We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serious room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
2 reviews
“Serious room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Let's be clear, the hotel rooms are nice. A bit old, 70-80s but nice. The location is amazing, beautiful landscape. The garden makes also the hotel very nice
What is not acceptable is the level of service for the price which is on the high side.
1. Internet access is bad and epileptic.
2. The olympic swimming pool, impressive, is not well maintained and the water is often not crystal while the pool bottom is slimy.
3. The restaurant food quality is not steady. It can be ok but I remember a fish soup... The rouille was a mayonnaise, the soup was too thick, the croutons were stalled...
4. The access for handicapped people or family with baby is very bad. Stairs everywhere do not help

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olivier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    49
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
16
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for five nights in June 2014. The staff was professional and friendly. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The beach location is very pleasant. The room was nice enough, definitely not fancy by US standards but tidy, good temperature control and pleasant. I slept well every night and did not wake up with mosquito bites (there was a net over the bed) I felt safe as a solo female traveler. The WiFi was a little weak, I had better luck connecting early in the morning. Not much luck at peak business hours. I liked the balcony facing the beach. The best thing about this place was the pool. If you're an avid swimmer you'll really enjoy the lap pool. I believe it is 50 meters and heated. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The pool area, pleasant gardens, and view of Goree Island are the highlights of this hotel. The rooms are dated and small, the food very average, and the service lacking. The staff is friendly, if a bit bewildered by Americans, but they cannot make up for the noticeable shortcomings of this hotel. It's too bad, because you can tell it was once much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakkodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Savana Dakar for 3 nights in June 2014 attending a business meeting that held in the same hotel. The hotel is really dated and in dire need of a renovation. The doors, windows and wardrobes need to be changed. Room was bare and the fridge empty and unclean.
I had no hot water running in my room and kept calling the reception to ask for hot water to take a shower. The guy at the reception said he would send someone up but 2 hours later and several calls later- I slept off while waiting to get the water. This happened on 2 consecutive nights.
I would certainly not rate this hotel a 4 star by any standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iye2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dakar hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Rather friendly staff and nice enough location, however the rooms, restaurants and the hotel is not worth a 4-star rating if compared to European standards. Leaks from the toilet on three separate rooms and rather old and unmodern rooms.

Good service and not the worst price is positive things and I would rate this hotel as a nice 3-star hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ph34r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I am currently staying at the Savana Hotel. A place that I would not have choosen myself as it is far from my bsiness. But the excellent location on the promonitory facing the Goree Island is relaxing and makes ou recver quickly from a busy working day. Staff is attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel seems run down. Many rooms are in the process of maintenance and therefore not in use. This gives a kind of desserte or emty atmosphere. The restaurant is merly an advanced snackbar.
staff is very nice and helpfull.
The swimmingpool is speracular.
Transport from the airport is problematic and hotel reAlly needs a shuffel. The airport is full of hustles and fake taxis - TAKE CARE.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgen B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#5 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lagon II
Hotel Lagon II
#19 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#13 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
7.6 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#7 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar

Property: Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar
Address: Pointe Bernard-Petite Corniche | Dakar senegal, Dakar 6096, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savana Jardin Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing