We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acropole Hotel
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
128
42
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
42
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree city tourfriday afternoonhome away from homegreek clublunch and dinnerair conditionedhis brotheroldest hotelstar serviceairport pickupfamily businessa family run hotelcomplimentary tourthrough immigrationathletic clubhotel is centrally locatedthrough passport control
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Was just an overnight stay as I was leaving to Port Sudan the next day, clean comfortable rooms. Free Wifi. tasty food. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. This made my short stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NikhilMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Forget the 5 stars or 4 stars hotels. Acropole is really, as they advertise, your home away from home. Excellent service, clean rooms and most important nothing is a problem, George and his brothers will help you, what ever your needs are. I have been there 7 times the last couple of years and I am going back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terje1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you want to stay in a Hotel with old fashion idea's that the customer is the priority then look no further. The owners are very hands on, Very approachable and prepared to go out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious and all have access to the balcony that runs around the building with table chairs and sunshade umbrellas right outside your room. The room I had was a Twin. 2 x very comfortable beds, Desk, Fridge (a proper fridge stocked with drinks daily and ample space to store my own things) a bathroom with awesome shower and toilet and sink.
The drinks are all complimentary as are so many other things it's unbelievable, Including local calls to mobiles and land lines. You can also have access to the Greek Club which is a private club in Khartoum with food and drink Swimming pool (Good size), tennis courts etc.
The hotel offers everything you could request either on business or pleasure. But if your on business it is a pleasure to stay here.
The food is excellent. It's like coming home to your mum after being away for a long time as they really pull the stops out.
One of the best things here is you check out when your ready i.e. my flight was at 4.00pm and I was allowed to stay until collected at 2.00pm. This makes you prepared for your flight.
The owners were so good that when I required some items from the local market they went and bought it for me and I gave them the money after they insisted on giving me the receipts.
I have never stayed in such a hotel before. All the guests were treated as if they were the most important people there. It was a real pleasure.

Room Tip: Get a room with the balcony. I was informed that several years ago this hotel was used by the worlds media. And sitting out in the evening drinking coffee you can just picture all the press sitting and swapping old stories.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 482freddy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here several times after disappointing experiences in Le Meridien.Friendly staff, reasonable rooms (good for Sudan, though) and always interesting guests, no need to feel alone in Sudan. The large international chain hotels cannot offer a good alternative in this town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cojotent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff at the Acropole are definitely the main reason to stay. They take a personal interest in helping all their guests get adjusted to Khartoum and to Sudan as well. They are willing to arrange tours or taxis for you whenever, or to answer any questions you might have about traveling in the country. Their airport pick up is also a great service. The rooms are clean and sufficient with air conditioning, beds, and dressers. The hotel wifi is also a big plus. In a country where wifi is scarce and often weak, the Acropole has strong and consistent Wifi coverage.

The biggest downside to the hotel is the price. It is not cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews