We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in the best guesthouse Kampala had to offer”
Review of ICU Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ICU Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 188 Kampala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Putten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great stay in the best guesthouse Kampala had to offer”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The guesthouse is absolutely a great place to stay to check out everything that Kampala has to offer. It is clean, service is great, staff is very helpful. They offer delicious meals and the fridge is always full of cold drinks.

I've visited this guesthouse a couple of times already and I will surely return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    20
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
9
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed a few nights at the beginning and the end of our two-month stay in Uganda. THe guesthouse is nicely located just out of the very busy centre of Kampala, a 10 minutes bodaboda-drive (quite adventurous experience!). It's a lovely spacious guesthouse, we stayed in the smaller and the bigger dorm, which were both good and clean, with most of the times warm water in the (also very clean) shared bathrooms. The staff was really very friendly.
We organised a car with a driver through ICU (Grassrootz) for a week, organised accommodations ourselves. It was really great to have our own car, so much freedom, and the driver Paul was a great guy, so kind, drove very safely, and gave us the best tip we could get for accommodation in fort portal (rwenzori view guesthouse).
One of the best holidays i ever had!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjon1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

From August 11th until September 2nd in 2012 I went with my wife and two friends on a trip through Uganda, organized by Grassrootz. We began in the ICU Guesthouse, which belongs to the same organization. For me this was the sixth time (apart from being a traveler I also run a foundation) in this Guesthouse, which feels like home in Uganda to me. Rooms not selfcontained but are tidy and spacey enough, toilets and showers are clean, even when used by many visitors, and the food is allright. There's a nice rooftop bar which is always crowded with tourists and volunteers staying in Kampala. Never a dull moment there! Only thing is the sofa's in that bar need more pillows to be comfortable!
It's not the best hotel in town, but I'm sure everyone will feel very happy and relaxed here. Owner Sander van Zanten is often around and solves every problem you think you have. And if he doesn't, his wife Sarah will!

The trip itself was very well organized and decently priced. Hotels were ranging from okay to top. We had a very good and careful driver, spotting whatever game there was and good fun to be with.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taal1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bujumbura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We spent a couple of night at ICU, before leaving for 1 week tour organized through Grassrotz, ICU's travel agency. The day in Kampala we had a city tour with guide from ICU: it was very interesting and nice.
The tour (Murchinson Falls and Rwenzory) was a perfect mix of nature and culture, relaxing guesthouses and community accomodation.
The driver was a perfect guide for his country, that knows very well and love so much.
I would advice ICU and Graszsrootz to everyone wanting to really know Uganda or just to relax a few days in Kampala!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent a night at the guest house after renting a 4x4 + driver for a tour through north Uganda (George is the best driver in Uganda!).
Apart from the awesome trip though the North, the ICU guest house was a perfect relaxed way to end our week sleeping in the rooftop tent.
Relaxed place, nice bed, and a reasonable shower (superb for Uganda standards..)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My stay at ICU guesthouse has been great. The people, both guests and staff, are very friendly and always willing to help. Most guests come on their own, which causes that you easily get in contact with other people. The guesthouse is clean, safe, welcoming and friendly. I appreciate the fact that the profit of the guesthouse goes to community projects (Jjaja Bbanga). For me this makes the stay at ICU different from many other guesthouses. I would advice everybody to stay at ICU Guesthouse!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My boyfriend and I have been staying at ICU Guesthouse ever since the doors opened in 2009. It is an amazing place and we are always happy to be back! Conveniently located in the outskirts of downtown Kampala, ICU guesthouse is situated in a goregeous 10 bedroom house with a lovely garden, multiple verandas, 2 comfortable living rooms, a nice dining area, and an incredible roof-top terrace equipped with couches for louging, a bar, and a bbq. Whether you're in Kampala for a short holiday, backpacking, or volunteering/working, ICU is the kind of place where you immediately feel relaxed and comfortable, which also makes it the kind of place you like to come back to again and again! It truly is your home away from home. We have stayed at ICU for short 1-2 night trips, as well as longer term (several weeks), and we are never disappointed.

There are a variety of nice rooms to chose from - singles, doubles, triples, and a dorm - each having a nice beds with good mattresses, proper, rectangular mosquito net, clean sheets and towels, and a closet and/or shelf for your things. There are 4 bathrooms with showers, and the solar heater mean there is always hot water. There is also washing machine and a laundry service at your disposal. Even better, there is a communal kitchen that is fully equipped with multiple refrigerators, stove tops, appliances, and all kitchen utensils that you can use freely to prepare your own meals whenever you'd like. If you're not in the mood to cook, you can always sign up to join in the family style dinner which is always good. Did I mention that breakfast is included? Every morning there is a simple but nice spread of bread, jam, honey, tea, coffee, milk, in addition to fruit and something warm like a chapatti. The staff is incredibly friendly and accomodating - always offering help when you need it. If you stay for several weeks/months, you will really get to know the staff and they will become an important part of your stay.

The multiple verandas make for a great place to retreat to read a book, chat, do some work, or simply escape for a few hours - especially after the hustle and bustle of the city. But the best part of the whole guesthouse is the covered veranda. If ICU wasn't already an oasis in the city, the veranda seals the deal. Comfortable couches, a great bar, lots of tropical plants, good music, plus the option of bbqs and outdoor movie nights - what more can you want? Friends? You'll find them there too! ICU is a great place to meet people as there's always a nice mix of short-term and longer-term people staying there doing various things in Uganda. We've made great friends of the years, many of whom (like us) keep coming back!!

Last but not least, ICU is a great hub for planning travel adventures and volunteer experiences in Uganda. We've always used ICU for advice and bookings because they organize fantastic safaris and getaways at a great price and they are always reliable. We've traveled all over with them - Lake Bunyonyi, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Murchison Falls, and Jinja for the rafting - and it is always a great deal. Unlike the expensive safari companys or the sketchy budget tour groups, ICU arranges a personalized trip that is totally affordable. We've also had loads of friends go through ICU to find a volunteer placement in Uganda, and they never disappoint.

So all in all - the subject of this review says it all. ICU is an oasis in Kampala! If you're looking for a home away from home, take it from a Kampala veteran - ICU is the best pick out there!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SofiaLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
4.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.4 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#11 of 188 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fat Cat Backpackers
Fat Cat Backpackers
#1 of 117 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.0 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#3 of 188 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ICU Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ICU Guesthouse

Property: ICU Guesthouse
Address: Bazzekuketta Road, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our clean, safe and spacious guesthouse is located in a Victorian villa in the calm outskirts of downtown Kampala. ICU guesthouse is situated in a 10 bedroom house with a lovely garden, big veranda, comfortable living room, dining area, and roof-top terrace equipped with couches for lounging, WiFi, a bar, BBQ and cinema. Our restaurant offers a combination of Ugandan and Western style meals and provides breakfasts with Western-style bread, fruits, different spreads, coffee and tea. We accommodate both short term and long term international guests, which creates a great hub for travel-planning and sharing experiences. Additionally our own travel agency Grassrootz Adventures combines culture and nature and offers affordable tours to community based tourism sites all around Uganda. Also we are connected to a wide range of long term and short term volunteer opportunities in different fields and locations. Plenty of opportunities to explore possibilities for your staying in Uganda. Please inform us if you want to be picked up from the airport or any other location in Uganda, so we can arrange you comfortable transportation to Kampala. In case you are not familiar with the city we offer City Tours with experienced guides who will show you around different parts of Kampala. To introduce you to the public transport system, where to get your groceries, a SIM-card and other things you'll need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your ICU Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing