We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Cosmopolitan expirience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assaha

Assaha
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Khartoum
Price range: US$15 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great Cosmopolitan expirience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My hosts took me to this outdoor restaurant for an evenings entertainment.
We didn't have a booking but the host fitted us in when he saw our disappointment.
The menu is a story book and worth a read the prices are good and are aimed at the local Sudanese diners. The patrons were varied from locals to European visitors and tourist a band was playing and the music was pleasant. We had a mixture of platters and tried to experience the wide variety on offer. The drinks were refreshing but not enough ice , the temperature that evening was in the low thirties so ice didn't last long.
If you can take the heat its worth a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    60
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It is not nice to smoke ( shisha) , while eating at a restaurant !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

There are many varieties of food at this restaurant , especially the grilled food and the salads . Also you can enjoy different kind of drinks including , pure mineral water, soft drinks and natural fruit juices . In addition to that you are going to love some pure natural Sudanese herbal and tropical dry plants drinks , especially the ( tabldi ) cold drink ( some studies proved that this drink is an excellent burner for the bad cholesterol ) , don't a miss a chance for tasting this drink . No pork meat or alcoholic drinks served at this restaurant , all are prohibited by the applied rules .The bad habit which I hated at this restaurant , was the shisha smoking ( I heard after a while this bad habit , had been restricted at one section of this restaurant ) . One of the facilities which you are going to enjoy a free parking service , or if you don't have a car , they will call a taxi for you . Oh before I forget don't miss to taste the sweets and the fruit salads , I personally prefer to take some pieces of water melon . Tea or coffee are served at the end of the meal if you are interested . .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isamzein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Lebanese Food in Khartoum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The atmosphere is so nice , with Lebanese food & decor , wide selection of foods , you can enjoy Smoking local Chicha in the evening (Starting from 6 pm , local time ) , but be aware you could wait very long time before you get your order .

Definitely a nice place to go to , if you are much into Lebanese foods .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alkomayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
206 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This placa is amazing. The food is great and the atmosphere really joyful. You can sit outside, smoke chicha and listen to really good sudanese music. Love it!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a fantastic restaurant! The menu is very big, so lots of traditional Lebanese dishes to choose from. I’ve only eaten here at night time, and it’s great to sit outside in the courtyard. The surroundings are really nice, even if it is purpose built. The patrons seemed to be a mix of locals, ex-pats and UN staff. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
A few colleagues ate here too, but complained that the water droplets being blown around the restaurants courtyard by the fans landed on their food and made them sick, I never had this issue myself, but maybe it’s something to be aware of, if you’re in close vicinity of a fan.
I would highly recommend this restaurant, it’s the best place that I have eaten in Sudan, and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flossykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assaha also viewed

Khartoum, Khartoum State
Khartoum, Khartoum State
 
Khartoum, Khartoum State
Khartoum, Khartoum State
 
Khartoum, Khartoum State
Khartoum, Khartoum State
 

Been to Assaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing