We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fascinating place to visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary

Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 40 minutes outside of Freetown, Sierra Leone, Tacugama is set high in the hills of the Western Area Forest Reserve. The 100-acre sanctuary is 10 minutes past the historic mountain village of Regent. To come and see the chimpanzees at Tacugama, please reserve a place on one of our guided tours. There are two daily tours available: at 10:30am and 4:00pm, every day of the year. All tours are by appointment only and group sizes are limited. Please contact us in advance to confirm your reservation and arrive in good time to avoid disappointment. Tour prices: Expat adult $15 or Le 65.000 Expat child $ 5 or Le 25.000 SL adult Le 20.000 SL child Le 5.000
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a fascinating place to visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

In many respects this is a fascinating place to visit, but I just cannot reconcile such amazing creatures being in cages, even if the caged areas in some cases are several hectares. The concept is well meaning, but somehow flawed.

Our guide was excellent - knowledgable and able to answer everyone's questions with ease.

The chimpanzees all looked well, but bored. Beautiful to see, but I'd prefer to see them in the wild.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    17
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely spend the night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The tour itself wasn't the most exciting, but the huts are great, and you can go hiking in the forest.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Idunn Egaas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Found this in a travel book and thought it would be worth a shot - and it was! Knowledgeable and passionate staff (with a good sense of humor) and close-up views of chimps. Be aware it is at the top of a hill and although FWD can drive most of the way, the last portion (which is short) is steep and must be completed on foot. Great gift shop as well. We brought our lunch and ate at a hut on-site. For the more adventurous, there is a 'tree-house' for rent so you can spend the evening in the tree tops.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zaichek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I didn't know about the place until I got to Freetown. I am glad I got the chance to visit. If you're an environmentalist, it's a worthwhile stop and it shows you another aspect of Sierra Leone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Inanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Tacugama chimpanzee sanctuary is very well run, the guides are knowledgable and the accommodation, if you choose to stay, is good. 'Augusta' is our favourite cottage as the balcony has fabulous rain forest views. They say they rehabilitate chimps into the wild but knowing Sierra Leone, I can't imagine where...despite that they clearly do a great job and it is a real learning experience. A great half day-trip, or overnight if you'd like to escape Freetown for the night. The monthly bird walk walk is fun although spotting birds in a forest is easier said than done!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary also viewed

Freetown, Western Area
 
Freetown, Western Area
Freetown, Western Area
 

Been to Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing