We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to exlore Swaziland”
Review of Brackenhill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbabane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brackenhill Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Mbabane B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to exlore Swaziland”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My Family and I had two very enjoyable nights at Brackenhill lodge, great place, and perfect location to explore Swaziland, great accommodation, great service and great food. If you are traveling through Swaziland this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
16
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed last night at the Brackenhill Lodge. It was the first time we have stayed in a bed and breakfast, but it was quite pleasant. The place is a quaint little facility that is located in a area of newer homes. The place is a little difficult to find and would have probably been more difficult without my ipad and GPS.

Because of the location, it is very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner and breakfast which were both cooked on site and very well done with homemade everything, included muffins. We had very nice interactions with the 6-7 other guests that were staying while we were there at the two meals.

Because it is not downtown, you don't have to deal with the traffic and noise and people everywhere. On the other hand, if you need anything its a little trek to go downtown to a store to retrieve it.

All in all, I would stay again.

Room Tip: The room we were in and the room next to it are right next to the dining room. These are the only tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Mark55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tucked away in the hills above Mbabane is a hidden treasure, warm, friendly and quiet with easy access to the fun and happiness of Mbabane and the wonderful Swaziland,
Francie, Leon and yhe syaff spare no effort to make your stay in their lovely rooms, a joyful, relaxed experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makwelintaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Location is lovely with some nice walks/scrambles into the surrounding hills. Helpful, informative and welcoming, well equipped but fairly basic rooms. We enjoyed the tennis court and small gym - it was a bit cool for the pool. Dining room has free wifi and had a welcoming fire in the evening. Dinner (relatively) expensive but good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It is probably the best bet in Swaziland, but it cannot compare to excellent rated lodges in South Africa, far from that. The rooms were small and outdated and nothing special. Also the pool looked dirty and so did the lounge beds near the pool. Location is excellent. Very nice setting and very friendly staff. Dinner was expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I visit Mbabane every three months for business for about 5 nights at a time. I have hopped from one bad hotel to another until I found Brackenhill Lodge. I have just returned from my second stay there. I have a new home in Mbabane - and have already told them I will be back for a 3rd visit in September.

It is a magnificent environment set on the side of a hill with glorious vistas wherever you look. The rooms are really comfortable and clean, and there are nice little attentions to detail throughout. There are an array of different style rooms - an old converted stable, little cottages and rooms attached to the dining area. I have tried the stable and the cottages. Both were great. Next, I am trying the rooms next to the dining room, as these are the only ones that have wifi.

Breakfast is tasty and cooked every morning. Dinner is always interesting, and differs each night. In the morning you let them know if you will be having dinner, as they cook based on the number of guest planning to eat in, and there is only one sitting.

The owner is a baker - the best bread I have ever tasted! The owners and staff are extremely caring and attentive, no matter what I strange requests I have had. They have always seen to my every need.

Room Tip: Stable includes three rooms and a kitchen/living room area. Great place for a family or a group of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I spent 11 nights at the lodge and i enjoyed every single day! The staff are super friendly and so too the owners! Dinner was fab and the nature walks gave you the opportunity to really appreciate the beauty of Swaziland. The facilities are very clean, well kept and comfortable and i highly recommend the lodge to anyone wanting to visit Swaziland. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
2.6 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
313 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
688 reviews
13.0 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
267 reviews
17.7 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
8.0 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenhill Lodge

Property: Brackenhill Lodge
Address: Mountain Drive | off Fonteyn Road, Mbabane, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mbabane
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brackenhill Lodge Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing