We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Kolping House

Kolping House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kolping House
Ranked #35 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Good hotel. Midrange prices. They have added a new wing since I stayed but I saw it while attending a meeting at the hotel and it looks good.
Service can be slow.
Kampala is noisy and I have had some noisy nights here - not from the hotel most of the time but the surrounding places

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

This Guest house is well placed near to the centre of Kampala. I was mindful of other reviews so asked for a quiet room. There is a block of rooms behind the main block, and if you get a room overlooking the back of the block, you can't hear the night club or anything else on the street. There is, however, building going on at the back for an annex. It was noisy during the day but not at night. The annex should be finished by March 2012. The rooms are clean and quite spacious with en-suite bathrooms supplying good hot water. There are fans but I could imagine that the lack of a/c could be a problem in the hot months of February and March especially if you come straight from the UK/US etc. The free breakfast was very nice, you can order almost anything and it is freshly cooked. Meals are available the rest of the day as well. The internet access was patchy. The place is secure, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I was told that this was probably the cheapest respectable Guest house in central Kampala.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the very back of the second block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelttomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I've stayed at this place on a number of occasions. It is frequently used by visiting U.S. church groups and medical missions. It is very clean, secure, with very helpful staff, and a good value for the money. It is a bit out of town on Bomba road. I have always found it to be quite tranquil and peaceful, esp. in comparison to most of the other Kampala hotels I have stayed at. However, there is a nightclub next door, so based on the other reviews I wonder if they have a new sound system. Earplugs are essential for any traveler to Kampala, in any case.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zydec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Friendly staff . Reasonable food. Room are large high ceilings and basic. Showers are large, working and clean with hot water provided the sun has been out! The down side is the very noisy surroundings, the loud music goes on into the early hours. As rooms are not air conditioned, you need the windows open, so take ear plugs. Some rooms did not have fans, but the staff found one when I asked for it. Mosquito nets were fine as was the window mesh. Beds were very hard.
Having pre booked, it was a shock to be told on the second day that they had another party arriving and needed my room for one night! They said they would move me to another nice hotel in the area. It was not a nice hotel. It was dirty and not to the same standard as Kolping. There was no working tap with hot or cold water in my room, but I was too tired to complain further. I later found out that the tariff was under half that of Kolping, I was not impressed. I also later found out the "party" was actually some teachers from Kent. Hope you enjoyed my room guys, thanks a lot!
Because of this experience, I would not go back to Kolping and I cannot recommend them.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polarbearonthinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer in den oberen Etagen sind nicht so dunkel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank annid72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.5 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
667 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.0 mi away
Tristar Hotel
Tristar Hotel
#43 of 218 in Kampala
9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 105 in Kampala
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolping House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolping House

Address: Plot 132 Bombo Road, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing