We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven if you like old-style charm and glorious grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

It felt as if we had stepped back in time and were guests of the Reilly family rather than in an inn in the former family house. There were so many places to sit -- inside the sitting room, the main lodge, on the verandas and in the gardens -- that we kept on moving places. The gardens are lovely with an arboretum, cycad and aloe collections, with informative labels. Duikers and other small antelope graze on the lawns, and a family of bushbabies living in the palm trees that come down to be fed bananas each evening. The staff are very helpful. Ruth went out of her way to get me honey and lemon for a hot drink to ease my sore throat. The food was good and it was fun to meet the other guests around the fire. There are lots of walking trails from the lodge and you can walk down to see the roan antelope in the breeding program. If you want a modern hotel with all mod cons, this is not the place for you. But if you like a place with character and history, I highly recommend it. Highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

Beautiful colonial house with firmly staff, pleasant food and an overall good experience, but the letdown was the huge amount of lights in the distance that distracted from the bush experience. The gardens are stunning and take a lot of work to maintain. It was amazing to be part of ths African history

Room Tip: All the rooms at Reilly rock were gorgeous looking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingzimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We spent only one night in this lovely property full of historical and family memories. Yes, it is a bit old fashioned, but this is part of the charm!
We shared with another couple, which we did not know before, a separate 2 bed-room cottage (each bedroom had it's own bathroom!) with a common living room in between which we did not really use, because there was enough space in the main house. Absolute privacy is not the most important factor for us when travelling, the contact to other people from all around the world is a much more enriching experience! That's normally what you travel for!
In the evening a common typical african braai around a fire was organised with Mister Reilly taking part. This was really very romantic and we found that the food was very good!
Breakfast was served on a nice terrace and was also very good.
The property is nicely situated on top of the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary and there are many trails you can walk with zebras and impalas all around.
A very nice experience, a bit pricey though!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotterLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

lovely setting,very typical atmosphere.
staff is very friendly.
we had a nice braai with a good glas of wine and a hugh steak.
rooms are colonial style and you cannot expect them to be contempory but they had everything one needs good bed and shower with hot water.
go for the has been feeling and the location.
the lounge is a real museum with plenty of interesting artefacts.
the feeding of the bushbabys is an axellent way to meet these shy animals witch you can harly spot in nature.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 794margot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was an overnight stay in Swaziland in route to an area south west of Kruger N.P. An exquisite B & B on a pristine hilltop on an old plantation. Arriving, you are greeted by varieties of antelope surrounding the property as you meander through the fields towards the secluded hilltop destination. Make no mistake about it, this is your destination, this is why you are here, there is nothing else to do and you will be secluded, pampered, relaxed and comfortable. Incredible views surround you while you hike the small trails surrounding the lodgings.This is a comfortable and quiet surrounding to commune with nature, relax, read, enjoy good home cooked food, visit with guests or watch wildlife.
The ladies will greet you, carry your luggage, and get you settled in to your cozy rooms or suite. Friendly, they will make you feel welcomed immediately. You'll see these ladies over and over, from check in, to drinks before dinner, to serving dinner and ready for breakfast. They know service, they know local food and customs and will delight you with their attentiveness to your needs. Give them a big tip and you'll see joy in their face and exuberance in the dance as they know you are satisfied with their service.
Clean, comfortable rooms, fresh linens but don't expect wi-fi or television. You are secluded. You step back in time a hundred years + to a quiet and different time period frozen on top of this mountain ridge in Swaziland looking over a beautiful valley. Breakfast/ lunch on the veranda overlooking the valley watching birds feed at the many feeders and trees. Beautiful!
The food is delicious and the meals prepared as if you are an African family, authentic and savory. Nothing too eclectic, so a good meal will be enjoyed by all.
On the opportunity we had to stay here, we arrived in late October during a short rainfall, this didn't matter as the ladies were there to welcome us and show us to our suite. A fire was started in the lodge where all the guests, all 7 of us, gathered before dinner for drinks, conversation, reading or warming by the fireplace. Very comfortable settings and interesting antiquties to explore while visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmufan24401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

It has been a very good idea to stop here on the way from Tembe to Kruger Park. Not only because it is a very long way. We really enjoyed the colonial atmosphere of this place that is, at the same time, the Natonal Botanic Garden and a very charming place. Take your time to go around in the Park, you will see landscapes very different from any other place you will visit before or after Swaziland. Riding a horse in the yellow grass next to zebras and other wild animals is something you will remember for a long time...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

View is nice. Rooms are old as they keep them as they were 'ages' ago. So they are very basic. Food was not good. We were happy we only had to stay one night.

It is really not worth the price they ask. Service... Is something new to them.

We will never go back to this place. We love authenticity but we dont like to end up in paying quite some money for no service, bad food, very mediocre infrastructure...

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
7.3 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
9.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
524 reviews
35.7 mi away
Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve
Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserv...
#1 of 1 in Mkhaya Game Reserve
188 reviews
40.3 mi away
Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge

Address: | Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, Mbabane, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Mbabane
Price Range: £129 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge is a colonial-style lodge which enjoys a commanding position in the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, Swaziland's pioneer conservation area. The lodge is set against the backdrop of the Nyonyane Mountain with views of the Ezulwini Valley. Within the gardens you'll find secluded spots where you can relax and enjoy the surrounding birdlife. There are a variety of optional extras that you can choose to get a feel for the area, such as open Land Rover tours, horse riding, mountain biking, traditional Swazi dancing, whitewater rafting and sight seeing. Location Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge is situated on a hill overlooking the Ezulwini Valley and Mlilwane Game Park in Swaziland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Ebookers so you can book your Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing