We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and good value.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint and good value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The property is sort of cure and charming, yes the rooms need work but the staff go out of their way to see that you are happy. The dinner was nice around a fire and the breakfast with a superb view. Our kids had a few hundred bees in their room so on that basis they didnt enjoy it but it was a nice stop on the drive.

Room Tip: Ask if they have gotten rid of the bees before you get your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carloslf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    19
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This lovely Colonial home has been in the same family since it was built and staying there you feel part of the family too. The staff are friendly, rooms very comfortable and the view is beautiful. Everything about it was good and it was really good value for money when compared with other places we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manlytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
265 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

A wonderful old lodge set in a game preserve. The staff is outstanding and our meals were very good. The bedroom was average, but the sitting room and dining area had a large comfortable feeling. The grounds around the lodge had numerous animals and the view from the terrace was beautiful. Getting up to the lodge on a dirt road that was not well marked was our only difficulty. No internet

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komatipoort
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have stayed at Reilly's Rock hilltop lodge 7 or 8 times over the last 14 years and absolutely love it, but have never reviewed it. It is peaceful, quaint and in a stunning setting. It is wonderfull to be able to hike there amongst the zebra/various bucks/hippos and crocs (!) and I have in the past been on a horse back ride which is really special. The accommodation is simple, stylish and very comfortable and the gardens are beautiful with stunning views over the Ezulwini valley. Various buck and tortoise roam the grounds. The bushbabies come down from the trees to be fed every night and are hysterical to watch. The service provided by the small team is excellent. This is absolutely the place to go to get away from it all...it is good for the soul. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreesToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Africa has many one-of-a-kind lodges with breathtaking scenery and an opportunity to view wildlife. Reilly's Rock provides an intimate experience in a lodge setting that transported us to another era. Hospitality was warm and we felt welcome from the time we drove up. Bike rental was arranged for us at Mlilwane camp and we went for a ride amongst the wildebeests and warthogs before returning to Reilly's. Ask dusk fell, the bushbabies were handfed and we were invited to join in. We stayed in the cabin with two bedrooms, and when we returned from dinner, the fireplace was lit for us. The boma dinner was excellent, among the best steaks we had in Africa. We notified them ahead of time that one of our travelers is vegetarian, and a special meal was prepared. Duiker and steenbok roamed the grounds and after breakfast we walked up the trail past the gardens to enjoy a magnificent vista.

After several high-adrenaline adventures in Southern Africa, we are happy to have included the serenity of Reilly's Rock. This is a great place for families. We were sad to leave but so happy that we included Reilly's Rock in our itinerary.

Room Tip: The cabin is ideal for families or couples traveling together. There are few rooms available so boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badplaas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you like birds and/or Cycads, this is a must to visit. It is situated in a game reserve. There are short paths around the lodge through well established trees and natural vegetation with name plaques on a lot of the plants for identification. Unfortunately also a lot of invader trees. The history of the hotel is also fascinating to red - there are booklets in each room about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

When you decide to return somewhere there is always the concern that it might spoil the memory of the first experience. Not the case here at all. I couldn't imagine coming to Swaziland and not staying here. By Swazi standards this accommodation is expensive but in my opinion worth every penny. Do not expect polished luxury (a previous reviewer mentions lack of plugs, bed size on the small size etc) what you are buying into here is the experience of stepping back in time, and that includes iron beds, a slightly worn Victorian ball and claw footed bath and brown water. I would describe it as a colonial homestead feel. Our "green" room was part of the separate 2 bed property complete with fireplace and lounge and wrap around verandah. The gardens of the property are absolutely delightful with amazing views and wildlife. As well as housing the Royal Botannical collection of Aloe it is also home to protected species of antelope so you can expect to see red and grey duiker (the tiniest species of deer) up, close and personal and a myriad of birdlife since it is policy to put out food for the birds. You can also see bush babies being fed at 6pm each evening. The two ladies that run the establishment, Ruth and Lizzie are charming with two enormous smiles. Unfortunately, I have to agree with previous reviewers that the food could be a lot better, particularly the red meat which was rather tough on both evenings that we were there. However this is a minor blip compared with the plusses. Tip: take your own wine and save some money. One of its main assets is location. Arriving at the main gate you have to drive a fair way going through two sets of gates and on your way you will see lots of animals; many different species of antelope and zebra. We arrived after dark and got lost despite the night guard's directions, so second tip: arrive before dark as it is quite stressful knowing you are lost and hoping they will send out a search party! Also arriving in daylight allows you to appreciate the spectacular setting. Of course you are already in the Milwane game reserve and there are plenty of activities to choose from. On our last trip we went down to the main camp where you can see hippo and crocodiles in the neighbouring waterholes. We were recommended by fellow guests to take the early morning bird walk but unfortunately didn't have time to do this (one to keep for next time). Also don't forget to go into the main building where there is a lot fascinating historical memorabilia and natural history information. If you like slick hotels this property won't be for you but I for one absolutely love the ambiance of this place and wouldn't want it changed in any way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladylumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
0.0 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
0.0 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
#1 of 2 in Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge

Property: Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Address: Mlilwane Reserve,, Mbabane, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge is a colonial-style lodge which enjoys a commanding position in the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, Swaziland's pioneer conservation area. The lodge is set against the backdrop of the Nyonyane Mountain with views of the Ezulwini Valley. Within the gardens you'll find secluded spots where you can relax and enjoy the surrounding birdlife. There are a variety of optional extras that you can choose to get a feel for the area, such as open Land Rover tours, horse riding, mountain biking, traditional Swazi dancing, whitewater rafting and sight seeing. Location Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge is situated on a hill overlooking the Ezulwini Valley and Mlilwane Game Park in Swaziland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing