We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chilling day out of Kampala”
Review of Lagoon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lagoon Resort
Ranked #12 of 210 Kampala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We took a local boat from Ggaba Market (60.000 retour trip) and stayed at Lagoon for the day. Lovely restaurant/ bar area and very nice swimming pool. People with blond hair, be warned and use a cap because your hair turns green after swimming in their pool. Staff is very attentive, cold drinks. They have a set menu for lunch. All very good, lovely gardens. Will come back here for a weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaGouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Lagoon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was on business for a week in Kampala and wanted a break from the commotion of the city for the weekend. Lagoon Resort was just the ticket. The short boat ride from the Speke Hotel Marina was just long enough to let civilization fade into the distance and to transport me to a little bit of paradise. The accommodations are simple, clean and comfortable and the setting is spectacular. The food was excellent featuring local fresh produce and delicious fresh fish from Lake Victoria. A few hours in the sun by the pool with a cool gin and tonic helped make a very brief stay seem like a full battery recharge. I hope my work takes me back to Kampala so I can indulge in this great pleasure again. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have been to Lagoon Resort 3 times now and have had a wonderful time. Its the perfect weekend away from Kampala. Great for a celebration or just to relax.

It's in easy reach of the city, and you get to go on a boat to access it - even though its actually on the mainland.

The service is outstanding; as is the food. There is a campfire at night.

I have stayed in the Buffalo banda and have also camped. Even if you're camping, you get the same splendid service. There is a lot of flexibility with meal times and with the boat.

The pool is lovely and the entire resort has great flora, trees (and birds). You can also take out a canoe which included in the cost.

The design of the main lodge area is stunning, with plenty of attractive detailing. It's a work of art.

Thanks to Patrick and everyone else for a great time.

Room Tip: Camping is great!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachieLandmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A relatively short boat ride away from Kampala, you'll find this a very relaxing place where it seems you are very far away from the city indeed. Perfect for a weekend getaway, friendly service (we got the kayaks for some peddling around in the lagoon at no extra cost), very decent food, some nice spots to hang out and overall a great location for unwinding and doing nothing. Even though the cottages are placed a bit close together, we didn't hear much from our neighbours, probably because the birds around make enough noise already. So perhaps bring some ear plugs if you're a bit urbanized and not very used to hearing sounds of nature 24/7.

Also, one of the downsides of sleeping in nature is that you might encounter some small creepy crawlers entering your cottage, but the owner assured us the place gets a decent treatment for that at least once a week, and overall it wasn't an issue and we had a great night's sleep. But perhaps best to zip up your bags and not let things like toothbrushes lie around to prevent gekkos having their way with it. And luckily there were hardly any mosquitoes, something you might expect while sleeping on the shore of a large body of water. Furthermore, the pool side could be pimped up a bit (how about a paint job?), although the stone benches there, in the shadow of a large tree, are excellent for dozing off or reading a book without the risk of being splashed on by others. It's also great for bird spotters as there are some nice specimens flying around and if that's your thing, so bring some binoculars.

Overall highly recommend, especially if you want to get away from Kampala but do not want to spend a lot of time travelling to get to your destination. It's about 30 minutes by boat from the marina at the Speke Resort in Munyonyo. Apparently the author of the Bradt Guide to Uganda owns a house where you'll pass by during the boat ride, so that's quite a thumbs up to the attractiveness of the general area. Be sure to call ahead to book or to check the time the boat leaves in case you're just spending the day and not the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VincentUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What a wonderful experience at Lagoon resort. We were met by friendly management and escorted to the stunning reception/dining room. Everything during our stay, from the customer service to the incredible meals, the architecture to the personalised baby menu were second-to-none. I look forward to visiting next year and hope for just a few more child-friendly activities. We enjoyed kayaking, fishing, swimming and lounging. Management even welcomed us into their home for my little one to play on the trampoline and enjoy ice-cream making! Top class hotel, the best I have experienced in my 4 years in Uganda!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

After some weeks travelling over bumpy roads and escaping the terrible smoggy and crowed Kampala it was great to relax some days in this green paradise. Especially because we were the only guests!
The ride by boat from Kampala is rather rough, but the skipper managed to keep our feet dry.
The main building is constructed very nice by the owner himself and tastefully furnished and decorated by one of the sons. Overlook the lake at sunset from the deck and enjoy the view. Admire to the great blue turaco’s and the laughing hornbills.
Go for a walk to the neighbouring village with very kind people, escorted by the dog of the lodge! Relax at the swimming pool and increase your tan.
The guesthouses were not built as nice as the main building, were not mosquito-proof and needed some cleaning.
The kitchen is great and the service was kind and good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandoeng1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The two days @ Lagoon Resort were the first two days in Uganda. It was an good start to get used to the climate and the country.

My room was named Rhino. It is a small cottage with an terrace. From this terrace you can spot monkey and several species of birds. The room was nice and clean. First I was wondering that there was no fan, but after all I did not miss it and I had always a good sleep.

Breakfast, Lunch and dinner are served in the main building. The quality of the food was excellent.

One day I made a "community walk" to see how the people are living and what they are growing. One afternoon I rented the boat to get closer to the different birds. it was definitely worth the price. Just ask the Hassan or his father when the boat will be available.

The resort is family owned and run by the family. All the people are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 104 in Kampala
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
660 reviews
2.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 104 in Kampala
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 104 in Kampala
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Resort

Address: Kyagwe | PO Box 70835, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing