We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, homely, great value for money -”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean, homely, great value for money -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights - it is extremely clean, comfortable and the food is excellent! The staff are warm and kind - I recommend the hotel for all budget travellers looking for a convenient, clean hotel -

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    37
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
7
24
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Terneuzen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

If you have never been aware of the colour of your skin, you definitely will be in Dakar. I cannot recommend any white person to pay a visit to Dakar, for you will not able to move freely. For black Americans the situation will probably even worse. Any one from the West is seen as a walking money tree and everybody wants to pluck it. I am afraid they have confused the word 'teranga' with obtrusiveness. But if by all means you have to be in Dakar, for instance because you want to go to Goree island (recommended), Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles is the place to be. Here you will find local people who are friendly without giving you the feeling they want something from you. Thanks to the Belgian manager the place is clean and organised, which makes it an oasis in a chaotic, dirty city as Dakar. Here you can recover a little from your first culture shock. The food is excellent, having a touch of the superior Belgian kitchen. Moreover, the kitchen is clean, so you don't have to be afraid for waking up the next morning with all kinds of intestinal problems. So in short, don't go to Dakar, but if you do, spend your time in hotel du Phare Les Mamelles.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

I stopped for two days and two nights in Dakar while en route from New York to Johannesburg. Two days were just enough to get a fairly complete overview of the city, experience regional sights and visit a game park. Mid-priced acommodation was difficult to find in advance, but I was able to get a reservation at this quaint botique hotel.

The room was very simple, basically a boxed area on the third floor rooftop with two beds and a fan. The shared bathroom was located on the second floor. The hotel's restaurant and bar offered a friendly, pleasant refuge, as well as good food and cold beer. The hotel manager provided useful guidance regarding the use of local taxis, access to English-speaking guides/translators, and what sights to see. I thought the hotel was somewhat pricey, given the quality of the room, but its other attributes helped offset that. The hotel is located a short taxi ride from both the airport and several all-night discos.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjaydobleyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2006

I needed a hotel close to the airport as my plane arrived at 2am. This hotel is a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport, in Ouakam, a quiet suburb near to the sea.
It was easy to make the booking by email and they sent a car to collect me from the airport.
The hotel is very clean and bright, with a bar, restaurant and a pleasant tv/reading area.
The food is good and the prices are very reasonable for Dakar. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Near to the hotel are a small supermarket and a bookshop.
There is a (very expensive!) bar/dibiterie, a pharmacy and some fruit stalls at the end of the road, from where it is easy to take a taxi or minibus into Dakar (about 30 mins) or to visit the nearby villages of Yoff or Ngor.
There is good surf along this coast and I met 2 surfers who were using the hotel as a base for their holidays.
Les Mamelles also has the largest lighthouse in Africa and a climb up the hill to see the amazing view is a must if you stay here.
I would recommend the hotel both for its prices and for its quiet and convenient position.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
25 Thank kaz_in_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dakar hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel Monaco Plage
Hotel Monaco Plage
#35 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#7 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Al Baraka
Hotel Al Baraka
#17 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
La Villa 126
La Villa 126
#3 of 43 in Dakar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Madrague Ngor
La Madrague Ngor
#10 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles

Property: Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles
Address: 36 Cite des Magistrats | Les Mamelles 14522, Dakar 38110, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing