We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - is a backpacker hostel as well as a restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Chilli Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed for a night at the Red Chilli Hideaway in Kampala before setting off on safari with Red Chilli the next day. We had missed the fact that we could have stayed in the dormitory for free, but the rooms we'd booked were very reasonably priced and nice enough; with mozzie nets, warm shower and a fan. The restaurant was great and the breakfast offered lots of choice, at reasonable prices. The staff were certainly friendly, and laid-back.

Thank SuperDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

We have just returned from a 3 day trip to Murchison Falls organised by Red Chilli. They offer a free night pre trip in the (unisex) dorm, which is very basic, but hey it's only one night and means you're there to start at 8.30 the next morning. The kitchen has a good range of breakfast dishes to buy - and then you're off! The whole trip was extremely well organised and included a walk to see the Falls at close hand, a safari with a dedicated guide, a river safari and a visit to the rhino sanctuary. Accommodation at Red Chilli Rest Camp at Murchison Falls is in 2 bedded tents with shared toilet/shower facilities and the whole thing is perfectly set up. Food is good, with different meals on offer each night. All in all, a good value trip. Btw, we are 65 year old women!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JennyT46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

If your in Uganda backpacking (i.e. on a budget) this is the best place to base yourself. The hostel itself is mearly adequate, not fantastic by any means, but I can have no complaints about the place either.

Where Red Chili really excels is in what it offers the traveller, you can go anywhere from here. They do organised tours to all the major attractions and activities in Uganda, but you can also organise stuff independently if you wish as you'll certainly meet like minded travelers here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed here on and off for a week after coming from Ethiopia. They organise lots of trips and budget safaris. We went to Murchison Falls NP and white water rafting in Jinja (brilliant!) using Red Chilli as a base, and stayed in a few rooms as a result. We were using double rooms and most were pretty good, although the floors could do with a good sweep. The excursions were the best way to make friends and we met a good mix of people from all over.
Befriended a local and he took us out clubbing with his friends in the kabal gala strip of bars, for a great night out!
The location is a bit out of town but getting a local minibus taxi from the centre is 800-1000 schillings, and it's easy to find the ones going to Bugolobi. It's pretty much a straight road with 2 turns and even in the dark it's easy to make sure you don't miss the petrol station where you get off.
There's a few other bars/clubs locally - One right next door, and one just around the corner which is a little more fancy.
All in all, great!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This place is great to stop by and listening to some of the recommendations people have about Kampala. The staff is very very helpful and the restaurant there is not bad. We stayed in 2 different rooms, they where both very clean and the showers always have warm water.

Also don't miss the huge pork walking around the camp.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Nice relaxed atmosphere, good food and drinks. Clean rooms, but no fan. Very pleasant until the mosquitos started hovering over our heads in droves. Otherwise a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Not sure what we could expect with having to book long distance from Canada but were not disappointed. The tents were comfortable and the staff madde sure you had a great experience. Would go again and have since had people we recommended try Red chilli out have said they found it was great. Drivers made sure we experienced the best Africa had to offer for tha area. Had a great time!!! Thank you Staff at Red Chilli

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bdmcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
4.8 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
210 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
667 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fat Cat Backpackers
Fat Cat Backpackers
#1 of 139 in Kampala
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
ICU Guesthouse
ICU Guesthouse
#6 of 218 in Kampala
68 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#15 of 218 in Kampala
38 reviews
5.7 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Chilli Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chilli Hideaway

Address: 13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road | Butabika, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Kampala
Price Range: £9 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Chilli Hideaway, Kampala Facilities: Great value accommodation: set in 5 leafy acres, in one of Kampala's quieter and safer suburbs (Butabika). We cater for self-campers and also provide dorm beds & private rooms (with or without en-suite facilities) Check-in from 2pm onwards and check-out by 10 am. Swimming Pool: 16m salt-water swimming pool with baby pool. Free of charge for our residents! Complimentary shuttle bus: operating between Red Chilli and the centre of town. We have a 10-seater minibus that departs Butabika at 9am, 12pm and 4pm daily and terminates at the Nakumatt Oasis Shopping Mall (next to Garden City Mall) on Kitante Road. Departs town at 10.30Am, 1.30Pm and 5.30Pm, also from Nakumatt Oasis. Please book ahead at reception or by email/phone to avoid disappointment as we can only take 10 passengers on each shuttle. Please note - the driver may not deviate from the set route! Special hire taxis can be arranged on request at any time and are available on site at Butabika. Fully stocked bar: open daily from 7am until midnight, with booze for sale from 10am. Lots of communal areas to kick back and relax - including a beer terrace and a separate pool-side bar. A la carte restaurant: serving excellent breakfasts, lunches, dinners and snacks from 6:45am until 9.30Pm. Sunday from 6:00pm -9:00pm, is a pool-side BBQ night. Mouth-watering pizzas are baked in our wood-burning pizza oven outside Mon - Sat, from 6:00pm- 9:00pm. We can offer special rates and incentives for group meals - please contact us for further details. Our inside bar, restaurant and all accommodation areas are non-smoking, however smoking is permitted on the beer terrace and at the pool bar. FREE wireless internet access (with connections available for laptops) in our reception/internet lounge area only. Available between the hours of 7am and 11pm and subject to connection. Our systems are on a timer and will shut down automatically at approx 11pm. We also have one public internet stations and a cable connection. Please understand that the internet connection in Uganda is far from perfect, and at times is very slow and erratic! Satellite TV: Offering sports and news updates in the bar area, and a choice of viewing in the residential TV room. Look out for special movie nights! Pool table, dart board and table tennis: available in return for a small (or large!) Donation to our chosen charity: The Steve Willis Memorial Fund & a security deposit of 20,000/= for the darts, balls, cues, paddles etc. The deposit is refundable, providing the items are returned in one piece and not damaged! Self-Catering Kitchen & laundry block: located in our campsite for those who would prefer to self-cater. We have a basic camp kitchen, equipped with sink, cooker, fridge & external barbecues and picnic tables - but please note, we do not provide cutlery and crockery. You must provide your own cooking utensils. Separate laundry room available next door. Library: We have a small library and welcome book swaps in return for a small donation to the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please ask at reception/bar. Board games: we have a small selection for use, free of charge, from behind the bar. Laundry: A hand-wash laundry service is available for residents for a small charge or there is a designated self-catering laundry block. Please ask at reception/bar for more details. No underwear, shoes or totally filthy clothing to be handed in to be washed! We cannot guarantee that the laundry will be dry on the same day, due to weather conditions. Please note that if you hand in white clothing, it will definitely be returned to you cleaner, but we cannot guarantee it will be whiter! Office Facility: we offer printing, scanning & photocopying facilities in the administration office for a donation to our charity- the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please note the office may not always be open - either outside of office hours or when we are out receiving deliveries etc. Just ask at the bar if the door's closed! Consumables: for sale at the bar, including cigarettes, snacks and drinks. We also sell shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste and brushes, mozzie spray, postcards, stamps and other useful items at reception. For more choice, you will find several shops, markets & restaurants located within a short walking distance from Red Chilli Hideaway. Back-up generator and inverter: these keep things ticking over when the power fails, as it so often does in Uganda! When we are running on inverter or generator, please note only the lights are connected to the back-up power supply; plug sockets and fans in the rooms and bar area are not. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Chilli Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Chilli Hideaway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing