We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Foresters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foresters Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This charming hotel in Swasiland met our expectations. We stayed there for 2 nights and spent the whole day in the hotel because of terrible rainy weather.... It was quite comfortable, nice bar, lounge, dining room, each with roaring fires....
The food was good and more then enough, the service at the bar and the dining room was good.
The whole atmosphere was old-fashioned english for me - and I liked it!
Absolutely reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    193
    56
    10
    1
See reviews for
89
262
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After long drives and doing the tourist thing we climbed the hills twisting and turning roads in a soft rain until we reached a little piece of Scotland - Oops no it is Swaziland. But with the surrounding pine forests, the soft rain, the roaring fires in every public room and the big soft comfortable beds in the bedrooms I though I was in the Scottish highlands. Great food and the chance to try everything on offer, very friendly welcome by all the staff. Rooms in good order, clean and fresh, space to sit and stare on your own verandas. It was just perfect. All you need is a couple of good books - and there were plenty - and you would never move again.

Room Tip: All the rooms fact the gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucephalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We only had one night in Foresters Arms and maybe we should have stayed longer as the hotel is situated in a beautiful environment.
They have a very cosy bar with fire place, dinner and breakfast are very good and also the service is perfect.
The rooms are very basic and do need renovation, we had the feeling we were in a 1* motel or something.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendygoesaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We 've staid in this hotel for one night during our trip thru SA en Swasiland.(13/10-14/10). First we had booked a room in an other B&B but because this one was fully booked, he travel agency advised us to book a room the Forrest Arms, but we had to pay 30 Eur more. But this hotel is certainly not worth to pay the additional 30 Eur . May be in the passed it was een nice hotel. Now the hotelrooms need some renovation. The bathroom : not shower only a bath and very basic. No bathroom tiles. The walls are very thin and one can hear everything from the room next to you. The staff was very helpfull and friendly as well as the lady owner. The hotel is very British

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It is a very nice country hotel to stay when you visit Swaziland. It's a little off the beaten track but well worth the drive through a scenic, well wooded area. We experienced friendly staff. They were wearing traditional dresses at dinner time and we were served tasty dishes.

Room Tip: pool facing rooms are the better option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansonville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Arriving there is a shock especially on a rainy day, the exterior looks old, the room are confortable but old style, on the PLUS side the service is very professional and they will point you to all the major point of interest in the area, the foof is out of this world and very economical

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceCadoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A charming well run hotel with very attentive staff neatly dressed in smart uniforms, the best staff that I have come across over many years of travel world wide
Ruth the owner runs this hotel like clock work and at dinner personally meets all the guests and explains the substantial menu - a good selection of wines are available, each table is allocated
a personal waitress that looks after you during dinner - there are selections of freshly baked breads, salads and other delicious items to tempt you - during the winter months there is a lovely fire place going
Breakfast certainly is vast - the usual bacon/sausages and eggs with freshly baked scones, muffins, crumpets, waffels, toast, preserves, honey with a tasty selection of fruit juices, tea, coffee - a breakfast not to be missed
Sunday lunch has a reputation of fine dining and is very popular
There is a pool, horse riding, mountain bikes, fishing for trout and bass
The rooms are more than adequate in size, very neat, clean and comfortable with lovely delicious coffee early in the morning at your request
A very traditional lounge with big comfortable chairs and again in the winter months a big warming fire place, a relaxing setting to have good coffee after supper
A homely hotel to relax in
About thirty minutes scenic drive from Mbabane and coming from the Malkerns side it is the same with the road a bit bumpy in small stretches again with lovely scenery on the way

Room Tip: all rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
9.7 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
686 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
311 reviews
16.5 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
267 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
270 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresters Arms

Property: Foresters Arms
Address: Mhlambanyatsi, Mbabane H100, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foresters Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foresters Arms is gloriously situated near Mbabane in the heart of the kingdom on scenic paved roads; ideally placed for all Swaziland's attractions. It is a place of great character and charm with excellent accommodation overlooking the gardens, pool and valley and offering exceptional value for money. All rooms are en suite with quality cotton linen and heated towel rails; central heating for chilly weather. Great atmosphere with log fires in the lounge, restaurant and bar. Exceptional food, cooked and served with care and pride; featuring imaginative menus, home made breads and ice-creams. Malaria free area. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and gardens. Friendly, helpful and well-trained staff, tourist information/bookings available. Country walks/hiking, bird-watching, horse riding, mountain biking. The attractive Usuthu Golf course adjoins the property. Fitness room, sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Foresters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresters Arms Mbabane
Foresters Arms Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing