We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!! Rooms are comfy, food is great, but best part is owner Patrick who treats you better than your own family”
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!! Rooms are comfy, food is great, but best part is owner Patrick who treats you better than your own family”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

i stayed two nights at the Mountain Inn 7 and 8 April 2012. Patrick, the owner, is everywhere assuring that you are comfortable, well fed and can find anything that you are looking for in the area. He made a great selection for wine with our dinner and now i will buy a case back home. i will be staying there again !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miriaminnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    147
    67
    16
    3
See reviews for
59
108
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at the Mountain Inn last week. The hotel is located on the side of a hill with lovely views over the valley. Well situated for Mbabane town centre (government offices etc) and close to the main road network for other towns/tourist sites.

Room was perfectly comfortable; the bed in particular. TV reception fine, and there was plenty of hot water and clean towels; tea etc. I don't normally take much notice of bathroom amenities, but the hand soaps and lotions made of Swazi herbs etc were pleasant.

There's a charming air of about the place - reminds me of my very English grandparents place in Johannesburg ... Personally, I like that feeling of well-looked after solidity that you still find in southern African hotels run by former Brits over several generations.

The staff are exceptionally pleasant, from Patrick, the owner, to the cleaners and gardeners.They managed well with an obviously high occupancy rate ... Lots of American tourists staying. This meant breakfast and dinner in the Friar Tuck restaurant could be a little busy, but nothing wrong with that - and as mentioned, the staff coped admirably

As for food etc, the menu at the Friar Tuck is wide ranging enough and the food quality was perfectly acceptable. It was nice to see the bar downstairs being enjoyed by well-heeled locals as well as the tourists. I enjoyed a European football match with some very friendly Swazi civil servants.

All in all, a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Can't ask for more and would gladly return on any future trip to Swaziland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heggedal, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have read all previous comments about Mountain Inn, and I don't think I have anything very important to add. I was in one of the rooms closest to the valley and the view from the window was just so great that I was tempted to stay there all day and watch the permutations of the weather as a low pressure from the coast floated over Mbabane. During short periods of fog I could watch some funny long-beaked birds picking worms (?) out of the lawn instead. You don't have any choice in the evening but to eat in the restaurant, but the food I was having the two evenings I was there was very decent, and the menu offers many options at reasonable prices. I walked down to the city center the two days I was there. It took me less than 20 minutes without breaking a sweat. After 6-8 minutes you hit the main road between Mbabane and Manzini, and from there you can get a bus if you would like to shorten the walk. Manzini seems to be more or less the central hub of Swaziland, so if you are doing some exploration by bus you can get off the bus at the top of the hill.when you are heading back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketilito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel was a stop in a long drive from Kosi Bay to Kruger Park.
After driving long hours and in the night, we were happy to find a comfy hotel with nice view on the mountain.

As we arrived at 9pm we were afraid that they would close the restaurant, but they served us and meal was good and generous portions.

Rooms are very clean but old. But it did not bother us since we really weren't planning to stay.
we left at 5am and they left for us a breakfast at the reception desk, which was really nice. We laughed a lot since there was a fried chicken leg in it, which is not part of our usual breakfast meal :-)

Room Tip: ask for view of the mountain, not the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al3xh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Mountain Inn is quaint with an amazing view of the Ezulweni Valley. The hotel is clean with nice grounds. Breakfast is good and the downstairs restaurant serves lunch & dinner. The hotel staff is very friendly & personable. The owner is always aroung & willing to assist with internet problems. They have just upgraded to broadband, so the wireless connection has improved in the last few months.

Rooms are a tad rustic - TV channels limited, but overall it is a comfortable & clean place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalMama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I was at Mountain Inn for three weeks when in Mbabane for a research project, and it was a comfortable stay in a conveniently located place. Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly, and service was excellent. I could walk to downtown Mbabane in about 20 minutes, or take a US$3 cab ride. The WiFi can be spotty, but it's free. Great breakfast buffet, and I appreciated the treadmill, which was quite dated, but served its purpose.

Room Tip: The strongest WiFi connection is in rooms near the pool/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The Mountain Inn has become our company favourite. The rooms are functional, clean and well maintained. The restaurant and bar is very reasonable and the food is of a very high standard. However what really stands out is the stunning views of the Swazi valley and the top notch customer service. Patrick and his team are well organised, polite and willing to go the extra mile. From organising having our shirts pressed when we arrived to arranging a hire car, Safari tickets and packed lunches (They also do a great job of chasing down luggage from errant airlines). These guys are a credit to Swaziland Tourism. Did I mention the views?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
7.2 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
695 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
270 reviews
15.3 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
470 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
273 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Property: Mountain Inn
Address: Msebe Road | Po Box 223, Mbabane H100, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family yet professionally run hotel. The views are stunning and the hospitality great ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Mbabane
Mountain Inn Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing