We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Budget Hotel within the Heart of the City”
Review of Hotel City Square

Hotel City Square
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel City Square
Ranked #27 of 224 Kampala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This hotel is right in the centre of the city and you can walk upto Nakkumatt and Centenary Park within 20 to 25 minutes. The hotel Manager is an Indian who is very polite and cooperative. The worst thing about the hotel is its entrance; you have to walk through a narrow corridor and climb the suffocating stairs probably through some private flates. Try to get the room in front side (whose windows are opening towards the main road from where you climbed up) because rooms on the other side have a very restricted view through untidy junc yards. There is an Indian restaurant on the lower floor of the Hotel (not owned by this Hotel), where you can find good Indian and African food. The hotel has an Internet Cafe (but you have to pay for that) you can even get the printouts. Breakfast is okay. The rooms are reasonably clean with attached bathrooms (with hot water available). Overall the Hotel is okay as you are charged a very little amount (20 to 25 dollars for a double room)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AsadKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

I liked Hotel City Square enough to stay there twice, and I'd stay there again. I thought it was pretty good value for money. The staff were reasonably pleasant and helpful. My rooms were comfortable and clean, and everything was in good repair -- far too many African hotels let themselves go to seed and fall into disrepair, but it seems that Hotel City Square makes the effort to keep things up.

Its central location makes things convenient. Motorcycle taxis are always available right out front, and it's easy to get to the "taxi parks," one of which is within five minutes' walk. In the same building, there is a restaurant with cheap but decent food (they also provide room service) and an Internet cafe (overpriced but convenient).

Hotel City Square is a good place, and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dumpendebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Economic, safe, good breakfast, great safe location, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londokesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 騒音を気にする人は、フロントでよく確認するとよい。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 大月
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connysBor_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 104 in Kampala
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
673 reviews
2.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.1 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#16 of 224 in Kampala
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Square

Address: 42 Kampala Road | P O Box 2246, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range: £18 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel City Square 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel City Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing