We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired old standard”
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Sad to say this old Mbabane institution is looking a bit tired, and what's worse is that the service really doesn't show the same attention by management that it did when I knew the place some fifteen years ago.

Conflicting information about when the restaurant opened, an inability to deliver wine listed on the wine list, and well, just an inability to deliver much of anything was really disappointing. Took us about 40 minutes to NOT get our sundowner drinks while waiting for the restaurant to open...an hour later than we were originally told it would. As we were traveling with a small child, we couldn't wait that long and sought respite elsewhere in town.

A check with the owner the following morning indicated that their policy is to accommodate families early, but that obviously didn't happen.

Rooms were fine and clean, but really in need of an update.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank innoabrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2008

This was an overnight stay, on route to the Kruger Park, it's just outside Mbabane.
The rooms were average, but very clean
The restaurant had a good atmosphere but food was average.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Swaziland seems like a place suspended in time and Mountain Inn is part of that world, with an old-fashioned charm that made my stay there very special. The location is superb, with great views over the green hills of Mbane, and the simple rooms, taking full advantage of the location, are arranged like terraced chalets up the mellow slopes. The ambience was really soothing for me. I had come to Swaziland from an overcrowded urban city so I took real pleasure in the lovely grounds and the distant sounds of children's voices at play that rose from the valley below. The dining hall looks onto the poolside and the mountains beyond. The service was impeccable and the menu, though old-fashioned, was varied with some good curries included among its more western fare. Best of all was the hospitality of the owners, who were thoughtful and helpful in a non-intrusive way. You won't find high-end modern luxury here but you'll be well looked after in this graceful, comfortable hotel. If you need a taxi, ask the front desk to give the number for Sunny Boy--an engaging, personable young man who drove me to the tourist spots I wanted to visit and who later went out of his way to help me find some music recordings I wanted to buy in the town.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank lizzibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanyi, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Hi Lizzibee
Thank you for choosing Mountain Inn. Glad we could accommodate your stay. Will be showing Sunnyboy your comments. I am sure he will appreciate it .
God Bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isi1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mélanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc W, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Camila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc W, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank giolich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc W, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
7.2 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
739 reviews
15.3 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
4.7 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
287 reviews
11.2 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
494 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Msebe Road | Po Box 223, Mbabane H100, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Price Range: £62 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family yet professionally run hotel. The views are stunning and the hospitality great ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Mbabane
Mountain Inn Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing