We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent driver guide

I spent five days in Massai Mara together with Ken, my driver guide. He was really excellent and we... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Sightsee43795808982
Unbelievable trip!

Our roadtrip experience has been just incredible. Kenya has left us a sweet flavour in our hearts... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Francisco P
Read all 276 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Kampala
from £46.67
More Info
from £145.78
More Info
from £31.59
More Info
from £20.25
More Info
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
247
23
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
247
23
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self driving road trip camping gear rooftop tent lake natron driver guide great road lots of helpful information mechanical issues land cruiser no hidden costs in perfect condition renting a car fantastic country great company great car fantastic adventure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2023 via mobile

We rented a landcruiser with 2 rooftop tents for a 10-day self-drive safari in Northern Tanzania. The support and resources through the website are very extensive. The local support for arranging park permits etc are very convenient. The car was in excellent condition we had no problems except for the fridge that did not work. For Serengeti we opted for a guide/driver. We hesitated about this at first, but looking back this is an absolute must. Stanley, our guide, knew his way around Serengeti very well, including all the little roads that are not even on the map. Stanley made sure we could see the animals at close distance, which we would never have managed on our own. He was also a lovely character, always happy to help and never too imposing. To see the wildebeest crossing at Mara River it is also a must to have a driver/guide (although this part was very crowded and this was not the highlight we expected it to be). Before travelling support was through email only, but once we arrived the local support through WhatsApp was very responsive.
For our itinerary (Ngorongoro, Serengeti, Tarangire, Arusha), 10 days was more than sufficient. A highly recommended camping place just outside Arusha in lush green and quite surroundings, is Peacematunda (it is on iOverlander).
Overall we had a trouble free and very enjoyable experience, thank you Roadtrip Africa!

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank jcbsktrn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2023 via mobile

Visiting Tanzania was a fantastic experience.
We are a family of 4
We rented a LandCruiser with 2 roof tents.
We did the Self Driving, following the recommendations from RoadTrip every thing went as well as possible.
I would highly recommend Roadtrip for their professionalism.
They have a real nice network of connections in Tanzania.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Tabanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2023

We had a very nice time going on safari with our driver: Robert. He is a very kind and patient man and knows alot about the Kenyan land and its inhabitants. We enjoyed his companie very much and would recommend him to all!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Eliza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2023

It was great to tour Kenya with Chris as our driver/guide on our trip with Roadtrip Africa. He was very knowledgeable, drove safely, and also made good contact with our boys (aged 13 and 10).

We first headed to Lake Navaisha from Nairobi, where we stayed at the lake shore at Fisherman's camp, where we saw hippos chewing grass just behind the fence. We did Hell's Gate on bicycles, which was a really special way to see all the animals. Chris then on the next day proposed to go to Crater Lake, where we did a wonderful walk with lots of animals again. The final day we went horseback riding at a sanctuary, which was also a very special way to watch the animals, as we could really get very close.

After this we moved on to Kibo Slopes, near the Kilimanjaro. This was an excellent place to visit Amboseli, a fantastic national park. Chris was a very knowledgeable driver, and found interesting places for us, and got us to see our first lions and of course elephants. We also visited the Masai here, and did a hike towards the Tanzanian border.

From here, we moved to Tsavo, where we stayed at Ngutuni Lodge. What a special place! From our room, we could directly see the waterhole where many animals came by, especially elephants and buffalo's. The visit to Tsavo West was also very special, we even saw 7 lions together from closeup near Lugards falls campsite!

After this, we moved to Diani Beach for our final week of relaxation. There, we also visited a very special primary school near Shimoni, the Kenya Kesha School, which was set up for girls of disadvantaged backgrounds. This was a really good way to get to experience the local life of the kids, also for or own kids. A visit is highly recommended!

All in all, it was a real trip and really a special experience for our kids.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank fongerypma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2023

On our 13 days trip from Tana to Tuléar we saw so much of the beautiful island of Madagascar! Stunning landscapes, and extraordinary and unique flora and fauna. Our excellent driver Mika explained us a lot about the customs and way of live of the people and took us safely to our final destination on the beach of Mangily.
Anouk

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank anouk2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews