We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Swaziland”
Review of Foresters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foresters Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Swaziland”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It is a very nice country hotel to stay when you visit Swaziland. It's a little off the beaten track but well worth the drive through a scenic, well wooded area. We experienced friendly staff. They were wearing traditional dresses at dinner time and we were served tasty dishes.

Room Tip: pool facing rooms are the better option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    189
    56
    10
    1
See reviews for
88
259
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansonville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Arriving there is a shock especially on a rainy day, the exterior looks old, the room are confortable but old style, on the PLUS side the service is very professional and they will point you to all the major point of interest in the area, the foof is out of this world and very economical

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceCadoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A charming well run hotel with very attentive staff neatly dressed in smart uniforms, the best staff that I have come across over many years of travel world wide
Ruth the owner runs this hotel like clock work and at dinner personally meets all the guests and explains the substantial menu - a good selection of wines are available, each table is allocated
a personal waitress that looks after you during dinner - there are selections of freshly baked breads, salads and other delicious items to tempt you - during the winter months there is a lovely fire place going
Breakfast certainly is vast - the usual bacon/sausages and eggs with freshly baked scones, muffins, crumpets, waffels, toast, preserves, honey with a tasty selection of fruit juices, tea, coffee - a breakfast not to be missed
Sunday lunch has a reputation of fine dining and is very popular
There is a pool, horse riding, mountain bikes, fishing for trout and bass
The rooms are more than adequate in size, very neat, clean and comfortable with lovely delicious coffee early in the morning at your request
A very traditional lounge with big comfortable chairs and again in the winter months a big warming fire place, a relaxing setting to have good coffee after supper
A homely hotel to relax in
About thirty minutes scenic drive from Mbabane and coming from the Malkerns side it is the same with the road a bit bumpy in small stretches again with lovely scenery on the way

Room Tip: all rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a nice hotel in the middle of nowhere and it was a nice surprise. This hotel is 3 star and rooms are basic but clean and suited our purpose for a one night stay. There was not much choice for lunch if you did not want the buffet lunch. Dinner was a set menu and very nice and you could have more if you wanted. Breakfast was also very good. The girls came and gave us a wakeup call in the morning and brought coffee in which was nice.

There were nice areas to walk and we enjoyed a family game of table tennis in the games room. Lots if birdlife in the area and a very nice pool area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at foresters arms but found it to be stuck in the 60's or 70's. Personally I prefer a modern look to a property. the gardens are beautiful and very scenic, however its a bit out of the way for a weekend stay in Swaziland as well as being on business. The food was good. When I went it was a bit chilly but the hotel did put the fire place on which made it feel quite cosy. Overall, it was okay, but would not rate this proerty as a 4* but rather a 3* as I found the bath rooms a bit moldy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Gorgeous place to stay in mountainous country with lovely scenery. Our room was nice - colour themed, we were in the green room. Not enough power points for recharging camera batteries, so we had to shift the bed to find one! Shower was set at midpoint (and could not be moved), so it meant crouching in the bath and wetting the important bits to get clean, which annoyed my husand. Free internet was slow, but it was good to get any reception in such a remote place.

Bed was very comfortable, and the room was spotless.

We were greeted by friendly baggage staff, who were efficient and nice. The hotel even cleaned the windows of our bus before we left, and the baggage staff waved us off from the property the following morning.

Food is magnificent. Our lovely waitress, Philili, was very friendly and looked beautiful in her national costume. The menu at the Foresters Arms Hotel is great, and you can try small portions of every single item on the menu! Fresh ingredients, and well cooked.

You can buy a Swaziland postcard near Reception and they even sell stamps and have a postage box there.

Great, homely place to stay, and the garden/pool area looked nice (bit chilly for a swim though!). Beautiful birds in the trees and great service from all staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
279 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Rooms are warm and adequate and the bathroom is functional. The real treat is the food and the staff. The staff are warm and very helpful and the food is awesome - small tasty portions of well cooked interesting dishes using local produce.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
9.7 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
9.6 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
#1 of 2 in Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresters Arms

Property: Foresters Arms
Address: Mhlambanyatsi, Mbabane H100, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foresters Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foresters Arms is gloriously situated near Mbabane in the heart of the kingdom on scenic paved roads; ideally placed for all Swaziland's attractions. It is a place of great character and charm with excellent accommodation overlooking the gardens, pool and valley and offering exceptional value for money. All rooms are en suite with quality cotton linen and heated towel rails; central heating for chilly weather. Great atmosphere with log fires in the lounge, restaurant and bar. Exceptional food, cooked and served with care and pride; featuring imaginative menus, home made breads and ice-creams. Malaria free area. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and gardens. Friendly, helpful and well-trained staff, tourist information/bookings available. Country walks/hiking, bird-watching, horse riding, mountain biking. The attractive Usuthu Golf course adjoins the property. Fitness room, sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Foresters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresters Arms Mbabane
Foresters Arms Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing