We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad & Dumpy”
Review of King Fahd Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Fahd Palace
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sad & Dumpy”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My client booked this for me and I will never let them book me another hotel.

Not remotely close to 5 stars. It's on par with a Super 8 or F1 in Europe. It was built in a "grand style" in the late 80's or early 90's and they appear to have done nothing since then to maintain it. Everything looks shabby and/or is literally rotting. The door of my bathroom is pealing it's chipboard. My room smelled like mildew and mould. The power outlet was hanging a bit out of the wall. The furnishings are are cracked and stained. The lock on my door didn't work.

The wifi is terrible, it works a bit better if you stand near the door. But even then it's just down sometimes.

I only stayed two days and had so-so fish with bad greasy vegetables the first night. The second I ordered pasta and I think I've seen/smelled better pasta at a gas station. I don't even know how you can mess it up. I didn't eat more than one bite. Also a note, don't try the local beer "La Gazelle", it's terrible.

The staff are slow and not very good at their jobs. Friendly enough though.

Breakfast is below average. I avoided anything that could potentially make me sick so I had bad croissant both mornings. Stale and doughy. Coffee is burnt and terrible.

So, yeah, I know, "This is Africa", but honestly this place could have done better. It's like they aren't even trying. Yet they are charging European prices. I would have rather stayed at an Ibis.

So to sum it up, don't stay here. On a positive note, at least there was hot water and electricity and nothing was stolen from my room.

Room Tip: I could see the ocean, so if you have to stay at this dump maybe request an ocean room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    95
    131
    49
    37
See reviews for
11
20
19
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I often visit sub-saharan Africa for business. The improvements are visible in Dakar by naked eyes each and every time I visit this beautiful country. The last stay was 5 days for continues meetings. The conference center is perfect. If you visit sub-saharan Africa this Hotel deserves the real 5 stars. Avoid the Spa. The rooms have to be refurbished asap.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haluk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

It has great location,so peaceful rooms,friendly workers,magnificent pool...But the wifi connection sucks!!!I stayed sitting behind my door to be able to connect for the whole night.How come a 5 stars hotel can do that...No way!!!
Also the cuisine wasnt good. Hope to see more options inside that 5 stars...

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tturk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I spent 7days and nights here from Valentine's day and everything is to remember from their professional staff both at the front desk and the restaurant to the rooms, the great ocean view and great sea food, loved the lobsters and prawns. It was very windy but I enjoyed my stay and even got a bIrthday cake from the hotel. lol! Oh, it's just 10-15 minutes from the airport which is a plus!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is really outdated despite the efforts to keep it in a working conditions. The staff is exceptional and deserves a five start for their dedication and the quality of the service provided. The location is good too. As for the restaurants, the menu choice is large enough to accommodate all tastes. Only if the amenities can be renovated. It's still one of the best in the city.

Room Tip: The ocean view is priceless if you can secure a room on that side of the hotel. Enjoy the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahanoubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
257 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We still enjoy staying at this hotel which, although is getting older by the year, has a certain dated charm about it. All the staff are extremely polite and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms are in a desperate need of modernising (considering its 5 stars). The breakfast buffet is simply glorious. You can have your eggs/omelettes cooked as ordered in front of you. The swimming pool has to be one of my favourites. The bar staff by the pool are super as are the staff in the restaurant by the pool. The Sunday lunch buffet is one to die for and all the other dishes on offer are fresh and well presented. Since the hotel was taken over from Le Meridian we hoped a lick of paint might be in order but obviously not! A great plus is having the 9 hole golf course available right next door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar es salaam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice hotel. we were there for a business trip. and it was perfect for what we needed to do.

You need to locate your conference hall, or meeting hall prior to the day itself lest you want to spend 10 to 15 minutes Cchoices are wide, and so diverse. Something for everyone.

staff are friendly. very friendly. and always available to help you out...
depending on where you have your diner, lunch, you might need some warm clothes if it is outside (ocean front).

Room Tip: best to make sure you get a room overlooking the ocean, the car park is not interesting at all, unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plwaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dakar hotels
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
6.2 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
8.5 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#16 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#6 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fahd Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fahd Palace

Property: King Fahd Palace
Address: Route des Almadies, Dakar NA, Senegal (Formerly Le Meridien President)
Region: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — King Fahd Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Fahd Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Fahd Palace Hotel Dakar
Le Meridien Hotel Dakar
Dakar Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing