We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honeymoon start”
Review of Hawane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawane Resort
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good honeymoon start”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A year before our honeymoon we drove through Swaziland and decided we wanted to go back. Our package at Hawane started with two amazing nights at the house boat. It was great to be there. Longer than two nights would have been too long as you can't swim because of hippos and crocs (although we did not see any during our stay). The three nights at the resort were less impressive. The rooms were great, but the food and activities were too often "subject to availability." For the service, that was very dependent from person to person. On average the staff could have upped the friendliness a bit. However, we knew that this was probably going to be the case and still enjoyed our trip. The biggest downside was the fact that the pool was not cleaned and we weren't able to use it for our whole time there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jobthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    33
    17
    16
See reviews for
19
51
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Not bad, but not really memorable. the pool was out of working order. the horse riding is good with some lovely views and a lovely horse trail. there is entertainment for kids, The staff are disinterested, in a nutshell, and the rooms are acceptable. there are some good views and activities on offer. more rustic than luxurious, and cold weather is often expected- it is located in a mountainous area in the highveld.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mygrayngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were welcomed by a very bored employee who could not care less about our welcome. Unfortunately this was the same for the employees who welcomed us at the breakfast. The quality of the breakfast was fine. And the rooms were pretty neat and nice looking. too bad the service is not of the same level as the huts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clips S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
171 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Cute cottages with huge comfortable beds. Quite cold at night, heater didn't work. Hot water during the day. My fellow travelers heard mice at night. Wifi didn't work. Restaurant is atmospheric and food was fine. Had a great massage in the spa. Beautiful starry sky at night, very clear.
Overall: nice experience and beautiful surroundings but a few minor points.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

1) Room: An adventure…..let’s keep it positive. It is a bit like a fairy-tale rooms are very funny decorated, especially the pluming…You will find some insects in the bath and yes from the roof they may fall down in your bed….did not happen with us . It is clean but in this area in this kind of ” open” house it’s hard to keep the bugs out.
2) Surroundings: Nice garden-beautiful setup from the different rooms. Nice bird sounds-beautiful stars as there is no false light.
3) Atmosphere: GREAT
4) Food: Buffet was reasonable as well the breakfast.
5) Good items: Stars-friendly staff-atmosphere
6) Improvements: Try to keep the rooms bugs free (I know it’s hard)- maybe change the plumbing work now it looks a bit…..on the other hand it’s funny and the shower works good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We passed Swaziland for one night just when moving from the Gomo Gomo private game reserve near the Kruger, to St Lucia near the Imfolozi park. We arrived to the hotel at 06:00 pm, everything was dark and it was hard to on know where to go to. The office was closed and finally we found someone in the restaurant who helped us in finding our room and getting us there,
It was dark and did not feel that good,
The chalets are located in a very nice place seconded by grass and flowers/trees. The room is so so. The intentions are good, but it does not feel that good, especially the bath room who is designed to fit the chalet's atmosphere, actually made me not want to take a shower there.
It was cold in the room and the tiny plate in the wall, who was supposed to heat the room, did not really do it, the bad was decent and clean.
The good thing about the place was the restaurant, both dinner and breakfast were very good.
The people in this resort are and helpful.
All in all, for one night it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

I travelled to Swaziland with my kids for my son's 10th birthday. 2 young boys and mommy on a weekend away!
We booked at Hawane lodge for the weekend. Upon arrival on Friday evening, it turned out that our Internet booking had actually been for accommodation at a sister lodge which was self-catering log-cabins. It was not what we wanted. Buhle, the lady who received us was gracious enough to alter our booking to a stay in the chalets. We dined in the lodge restaurant to a buffet meal which was ordinary but decent. There was a big group of tourists which made the ambience in the lodge a bit lively. The group checked out on Saturday morning. We went to breakfast which was also adequate but without many options.
We enquired about the activities that are advertised on the marketing materials. Most of them were not available. The swimming pool was not looking too good either.

We received some good advice on places of interest in and around Mbabane which we explored before our premature check out to a nearby hotel.

All in all, the lodge facilities were quite lacking BUT, from the moment we checked in to when we settled the bill for our short stay we were treated with absolute excellence and good service by what I believe is "underemployed" staff.

Everyone that we encountered during our stay was humble and very happy to help with anything and everything... For that, I will return albeit with a bigger group.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TSH010GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
17.1 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
686 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
311 reviews
17.0 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
267 reviews
14.9 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
270 reviews
20.8 mi away
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Piggs Peak
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawane Resort

Property: Hawane Resort
Address: Piggs Peak Road | 9 km north of Motshane on the Pigg's Peak Rd, Mbabane H100, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawane Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by Malolotja's majestic peaks rests Swaziland's northern highland Paradise, Hawane Resort. Situated 2 hours south of Kruger Park, 3.5 hours from Johannesburg and west of Mozambique, the breathtaking beauty of the area and it's spectacular views transport visitors into a mult-dimensional experience which offer as much adventure, solitude, adrenaline or tranquility as desired ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawane Hotel Mbabane
Hawane Resort Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing