We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good backpacker place to stay - good safaris to do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Chilli Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Chilli Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good backpacker place to stay - good safaris to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

I have been with them for almost ten days, doing two safaris: Queen Elizabeth National Park and Murchison Falls National Park.
The place in Kampala is nice, definitely young, looking at the age of their customers (around 25). I slept in 2 different dormitories during my stay there, and both of them where simple but good. The shared bathrooms were also clean. All beds are equipped with mosquito nets.
Regarding the safaris, the QE's one is new (started in June 2009), but really nice to be done. And complementary of the MF's one. Descriptions on their website is exactly what you will get. No surprise. Prices are affordable and I managed easily not to go over my budget. Food is also good and available for all types of budgets.
Usually, people are really nice and helpful.
Definitely a nice experience I would recommend around me.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitchoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    187
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
27
102
94
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Ok place, nothing special. Has free but slow wifi

Would stay again if in Kampala. Defiantly a young backpacker place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utrecht
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

We visited Murchison with a small group (age between 24-52), the tour was lead by Red Chilli. Even though the trip is heavy, because of the rough dirt roads, the place is definitely worth it!!
The food was good, the banda was nice and tidy and the view was stunning. Warthogs wandered around the campsite, so the wildlife experience is good.
The reviews on this site surprised me actually, because we were an international group and all very pleased. When we arrived we had an introduction talk with a member of the staff, so you know your way around the site.

Game drives, hike around the falls, boat cruise.... all well arranged and relaxed.

I am Dutch and I think it's good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janssenholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

The Red Chilli is busy with backpackers, and provides all the basics for a stay in Kampala.... Main points from my perspective:

- Atmosphere is good, with lots of friendly people around
- Food very much "does the job"
- Free Wireless internet is a massive plus, even though it's slower than a week in jail
- Rooms are a little tired. We stayed in a double room, and the mosquito net was in a terrible state
- It's a matatu or boda boda ride into town. It's too far to walk in the Ugandan heat

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auld_Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

We were very disappointed with the hospitality at this hostel; we stayed here on 3 seperate occasions (mainly because we booked tours from them that left from the premises otherwise we wouldnt have bothered after the first time). In the Cayenne rooms there was bed bugs, totally unacceptable. The dorms before the Murchinson trip (included in the trip) were like hell, a actual sauna, to add insult to injury they charged extra for sheets remarkable considering we had booked a $286 tour with them which included the dorm bed!!!. The third night (a necesity for the end of the tour was ok). One out of three is bad, overall certain factions of the staff were quite rude and pushy and service was well below par. I have rated it okay but in reality many would rate this terrible and i was close to doing so. For foreign owned hostel more was expected and they need to lift there game before decent competition drives them out.

Helpful?
2 Thank tigerman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampala
4.8 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
11.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#17 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#20 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.6 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Chilli Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chilli Hideaway

Property: Red Chilli Hideaway
Address: 13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road | Butabika, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Chilli Hideaway, Kampala Facilities: Great value accommodation: set in 5 leafy acres, in one of Kampala's quieter and safer suburbs (Butabika). We cater for self-campers and also provide dorm beds & private rooms (with or without en-suite facilities) Check-in from 2pm onwards and check-out by 10 am. Swimming Pool: 16m salt-water swimming pool with baby pool. Free of charge for our residents! Complimentary shuttle bus: operating between Red Chilli and the centre of town. We have a 10-seater minibus that departs Butabika at 9am, 12pm and 4pm daily and terminates at the Nakumatt Oasis Shopping Mall (next to Garden City Mall) on Kitante Road. Departs town at 10.30Am, 1.30Pm and 5.30Pm, also from Nakumatt Oasis. Please book ahead at reception or by email/phone to avoid disappointment as we can only take 10 passengers on each shuttle. Please note - the driver may not deviate from the set route! Special hire taxis can be arranged on request at any time and are available on site at Butabika. Fully stocked bar: open daily from 7am until midnight, with booze for sale from 10am. Lots of communal areas to kick back and relax - including a beer terrace and a separate pool-side bar. A la carte restaurant: serving excellent breakfasts, lunches, dinners and snacks from 6:45am until 9.30Pm. Sunday from 6:00pm -9:00pm, is a pool-side BBQ night. Mouth-watering pizzas are baked in our wood-burning pizza oven outside Mon - Sat, from 6:00pm- 9:00pm. We can offer special rates and incentives for group meals - please contact us for further details. Our inside bar, restaurant and all accommodation areas are non-smoking, however smoking is permitted on the beer terrace and at the pool bar. FREE wireless internet access (with connections available for laptops) in our reception/internet lounge area only. Available between the hours of 7am and 11pm and subject to connection. Our systems are on a timer and will shut down automatically at approx 11pm. We also have one public internet stations and a cable connection. Please understand that the internet connection in Uganda is far from perfect, and at times is very slow and erratic! Satellite TV: Offering sports and news updates in the bar area, and a choice of viewing in the residential TV room. Look out for special movie nights! Pool table, dart board and table tennis: available in return for a small (or large!) Donation to our chosen charity: The Steve Willis Memorial Fund & a security deposit of 20,000/= for the darts, balls, cues, paddles etc. The deposit is refundable, providing the items are returned in one piece and not damaged! Self-Catering Kitchen & laundry block: located in our campsite for those who would prefer to self-cater. We have a basic camp kitchen, equipped with sink, cooker, fridge & external barbecues and picnic tables - but please note, we do not provide cutlery and crockery. You must provide your own cooking utensils. Separate laundry room available next door. Library: We have a small library and welcome book swaps in return for a small donation to the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please ask at reception/bar. Board games: we have a small selection for use, free of charge, from behind the bar. Laundry: A hand-wash laundry service is available for residents for a small charge or there is a designated self-catering laundry block. Please ask at reception/bar for more details. No underwear, shoes or totally filthy clothing to be handed in to be washed! We cannot guarantee that the laundry will be dry on the same day, due to weather conditions. Please note that if you hand in white clothing, it will definitely be returned to you cleaner, but we cannot guarantee it will be whiter! Office Facility: we offer printing, scanning & photocopying facilities in the administration office for a donation to our charity- the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please note the office may not always be open - either outside of office hours or when we are out receiving deliveries etc. Just ask at the bar if the door's closed! Consumables: for sale at the bar, including cigarettes, snacks and drinks. We also sell shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste and brushes, mozzie spray, postcards, stamps and other useful items at reception. For more choice, you will find several shops, markets & restaurants located within a short walking distance from Red Chilli Hideaway. Back-up generator and inverter: these keep things ticking over when the power fails, as it so often does in Uganda! When we are running on inverter or generator, please note only the lights are connected to the back-up power supply; plug sockets and fans in the rooms and bar area are not. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Chilli Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Chilli Hideaway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing