short business trips and always enjoyed it, taking a swim in the early morning facing the sea is absolutely awesome. The staff is really nice and helpful. The restaurant is also nice with great food and relatively quick service. All together one of my favourite business destination

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank McU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear McU4,
Thank you for recommending the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to know that you always enjoy your stay with us and we look very much forward to welcome you back soon to your favorite business hotel.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.3 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
447 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
3.6 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#11 of 43 in Dakar
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 43 in Dakar
265 reviews
4.9 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#35 of 43 in Dakar
361 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza

Address: Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Phone Number:
Region: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dakar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#4 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: £160 - £1,820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some things you simply must see to believe. The Radisson Blue Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza is a perfect example of this. Located on the tranquil Cape Verde Peninsula, this sophisticated, modern resort boasts an enviable address in the elegant Fann Corniche neighborhood. The 241 guest rooms and fully equipped apartments of this stylish accommodation are characterized by their contemporary design and superb amenities, including individual climate control and Free high-speed, wireless internet. The Dakar Sea Plaza houses 3 on-site dining options and one bar for your enjoyment. Experience the remarkable L'Avenue Restaurant, where chefs are inspired to transform Senegal's rich history of African, Dutch, and French influences into truly unique Mediterranean cuisine. Unwind by the outdoor infinity pool with a refreshing cocktail from the Pool Bar, or sample dishes from the Pool Side Restaurant. Fresh-caught, grilled seafood is sure to please at our new Galuchat restaurant facing the Atlantic Ocean. Savor the explosive flavors of The Little Buddha Dakar, where the eclectic culinary styles of the Pacific Rim come together to create a one-of-a-kind Asian-fusion experience. The hotel's fitness center and spa provide the perfect way to maintain your fitness routine and relax your troubles away. If you find yourself in Dakar on business, the hotel's 12 modern meeting rooms and refined ballroom are perfect for planning a productive conference or stellar gala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing