We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfort and peace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dolphin Suites
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Noida, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“comfort and peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

A good hotel set in a peaceful surrounding.Stayed there for one night and was truly satisfied with the ambiance, the food, service and a very accommodating staff. The location of hotel is such that one can go for jogging and enjoy it. Had a nice comfortable sleep. Rooms are clean and so are bathrooms. They don't have any tea/coffee making facility in the room and one has to order from the room service. All the rooms are having spacious balcony. Though I had not asked for a pickup from Entebbe but on inquiring found a helpful lady outside the airport who was from Speke hotel owned by the same management, and she arranged for a vehicle to drop me at the hotel. Would like to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are preferable though I was on the ground floor but didn't find it disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravin1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will definitely think about tea/coffee making facility in the room.We look forward to the pleasure of serving you better in your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Dinesh Gautam
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    34
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
11
1
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Dolphin Suites is a secure hotel close to Kampala City Centre. The Gardens are well kept and there is a nice outdoor swimming pool on the grounds. I'd recommend you ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room as the ground floor may be a bit noisy if the pool or restaurant is busy. Good view from the balcony where I stayed (room 11). The showers had good water pressure and there was hot water any time of day or night. There are mosquito nets, housekeeping is of a good standard and you get a bottle of water each day The rooms have a double door between them which compromises the sound proofing somewhat. The wi-fi reception was patchy but passable and Skype would frequently drop out during calls. The TV reception in the rooms was frequently grainy. The a la carte Food in the restaurant was good with a good Indian section to the menu (the management is Indian). Breakfast had juice, tea, coffee cereal and hot food in the form of eggs/omlette, beans, sausage. I stayed 5 nights in all on a business trip and was happy with the stay overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st or 2nd Floor Room as the ground floor may be a bit noisy if the restaurant or pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desmond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your the time to write your review of our hotel, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.We will definitely rectify the problem of the Wi-Fi and TV signals.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Dolphin Suites.

Best Regards,

Dinesh Gautam
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a reservation for 4 nights to stay at Dolphin from February 8-12. Before leaving Rwanda for Entebbe we called the hotel to arrange a car. This is what happened:

The call begins and I'm informed that yes a car can be arranged, but the Indian gentleman taking my call instantly who know I was. "You booked through Expedia, sir?" "Yes, two single rooms for 4 nights." "Sir, I am sorry but I will arrange you to stay at one of our sister hotels. A group has checked in and we are accommodating all of them. We will try to get you here tomorrow."

I was outraged and told him so, and that I expected him to find a solution and would call him again when I arrived at Kigali airport in a few hours.

After calling back, I spoke to the same gentleman and at this point I was hot mad. He finally gave me the name of the 'hotel' he'd be sending us to, the "Forest Cottages." I looked that up while on the phone and virtually no information was available on it other than it was far flung from the city center, and looked a LOT cheaper than the $120/night we were paying for Dolphin.

I informed him I would be calling Expedia/Hotels.com to deal with this. He begged and begged pathetically, practically crying on the phone - not to call them. I hung up the phone, called them, and was able to get a full refund cancellation due to this misbehavior.

Expedia informed me this has happened before. I strongly recommend you book your hotels through an agent such as them that can help you in Uganda in case this happens to you, but it DEFINITELY happens at Dolphin.

Just imagine if we hadn't called and then had time to find another hotel before flying to Uganda. Our evening was saved by checking on these hucksters first.

Do not book this hotel if you want a nice visit to Kampala.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZDrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

a very nice hotel with an excellent service and staff.
located in the bogilobi neighborhood, great pool,
nice bar to sit and watch sports events... almost a sports bar.
internet reception all over, free of charge.
the manager is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmirH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Amir,

Thank you for the great comments!

Warm regards,

Dinesh gautam
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I spent 4 days at the Dolphin Suites while on work travel in June 2103. I found the hotel well managed, with very friendly and helpful staff, nice clean pool and pool area (although pool is quite small) and decent food. Started off with a room on the ground floor next to the pool but it lacked privacy so moved to first floor. Wifi was mostly reliable - although apparently it doesn't work in some rooms so check this out before you agree on your room. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: upper floors so you won't be overlooked by guests at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenGDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at Dolphin Suites for three nights and then returned for one more. It was a pleasant stay, rooms were clean with fantastic showers.Staff were friendly, the food was really nice, and the pool was big although pretty deep (the shallow end is 5ft). It can be noisy with the TV waking us up early, and staff and management don't always seem to know what is going on. Despite that we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Been using Dolphin Suites for the gym and pool as we live nearby. The pool is small but pretty and clean, and the gym is pretty well equipped - although could do with a rowing machine. The restaurant is nice and the breakfasts are pretty good, although the hymns blaring out on a Sunday are quite distracting when trying to work!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
2.8 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
9.8 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#17 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Suites
Royal Suites
#23 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Suites

Property: Dolphin Suites
Address: 36 Princess Anne Drive | Plot 36 Bugolobi, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Dolphin Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing