We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent driver guide

I spent five days in Massai Mara together with Ken, my driver guide. He was really excellent and we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sightsee43795808982
Unbelievable trip!

Our roadtrip experience has been just incredible. Kenya has left us a sweet flavour in our hearts... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Francisco P
Read all 277 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Kampala
from £46.67
More Info
from £145.78
More Info
from £31.59
More Info
from £20.25
More Info
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
248
23
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
248
23
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self driving road trip camping gear rooftop tent lake natron driver guide great road lots of helpful information mechanical issues land cruiser no hidden costs in perfect condition renting a car fantastic country great company great car fantastic adventure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2023

Today, in Murchison falls National park (Uganda), we saw 2 guides (2 vehicules) of « road trip Africa » go off the official road to drive next to a lion only to please their clients with nice pictures. Totally out of respect for the lion and the 7 other jeeps and tourists who respected the nature and the rules. The worst is that it was done with the complicity of a Park ranger on site. Very shameful.

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank W807VBmartinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2023

We did a self-drive through Tanzania. We rented a landcruiser with a rooftop tent. It was a great experience! The car was a well used one but functioned fine. The service from the team was excellent. We had some issues with the fridge but after a phone call there was a mechanic within a hour at our campsite and fixed it.
We travelled from Arusha to Ruaha and after that to Lake Manyara, Lake Eyasi, Ngorongoro, Serengeti,Lobo and Lake Natron. It was incredible. We've seen so many animals and on our route only seen friendly people who were always waving at us.
Public campsites in Ruaha and Lobo are definitely worth a visit as is Masaai Giraffe Eco Camp at Lake Natron.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank 254inab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

We did a self-drive through Uganda and Rwanda, renting a car from Roadtrip Uganda. Excellent car, large rooftop tent, fine camping equipments and a wonderful webpage with an amazing amount of useful information.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank Roadtrippers_uganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2023

We were two women traveling alone and rented a car and a driver guide in Uganda. The service provided by the office team was excellent. They were veryy responsive and supportive and also offer competitive prices. What made all the difference though was our driver guide Ivan. He explained so much, and we would never have understood what we were seeing without his insightful explanations. Ivan was very knowledgeable, friendly, and an excellent driver. His services were outstanding and he made us feel safe at all times. I highly recommend travelling in Uganda, using Roadtrip Uganda, and traveling with a driver guide (particularly Ivan) as this makes all the difference.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank 574annikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2023

pWe hired a 4WD (Mitsubishi Pajero) from Roadtrip Africa for a two week journey from Tana to Tulear. It was a mature vehicle but well maintained and totally reliable and gave us no problems at all. In fact, I quite like a somewhat worn in vehicle rather than a brand new one, cos you know all the teething problems have been fixed. We were met by the really chilled and super friendly Dutch chap who runs the operations on the ground - Peter van Burren. He was easy going and available should anything go wrong. Really liked his attitude! We had also been guided well about what to expect prior to arrival in Madagascar by the sales crew at Roadtrip Africa, so we were able to just enjoy the roadtrip. We used RA’s proposed itinerary (classic RN7 route) and it was amazing!

Date of experience: November 2022
Thank jandS6407GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews