We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages
Ranked #4 of 14 Mbabane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Veki's Village for almost one year and enjoyed every day of it! Located just outside of Mbabane, Veki's Village consists of 7 self-catering lodges in a wonderful mountainside setting. The gardens are delightful, the surroundings quiet and beautiful. All lodges are quite large, very comfortable and well equipped, and serviced daily during the week. Veki and David are wonderful hosts who care for all of their guests and make everybody feel at home. For us, it was, indeed, a wonderful home and experience. Without a doubt, the best place to stay in Swaziland/Mbabane - especially for long-term visits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at Veki's place for a month. The cottages are so clean and comfortable, and you have a choice of view as well as style! I was pleasantly surprised to find such wonderful accommodations. I could have lived there for a whole year. The staff is wonderful and always ready to help. They put everything at my disposal. I even got an exercise machine, when in passing I mentioned to Veki, the owner, that I needed to do some exercise! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nassrin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

They have very large room and has all useful stuff in kitchen we need..! The living room has a good LCD TV and the staff if very very kind. I recommend for a resting place in the middle of a exhausting trip

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patnonaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed in many places around Swaziland, but this was by far the worst. They overbooked us despite booking months in advance, then stopped returning calls and eventually forced some members of our party to find other accomodation. The service was surly and the facilities were dirty. At one point, the stove wouldn't light, so we politely asked the staff member to help us light it. She tried, then said it was broken. We stated that we would try to microwave our baked goods. Just as I was literally reaching for the microwave, she swooped in and microwaved her own dinner for the next 5 minutes. Locals/non-guests blasted music all night and as early as 4:30 in the morning with no objection from the staff. Tea and coffee are apparently NOT complimentary. The dorm room was really just a bedroom where they'd crammed an extra 2 bunk beds. If you don't know the others staying in the room, it would make for an uncomfortable night. The common area was always full of non-guests, such that guests had to spend all time in their rooms. Ceilings and bathrooms were moldy, heater in the room didn't work, and the decor is sparse and like something out of the Hostel horror movie series. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet, clean atmosphere with friendly staff, stay anywhere else in Swaziland! Swaziland is small enough and public transport is good enough that any advantage this place might have due to location is nullified by the extreme crappiness of everything else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swaziblazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vekisvillage, Owner at Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

The above review is not for Veki's Village. The number of people which made booking doubled. We offered them one cottage, which was booked at Veki's Village for 4 people and for the other people Veki's Guesthouse, budget accommodation. They did not want to split. They made decision to stay at Vekis Guesthouse, budget accommodation. They had complimentary breakfast and tea and coffee. The rooms were clean and ladies working at the Guesthouse were helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

am one of the 5 ladies stayed @ veki during bush fire festival, I was admitted hospital after returning back south Africa, poor services, she treats people bad, I will never ever book that so called self catering, whatever she calls it, we had to sleep on mattress, smelly blankets, not to mention toilets, breakfast was horrible, she came in the morning n did not even bother to apologies or greet us, the poor cleaning lady tried her best to make us comfortable, we called her n she sounded drunk

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ditebogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vekisvillage, Owner at Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

The same group of people wrote 3 bed reviews. They made decision to stay at Veki's Guesthouse, budget accommodation enstead at Veki's Village. More people came from the original booking. We suggested them to stay at Veki's Guesthouse, budget accommodation and at Veki's Village, up market self-catering cottages, but they refused to split. The ladies employed at Veki's Guesthouse organised accommodation for all of them at Veki's Guesthouse. The employees tried their best to accommodate them. They have been served complimentary breakfast and tea and coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Having stayed at Veki's for almost 4 weeks I can vouch for the other reviews. Veki and Dave are very friendly hosts and the lodges are comfortable and well equipped. In terms of my stay in Swaziland I could not have wished for a better place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaafConsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We travelled to swaziland for the bush fire festival, booked at veki's guest house, the picture on the internet showed nice rooms. I enquired with Veki if there is private bathrooms for the rooms of which she confirmed that some rooms do have. i booked for 5 ladies. when we got there , there was double bookings, she booked people into our rooms, and she made the five of sleep in one room. she organised a matress as the beds where not enough. the blankets were smelly, some of us slept on the mattres on the cold floor. she did not even have the curtesy to come apologise in the mornig for all the mishaps. it was the worst holiday of my life. the bathrooms are communal. it is actually a backpaskers place, but it is not advertised as such. I will advise anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay in swaziland not to stay at this place. the reviews here were very misleading had i known i would have booked in a better place. after the weekend I got very sick, the bathrooms were a mess and untidy, who knows what i picked up there

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mokgadi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vekisvillage, Owner at Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

The above comments are not for Veki's Village.
The ladies stayed at Veki's Guesthouse, budget accommodation.
There was a cottage reserved for them at Veki's Village, but they came more then booked. They were offered to stay at Veki's Village and at Veki's Guesthouse. They did not want to split. The ladies working at the Guesthouse tried they are best to accommodate them all at Veki's Guesthouse , they served them complimentary breakfast, tea and coffee. The owner does not drink at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
2.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
335 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
739 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
1.8 mi away
Ematjeni Guesthouse
Ematjeni Guesthouse
#1 of 14 in Mbabane
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Place
The Place
#6 of 14 in Mbabane
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages

Address: Mountain Drive | Plot 881, Fonteyn, Mbabane H100, Swaziland (Formerly Veki's Village)
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mbabane
Price Range: £56 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 4km from Mbabane center, Veki's Village consists of 11 one bedroom and studio self-catering cottages. Each cottage has a lounge, kitchen bedroom and en-suite bathroom. Services include, cleaning,laundry, security,swimming pool, free WiFi and DSTV. We are here to provide you with all your accommodation needs, for both short and long term guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we will ensure you have an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing