We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pre-airport hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belle-vue

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Belle-vue
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Lome
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pre-airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was one of the most pleasant places we stayed during our two-week trip to Togo and Ghana. Reasons why I recommend Hotel Belle-vue:

1. We made a reservation, which was honored. When we showed up, they greeted us by name.
2. You can pay with Visa, which is a great when you are on your way to the airport and don’t want to withdraw more local currency. There was not any charge for using a credit card rather than cash.
3. The Togolese man at the front desk speaks English and answered lots of questions without complaint or attitude. When he didn’t know the answer, instead of making something up, he asked the man who appeared to be the hotel owner, so we got accurate information.
4. For a fee (7,000 CFA), you can check out at 6 pm. Great if you have an evening flight and want to clean-up before you head to the airport. Then you can have dinner at the restaurant or hang out at the bar while waiting for the airport shuttle.
5. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the airport. It’s so free that they even instructed me not to tip the driver, who drove a clean, air-conditioned car and picked us up on time.
6. The rooms were better maintained than a resort where we stayed in Ghana and paid more than twice as much. When we reported that the air conditioner went out, it was fixed within a few hours. Our room didn’t have any leaky faucets or broken tile like other places, and the after weeks of being in messy, chaotic environments, I liked that someone had made the curtains match the bedspread. It was the only place in Africa I didn’t use flip flops in the shower.
7. We were able to add another single bed to our room for a fee, which allowed us to squeeze three adults into one room rather than getting a second room.
8. It is walkable to the Peace Corps Bureau – about 10 minutes down one road, easy to find. A discount for Peace Corps families would be awesome.

I hope the hotel will translate its menu into English to make ordering easy. I also would have enjoyed dining there more if the menu had several vegetarian options. The restaurant was pricey, but it stood out by providing professional service and a shady dining area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gretchen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    40
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel rooms are plain and nothing special at all. But that is the most negative thing I have to say.
If you chosse this hotel, you are in for a treat, both on service level and food quality level (in the hotel (did not visit the pizza restaurant)).
Friendly staff is one of my preference when staying at a hotel and here I got what I came for.

The wifi work great and they take credit card.
This one comes recommended from my side.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Although the hotel is good and I happened to visit two other rooms apart from mine, I must admit my room was not the best available ( Will comment in room tips). The restaurant is a great place to relax and has a very charming outdoor seating arrangement with two chirpy parrots who keep you company.

The prices are decent ( about 35,000 FCFA/night) and they have another pizzeria nearby that serves some really great pizzas. Being right behind the German embassy really helps in explaining the location to Moto/taxi drivers.

The hotel have their own taxi as well, with a polite driver (Christian) who speaks very good English and also gives you invaluable tips about the city.

The breakfast is typical continental and being South Asian, insufficient for me...;-)

The hotel is a 5-7min walk from the beach ( not the best beach though) as well as close to the border.

I would recommend this place since you can pay by card as well which could be a blessing if you are in transit or do not have enough time to change money.

Room Tip: Always insist on the room in the main building and not the one at the back with the Garden. After co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Decent rooms, very quiet and convenient location. Service was good, wifi was working well. The water feature and parrots in the courtyard are nice features.

Restaurant absolutely superb - every item I had over the course of a few days was absolutely delicious. Salads, beef, desserts, everything was top notch.

Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IAS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Although a bit pricey, I'd definitely go back here. The staff is very good, food is excellent, free WiFi that works and it is close to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterevjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is only two blocks from the main beach road, but since it is located just behind the German Embassy, you can't hear the street noise. The rooms are small, but bright and comfortable in the main building with A/C, there are more in the annex a block away. But the best part of the hotel is the outdoor eating area under a huge mango tree, with trellises next to a small pool and two huge cages for very talkative parrots adjacent the bar with a thacted roof. The French food and service is great and the French owner also has another restaurant called Belle Epoque two blocks away which serves great pizzas. The rooms are reasonably priced by West African standards, and they do take MasterCard (for a 3% fee), which is a luxury in Togo!

Room Tip: All rooms have south and north exposures. There is Wi-Fi available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is a few hundred metres from the Ghana border, and a block away from the huge Lome beach. Despite being close to a couple of main roads, the neighbourhood is extremely quiet. So, when you are relaxing in the delightful garden - small, shaded area, with small pool - you hear nothing but the crazy parrot. The food is really good. Delicious. And a number of other restaurants a minute's walk away. We loved the pizzas just around the corner, with a lovely evening sea breeze to keep us cool.
Why not 5 stars? The air conditioning was not working well in the 3 rooms our group used. Better than nothing, just, but not enough to really make it cool. The small garden area is lovely, and quiet, but gets little breeze so is warm.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd floor) has views, and is at the top of the amazing big tree. But check that the A/C i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crods01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lome hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel 2 Fevrier, Lome
2.6 mi away
Hotel Onomo Lome
Hotel Onomo Lome
#6 of 36 in Lome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Robinson Plage
Hotel Robinson Plage
#3 of 36 in Lome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Cote Sud
1.1 mi away
Residence Hoteliere Oceane
3.6 mi away
Hotel Napoleon Lagune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle-vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle-vue

Property: Hotel Belle-vue
Address: Quartier Kodjoviakope | Rue Gnagbade, Lome 2718, Togo
Region: Togo > Maritime Region > Lome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Lome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belle-Vue Hotel ! Belle-Vue Hotel offers 43 comfortable quality rooms, with a particular attention for decoration. The Bar under the straw hut proposes varied drinks that you will savour just in front of our swimming pool while you enjoy relaxing. Finest gourmets, the restaurant La Belle Epoque opens its doors in a refined mood. Our cookers prepare every day gastronomic French cooking with a lot of creativity and originality. NEW ! We propose 13 new rooms around a large swimming pool, reserved to our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Belle-vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing