We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Hotel Belle-vue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belle-vue
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Lome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel rooms are plain and nothing special at all. But that is the most negative thing I have to say.
If you chosse this hotel, you are in for a treat, both on service level and food quality level (in the hotel (did not visit the pizza restaurant)).
Friendly staff is one of my preference when staying at a hotel and here I got what I came for.

The wifi work great and they take credit card.
This one comes recommended from my side.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stoffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belle-vue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Although the hotel is good and I happened to visit two other rooms apart from mine, I must admit my room was not the best available ( Will comment in room tips). The restaurant is a great place to relax and has a very charming outdoor seating arrangement with two chirpy parrots who keep you company.

The prices are decent ( about 35,000 FCFA/night) and they have another pizzeria nearby that serves some really great pizzas. Being right behind the German embassy really helps in explaining the location to Moto/taxi drivers.

The hotel have their own taxi as well, with a polite driver (Christian) who speaks very good English and also gives you invaluable tips about the city.

The breakfast is typical continental and being South Asian, insufficient for me...;-)

The hotel is a 5-7min walk from the beach ( not the best beach though) as well as close to the border.

I would recommend this place since you can pay by card as well which could be a blessing if you are in transit or do not have enough time to change money.

Room Tip: Always insist on the room in the main building and not the one at the back with the Garden. After co...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Decent rooms, very quiet and convenient location. Service was good, wifi was working well. The water feature and parrots in the courtyard are nice features.

Restaurant absolutely superb - every item I had over the course of a few days was absolutely delicious. Salads, beef, desserts, everything was top notch.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IAS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Although a bit pricey, I'd definitely go back here. The staff is very good, food is excellent, free WiFi that works and it is close to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterevjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is only two blocks from the main beach road, but since it is located just behind the German Embassy, you can't hear the street noise. The rooms are small, but bright and comfortable in the main building with A/C, there are more in the annex a block away. But the best part of the hotel is the outdoor eating area under a huge mango tree, with trellises next to a small pool and two huge cages for very talkative parrots adjacent the bar with a thacted roof. The French food and service is great and the French owner also has another restaurant called Belle Epoque two blocks away which serves great pizzas. The rooms are reasonably priced by West African standards, and they do take MasterCard (for a 3% fee), which is a luxury in Togo!

Room Tip: All rooms have south and north exposures. There is Wi-Fi available
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is a few hundred metres from the Ghana border, and a block away from the huge Lome beach. Despite being close to a couple of main roads, the neighbourhood is extremely quiet. So, when you are relaxing in the delightful garden - small, shaded area, with small pool - you hear nothing but the crazy parrot. The food is really good. Delicious. And a number of other restaurants a minute's walk away. We loved the pizzas just around the corner, with a lovely evening sea breeze to keep us cool.
Why not 5 stars? The air conditioning was not working well in the 3 rooms our group used. Better than nothing, just, but not enough to really make it cool. The small garden area is lovely, and quiet, but gets little breeze so is warm.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd floor) has views, and is at the top of the amazing big tree. But check that the A/C i...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crods01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Our room was at the back of the hotel, on the ground floor. I wanted to swap as I thought it would be damp and mosquito infested but actually it was fine. The owners were quick to help when the air con was not working to start with and then the water went off a few times. This was rectified by the lovely staff and owner promptly. The room was nicely decorated, well furnished and had plenty of space for two.

The outside area is very cute - a covered bar area, with mood lighting and comfy sofas and arm chairs, then a terrace for eating. The menu (especially when you are coming from Ghana) is fantastic. The set menu is good value, breakfast is not included in the price of the hotel but you can get fresh baguette, REAL butter, proper jam, delicious croissants... heaven! Oh and the coffee is amazing.. again especially compared to the nescafe of Accra!

Bad food poisoning (who knows where from) meant we had to get a doctor then go to hospital. The hotel were helpful, organised the doctor, then transport, phoned the hospital to say we were coming etc. Then didn't bat an eye lid when we just stayed on an extra night. The staff were wonderful and all very concerned for my partner's health.

All in all, it was an oasis of French loveliness!

Room Tip: Specify if you want to be upstairs as at the back of the hotel on the ground floor are around 4 or 5...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GingerTravelsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lome hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Onomo Lome
Hotel Onomo Lome
#3 of 37 in Lome
80 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Robinson Plage
Hotel Robinson Plage
#2 of 37 in Lome
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 2 Fevrier Lome
Hotel 2 Fevrier Lome
#1 of 37 in Lome
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Aurore
Hotel Aurore
#15 of 37 in Lome
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Lome Centre
Ibis Lome Centre
#27 of 37 in Lome
258 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Napoleon Lagune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle-vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle-vue

Address: Quartier Kodjoviakope | Rue Gnagbade, Lome 2718, Togo
Region: Togo > Maritime Region > Lome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Lome
Price Range: £48 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belle-Vue Hotel ! Belle-Vue Hotel offers 43 comfortable quality rooms, with a particular attention for decoration. The Bar under the straw hut proposes varied drinks that you will savour just in front of our swimming pool while you enjoy relaxing. Finest gourmets, the restaurant La Belle Epoque opens its doors in a refined mood. Our cookers prepare every day gastronomic French cooking with a lot of creativity and originality. NEW ! We propose 13 new rooms around a large swimming pool, reserved to our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Belle-vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing