We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room,good location but tons of mosquitos in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunugal Village-Hotel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The hotel has a good location,very close to the airport and ngor beach, also there is a chance that the taxi drivers will find it as it is opposite to the cap vert casino (there are very few streets with actual name in dakar so i had very bad experiences with the taxi drivers who usually cannot find anything unless you give exact directions).The room was nice and clean,the bathroom is a bit old fashioned but it was also clean and with hot water! There is a nice bar next to the swimming pool.The staff was very helpful and kind.Altogether it is a good value for money as acommodation in dakar is very expensive.
The only big problem i had was with he mosquitos.When i entered the room it was full of them, so was the bathroom. I guess it is a usual problem, as the receptionist handed me some fumigants against mosquitos when i went to complain. I lit about 3 of them and left for the whole day, so as to find most of the mosquitos dead by the evening,however not all of them..The problem is that there is a big gap under the door and also by the window in the bathroom and the rooms are in bungalows surrounded by trees and bushes.I dont understand why they dont get some mosquito nets,which are basic even in cheap motels...Once the hotel sort out this problem it will be a great place to stay.I would recommend it even now,but take some repellents with you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I've just spent a week in dakar, I discovered the country a year ago and wanted to spend more time in the capital. I chose this hotel because it was cheap and located in the Almadie neighborhood close to nice beaches and restaurants, away from the fuss downtown and close to the airport (perfect for night flights!). The staff was professional, the hotel was clean and spacious, loved the big swimming pool and free access to the beach, they are so expensive elsewhere!! This hotel was charming, linen was comfortable and very clean, bathroom clean and LCD TV, excellent quality for such a low price!
The AC was too cool and a bit noisy. However, once I mentioned it to the reception, the staff fixed the AC. Wifi was ok, sometimes slow but available everywhere: room & swimming pool.
I truly recommend this hotel for those who look for a good value in Dakar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnieC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank leamelinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Attention aux bungalow près du bar car impossible de dormir avec l'orchestre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank didier a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank georges97356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibiche T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je weiter hinten im Gelände der Bungalow liegt desto weniger hört man die Straße
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank QPR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.5 mi away
La Madrague Ngor
La Madrague Ngor
#14 of 43 in Dakar
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco Plage
Hotel Monaco Plage
#36 of 43 in Dakar
22 reviews
5.6 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 43 in Dakar
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Lodge des Almadies
Le Lodge des Almadies
#18 of 43 in Dakar
77 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Faidherbe
Hotel Faidherbe
#32 of 43 in Dakar
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunugal Village-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunugal Village-Hotel

Address: Route de N'Gor, Dakar 8066, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range: £68 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunugal Village-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Sunugal hotel, we welcome our guests to our charming individual bungalows, each with veranda and garden view, fully equiped with TV, minibar, wifi, AC and private bathrooms. The hotel provides a wide range of facilities such as a pool, 2 restaurants, a Spa, a bar and night club, and a private beach. We are 5 minutes away from the airport, and 15 minutes from downtown. We are located in the famous Almadies neighbourhood. Next door you will find shops, restaurants, nightclubs, and a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunugal Village-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing