We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Lodge des Almadies
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay for business”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The rooms were fairly basic but a good size and the bathroom was fairly nice but in need of some updating. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the room was kept very clean. There were occasionally mosquitos in the room (despite daily spraying by the cleaner) and no mosquito nets. We ate in the restaurant at lunchtime during the week and the food was excellent. There was some noise in the morning because of renovations to a nearby room, but as the rooms are looking a little tired, the renovations are welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    31
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
13
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here twice during a seven day tour off Senegal, both times in the old building. The rooms were in need of refurbishment or a least a coat of paint. The rooms were basic, but clean and had air conditioning and TV (CNN availiable). The hotel's restaurant and bar were tastefully decorated and there is a nice courtyard that has a small swimming pool and a seating area. The continental breakfast was fine and adequate, the staff were friendly and helpful. I would agree with earlier reports that the rooms at the front suffer from road traffic noise throughout the night. There is no lift in the old building. On our second visit, we requested and were given a room at the side and on the ground floor, much quieter.

Room Tip: Aviod rooms at the front facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed several times in this hotel during work trips. At first I found it quite charming, with a small but nice pool area, and friendly staff. After some night I however started feeling a bit less enthusiastic, the rooms are a bit run down, and the beds/ mattresses quite uncomfortable. There are two buildings, the main one is the oldest where also the restaurant is housed, rooms in this part are very different. Some are quite OK and look charming, others are very peculiar with beds on platforms that can be reached by steps. The rooms on the road side are very noisy. The other building can be reached by a 2 min walk, rooms here are more standardized and a bit dark. The carpet in the corridors is very faded. Showers flood quite regularly.

The restaurant serves very fancy and tasty food, breakfast is however quite basic, with some French pastries, bread and eggs on demand. It is not included in the hotel price and costs a whopping 12$.

I like the neighborhood of this hotel, there is a good range of restaurants that an be reached on foot and it is close to the beach and a super market. There a always several taxi drivers waiting n front of the hotel, I had some bad experiences with them, they seem to think foreigners in Dakar can pay at least double prices.

Next time I'll probably stay somewhere else, there are better more modern hotels available for this price.

Room Tip: Avoid the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I booked this hotel and they gave a small discount. when we arrived I found out that I was booked in the older building. although the rooms in that building are not too bad and the bathroom is actually nice, I would have preferred a room in the new building. The loction is good and there are quite a few restaurants and even a shopping mall within walking distance. The food at the resturant is average. I think you can find better food outside. Although I had a room in the highest floor, there were many mosquitoes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here on the way to Salt for our holiday. It is 5 minutes from the airport. The reception staff speak good English as do some of the restaurant staff. This hotel represent the true "terranga" of Senegal with all staff being as helpful as possible. A great alternative to a bigger hotel. Food in the restaurant is fine dining quality.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CakeyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The hotel is located on a main road opposite one of the United Nations buildings in Dakar. The hotel has two blocks, separated by an unrelated Moroccan restaurant. I stayed in the new block. The room was clean but the shower had no curtain, so water tended to splash everywhere. The chair and desk do not allow space for legs. On the plus side, the air con and fan were decent. Free wifi is also good. It is time limited so you need to get a free code from reception every few hours. You can also exchange Euros at reception.

There is an echo around the solid surfaces of the ground floor and I was woken by reception staff talking loudly on a few nights.

Breakfast is taken in the old building, which also has a small pool. This breakfast is expensive and is let down by the absence of fruit. Service is poor, with staff taking a long time to refill empty milk and hot water jugs. In contrast, the French restaurant and bar which operate there at night were very good.

This is the second hotel I have used in Dakar and overall, was good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RexFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed one night here (and was charged for 2 because of a 6 am check in). When I arrived, I immediately began researching other options because I knew it wasn't going to work for a 2 week stay for business. The first problem was that the restaurant was closed for the duration of Ramadan, and for a week before and after. Apparently it is an annual closure, though I am not sure if it is for Ramadan or the month of August (the timing of Ramadan changes). This meant that there was no lunch, dinner or room service and that breakfast consisted of baguettes and jam (for a whopping $10). There aren't any obvious places to walk to for meals either, and taking taxis for 2 weeks gets expensive.

While the rooms were clean, they were a bit dismal. There was nothing on the walls and my room only had one small window, and it was tucked away in a corner that couldn't be seen from the bed. The lights were terrible-- it was impossible to read at night. The mattress and pillows were typical African foam and the bedspread was one of those thin scratchy things you find at motels.

My colleague and I both had problems opening the in-room safes. When we asked for help, the manager came to our rooms and popped a cover off the place next to the keypad and opened the safe with a key. Not exactly high security.

I think the place would be perfectly fine for one or two nights if you were passing through Dakar and weren't planning on spending too much time in the hotel, but the prospect of 2 entire weeks there when I need to be spending my evenings working was pretty bleak.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCVazaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.4 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
0.8 mi away
La Madrague Ngor
La Madrague Ngor
#11 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa 126
La Villa 126
#4 of 43 in Dakar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#7 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunugal Village-Hotel
Sunugal Village-Hotel
#17 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lodge des Almadies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lodge des Almadies

Property: Le Lodge des Almadies
Address: Route de L'OCI- Almadies, Dakar, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lodge des Almadies 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Le Lodge des Almadies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lodge Des Almadies Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing