We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent and good Ibis in central Dakar”
Review of Ibis Dakar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Dakar
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayd for about two weeks in total at the Ibis in Dakar.

The hotel is recent (about two years), located in a complex just next to the Novotel.

The Novotel has a nice restaurant and swimming pool which can be used by the Ibis guests.

Rooms are (Ibis style obviously) clean and convenient.

Staff kind and helpful - you are in Senegal, so here is no exception.

Location is ok, but really on the edge of Dakar.

Ask for rooms with sea view, they are just nicer.

Wifi is sometimes good, sometimes lousy. I believe that it depends on the location of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 284 reviews

An Accor traveller
1
Reviewed 4 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is the standard Ibis Hotel, such as you will find in France. Rooms are fairly small, but clean and comfortable, and the price is fair by Dakar standards (Dakar is an expensive city). The buffet breakfast is adequate, although staff were slow replenishing coffee and other items which ran out. For other meals, you have to go next door to the Novotel, which provides pretty average, and rather expensive, hotel food. The Ibis and the Novotel share a swimming pool, which is very pleasant and a nice place to cool off at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J-CDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is a great choice in Dakar. The hotel is next to the Novotel and they share some amenities such as the swimming pool, bars, etc. There is a taxi rank right outside the hotel gate as well as restaurants and you can walk to the ferry as well. The rooms are very clean, not luxurious, but have all the things you might want, tv, wifi, mini bar, toiletries, safe, etc. The front desk changed money and there is a small cafe and extensive hot/cold buffet breakfast. Other than breakfast, I didn't eat at the hotel, but found plenty of restaurants within walking distance. On my last night, having a beer poolside with the neon lighting on the palm trees and the full moon shining on the water....I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WildernessSoAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I don't want to say too much. SImply that Ibis Dakar is a very godd hotel with a correct cleanliness rooms. I was in a room that have a direct view to the sea, and i can tell you that i was simply great.
Moreover, since i was in a professionnal trip, i was easly able to work in a good confort with an easy internet access (high flow).
They bed can helps you rest so well and feel very good at your waking up.
The taxis given to me to drive me back to the airport was not so confortable as i would like (as the hotel for instance). For that i would suggest Ibis to have a better taxi services in order to make their guests feel kings from their arrival to their departure.
Ibis Dakar is a very good place, well located. You have to try it. The rooms fare are affordable.
I do like your hotel and for any of my work trip to dakar, i will choose Ibis (best price and high confort)
Thanks..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank rostaingakoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed one night at the end of a business trip, because the other hotel had no availability on that particular night. It was half the price - and this was reflected in the overall space, budget toiletries etc. But the bed was very comfortable, there was satellite TV, a good shower, all very clean - and the breakfast was very good. Better than I had expected. My only gripe was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities, nor bottled water in the room. But for the price, it was much better value than where I had been staying. I'd happily stay again on a business trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Ibis hotel is Ibis hotel wherever you are.
Not fantastic, but clean, eficient and not as much expensive as others in the same range.
This hotel is expensive, because all Dakar hotels are expensive. But, comparing to others, Ibis is a good deal.
It is recent, it is clean, it as a (common with Novotel) nice swimming-pool, rooms are on the small side but they are ok, staff is very friendly, breakfast is very decent.
It is in a waking distance from Independence Square, downtown and there are taxis everywhere (be prepared to bargain a lot,otherwhise they will rip you off).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMPFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#9 of 45 in Dakar
568 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
0.3 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
2.7 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#3 of 45 in Dakar
474 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#7 of 45 in Dakar
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Dakar

Address: No 2 Avenue Abdoulaye Fadiga, Dakar 18524, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range: £81 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Dakar 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing