We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable night's stay, good breakfast”
Review of La Demeure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Demeure
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
nanikailua
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable night's stay, good breakfast”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent, as was the view from the terrace. There were some issues - a/c worked intermittently through the night - but they were not too bad. The location is also a plus, being so close to the airport. Overall it was good for the price, would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanikailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    33
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
30
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our airport pickup arrived seriously late, exposing us to the masses in a new third-world country at midnight. We liked the room, especially sleeping under mosquito netting, and the small breakfast proved satisfying, if expensive. Dakar has far to go before before it's ready for prime time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrRichardLJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The service was superb. Owners and staff, including drivers, were very helpful. The location is very good and the furnishings excellent. The swimming pool and the large public areas were a real plus. Rooftop meals were excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending La Demeure to my friends.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marykayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banjul, Banjul, The Gambia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very few of the local taxis will know where this place is, being tucked away off the main strip in Almaladies. Once you find it you will not be disappointed. It is a quiet and stylish escape and only a few minutes walk to the hustle and bustle.
Rooms are nice, roof bar is very civilized and the tiny pool an oasis to hide away with a good book.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here for a week. Stuff were friendly, breakfast was good.
There are a lot of dogs in the area so would be regularly woken by barking and fighting.
Only downside is it is very close to the mosque which is being built so be prepared for very early mornings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amime01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FANTA T, Propriétaire at La Demeure, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Google Translation
un grand merci pour les compliments et désolé si vous avez été reveillée par des chiens errants nous sommes en afrique et helas il y a des chiens sauvages. cela dit les chiens errants sont assez rares dans le quartier. En ce qui concerne la mosquée qui se construit tout près il s agit de ce qu on appelle ici une mosquée d honneur qui est spécialement prévue pour les grandes fetes religieuses et pour la prière du vendredi il n y a donc jamais d appel quotidien à la prière ni le matin ni le soir.
encore merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danie007
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed at La Demeure twice during July 2013. What an absolute pleasure. They were both times on the spot to fetch me from the airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the rooms are lovely and spacious. I enjoyed every minute of my stay. In the future, this is where I will stay when I am in Dakar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was traveling to Senegal with an NGO for the groundbreaking of a school some 4-5 hours from Dakar. We found this hotel through the recommendations on TripAdvisor and have to say, it was terrific. 3 of us shared a suite - -our 2 "musts" were air conditioning and WiFi. We stayed 2 nights at the front and back end of our trip - -first night the air conditioning was not great but okay in my room but great elsewhere in the suite. I didn't complain about it. The 2nd (and last) night the air conditioning was great. WiFi worked best on the rooftop by the bar (which by the way was awesome too - -great place to relax and catch up with Words with Friends!). And the breakfast was a bargain!!! Delicious and only cost a few dollars. No complaints though and I would stay there again in a heart beat. R.H.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiliGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.7 mi away
La Villa 126
La Villa 126
#4 of 42 in Dakar
72 reviews
4.9 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 42 in Dakar
435 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#7 of 42 in Dakar
114 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 42 in Dakar
254 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Demeure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Demeure

Property: La Demeure
Address: Route de ngor | Almadies, Dakar 30000, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in the heart of the Almadies in Dakar, Senegal, an up-scale and quiet neighbourhood where life is enjoyable, this charming bed & breakfast offers an intimate and warm surrounding and a sophisticated and relaxed atmosphere. La Demeure is the ideal solution to those who look for a breath of authenticity associated with a flawless comfort, far from the standardized hotel business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Demeure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing