We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khartoum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Corinthia Hotel Khartoum
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Khartoum
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The building is really nice, the service is very friendly, the rooms are big and clean, it has wifi internet connection and the indoor pool and spa are also fantastic.
The views over the Nile from the rooms are great and from the restaurant at the top floor, excellent. Breakfast is really good, with a lot of food variety.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guiomarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

Expected more, for the price asked, the name of the group and the greatness of the building...But overall its very nice, relaxed, service a little slow but friendly.
Huge rooms, good internet and an amazing indoor pool!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samirismael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for a few times since July 2011. The last time was only January 21, 2012. They increased their fee from 300+ to 450 SDG. Quite expensive but the service is what sudanese are all about. Its slow but if your staying in a relaxed atmosphere who's rushing. The friendly staff are accommodating from reception to the dining area.
The rooms are simple and bare but you cant really find a hotel that's clean like this. However, every time we stay in burj alfateh we are always asked to transfer from one room to another, which is a hassle because just when we want to get cozy that's when they'll make their requests. NOT GOOD AT ALL.
The food is very good unlike the ones we get to eat around Khartoum. Try to dine as early as 6:30 in the morning for your complimentary breakfast so you will not get crowded in with other guests and you get the freshest produce.The choices of food are plenty but for 6 months now the choices have not even changed. They don't offer something new for their guests. Still highly recommended though.

Room Tip: The city view is cheaper at 420 SDG and the nile view is 450 SDG. The big room is in 820, our person...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PinayMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Nice and Big rooms, Good View... Good Spa and health Club... ( Except the pool, Which is small... )
But very Expensive Food... I recommend eating outside... I paid 50USD for christmas buffet which was not that great except the Desert counter...
courteous staff... and was close to office for me...
Room rates are high unless you book under corporate agreement.

Room Tip: Nile View... Higher UP
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Not a complaint - just a warning to start with: Credit Cards are not accepted in Sudan, so bring plenty of cash.

Hotel architecture and public spaces very middle-eastern luxury-like. You either love it or hate it. That's a thing of taste.

Rooms are decent, very large but lack decoration. It felt really empty in the rooms (actually it felt like the previous guest took half of the furniture home). Bed was comfortable, decent TV channels and an okay bathroom. I'd say on par for a 4-star hotel but it was missing anything luxurious to be classified 5 star.
Free wifi is a big plus, speed is very slow though - but this is to be expected.

Staff was friendly, spoke English, etc. No complaints there.

My worst complaint is the food. The quality was very bad. Way below the level you would expect at this price point; even in Sudan. Taste, presentation, everything was bad. This is based on several room service meals; after trying room service I could not even bother to check the restaurants in the hotel. I know this is Khartoum, not Dubai, Paris or London - however they charge hefty prices and claim to be a 5 star hotel - so I expect at least food which leaves me with a feeling that it was it least tasty - none of the 5 meals I ordered did.


The hotel is a solid one, but absolutely lacks some of the 5-star features it advertises. Definitely room for improvement, but not a bad choice for your visit in Khartoum.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diederik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I made my first trip to Sudan in Dec 2011 and was lucky enough to stay in the Corinthia as part of my work trip. This 5* hotel is a stark contrast to most of the city which is badly run down. However, as hotels go, it was very comfortable with lovely roof top restaurants overlooking the city and the Nile. The rooms were large and spacious, comfortable beds, a desk and TV that includes several Western channels. Breakfast choice is vast with cooked food and continental food. The spa is really nice with a large swimming pool and excellent steam room. The grounds are nice, and enclosed, with armed guards on the entrance. It is true that there are no ATMs that can be used for banks outside Sudan and there are no credit card facilities. You can exchange GBP and USD in the hotel or use USD as currency in the markets. You should also be ultra cautious taking photos in the city or near buildings and bridges - we heard that several people were arrested last month. You need a permit to take photos. The shop in the hotel sells artefacts etc, but the prices are significantly higher than the souks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My second visit to this hotel in three months and had to add this review.
Overlooking the Nile most rooms and all of the common areas have a fab view of the river , which in it self is worth the stay. The Hotel is big and roomy with lots of space. The actual rooms are big with most amenities , nice touch is the free WIFI in each room , no shared signal with the room next door. The staff are very pleasant and all spoke good english. The down side is no coffe or tea in the rooms and no credit card acceptance all is cash. Not much in the way of tourist things to do but I did walk by the Nile most nights , the local people are friendly but very reserved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the right hand side as these have the best views of the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Corinthia Hotel Khartoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Khartoum

Address: Nile Road, Khartoum 11042, Sudan
Region: Sudan > Khartoum State > Khartoum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Khartoum
Price Range: £172 - £2,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Khartoum 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek architectural masterpiece of steel and glass, CORINTHIA Hotel Khartoum redefines the business hotel category and is the ideal environment for corporate and leisure travelers. With 230 rooms and suites, six restaurants and cafes, spa with indoor pool, Jacuzzi, steam, sauna & Turkish hammam, tennis, and squash courts, gymnasium, business centre, convention centre, Wi-Fi connection in guests’ rooms and meeting space and covered car parking lot. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burj Al Fateh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing