We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a perfectly acceptable place to stay (and was especially welcome after a long flight), but frankly falls some way short of the quality that should come with the room prices - it's fine to charge international rates ($300/night) for a room, but the quality of rooms and service has to match (or, frankly, given the average cost of local hotels, exceed) what the same amount of money would buy internationally. In particular, the hotel's air conditioning (especially in public areas) is either woefully inadequate or simply not turned up enough, the beds are extremely hard (again, even by local standards) and the staff generally inattentive and slow. All in all, just OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    93
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
44
16
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Really lousy food by the pool. Slippery tiles around the pool so every so often a kid slips. Slow and disorganized service. Taps and dispensers in changing rooms do not function. Lousy value for money. The rooms ok. Does not feel like the traditionally high quality of service offered by Serena..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Firstly, may I register our appreciation for sharing your experience during your last stay, which I have disappointedly noted that was not enjoyable, and I do apologize for the shortfalls.

We have taken corrective measures to put right the water taps and soap dispensers with replacements. Improvements on food quality and service speed and hands-on drying of wet pool area floors to avoid slipping. We reassure you of service, first class quality and true value.
Lake Victoria Serena, at all times, seeks for and appreciates feedback from our most valued guests. We look at feedback sincerely and clearly. We endeavour to keep improving and always we will promptly attend to areas of improvement. We are certain that should we get another chance to serve you, we will straightforwardly deliver the service promise known of Serena Hotels.

Sincerely,
Wilfred Shirima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I took our family for lunch at the Serena hotel. We were impressed by the property (lovely views of Lake Victoria, surrounding hills, and manicured gardens), so we decided to stay over for a holiday weekend -- just a quick get-a-away. After our lunch, we went to the reception desk to book a room. The agent at the desk confirmed there were rooms available on the dates we requested, BUT didn't want to book them because he might have a guest who "wants to stay longer and where would he put them."

He asked us to please call the reservations team on Monday because he didn't want to do the "wrong thing." My husband I looked at each other incredulously and said, "ok." We also left our details so that reservations could contact us directly. The following day we called back and the reservation agent on duty indicated that there were no rooms available.

I told my husband -- "that's strange -- there were plenty rooms yesterday. Just call back and speak with someone else." He called back and as I suspected, there were rooms available. Another agent then claimed they would email my husband reservation options. Nothing in the inbox. My husband called back twice because he hadn't received an email from the hotel.

I am a veteran travel and have lived throughout sub-Saharan Africa and Latin America for the past 15 years. This poor level of service at this type of establishment was really a low for us. Disappointing to say the least.

Room Tip: Block 4 rooms have good lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was a company retreat/workshop and we stayed a full week. Food is awesome, and it was important that we had a good food -- meetings were stressful and long, and no other restaurants close by -- so good food made our stay more enjoyable. Rooms are spacious as they should be in the resort. Pool and gym are new and clean. The ambiance and exterior decors are amazing. The lake view makes you stare non stop. Will look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a proper resort overlooking Lake Victoria, serene and calming. Rooms are decent size, clean and good quality.

Meals are excellent, breakfast being the highlight.

Staff is super nice and friendly, but a bit slow. We ordered fruit cuts, cake and Amarula in coffee shop, and as only guests waited for 45 minutes to be served. Can't be angry at them as there are so nice, just arm yourself with patience.

The only problem I had with hotel are communications: Internet was not working, neither in rooms or the main lobby area and payment by card was not possible at the time of checkout. For some reason you can't buy postcards there, probably they are out of fashion these days.

Recommendation: Great for holidays or short break when you're not time pressed.

Room Tip: Right side has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodEliminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, IT Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

We are very grateful for the review you submitted regarding your stay at Lake Victoria Serena Resort & Spa.

We would also like take this opportunity to assure that our services will continue to improve especially in the areas where we fell short of your expectations.

We have identified the reason as to why you were not able get wireless internet in the areas you mentioned and we have addressed this issue to a level that we believe you will find very satisfying.

We have both wireless and cabled internet in the rooms and both options are free of charge. We have installed more equipment to ensure that you get good wireless internet signals in the rooms and the public areas like Citadel Restaurant, Lobby, Bars and the Conference Halls.

Once again, we are grateful for your stay and feedback and we look forward to hosting you at Lake Victoria Serena Resort & Spa.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This resort is just ok. We lived next to Orlando, FL for years, and are very familiar with large Mediterranean- style resort complexes and the services they provide. Weird to run into one in Entebbe/Kampala! The property is fine, generally clean with a decent restaurant and a large staff. Disappointing not to be on the lake.
The rooms are seemingly well appointed, although as you settle in you will find that they are not sparkling clean. The service is remarkably slow, whether bringing bags to the room, responding to the need for a rollaway bed, taking a dinner order, or preparing dinner. But, the staff is very pleasant to work with, so it's just a matter of being patient. They were VERY careful not to enter our room unless one of us was present, apparently they have taken recent accusations of thievery very seriously.
I have to mention the mosquitoes, because they were SO thick. Even in the dining room, which is located off the lobby area, there were clouds of mosquitoes around the heads of some of my travel companions. One of our drivers shared his malaria-recovery story with us. This is definitely a place to consider DEET and/or malaria preventative.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schooly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed again at the Lake Victoria Serena hotel for 2 weeks in September. The downside to this hotel remains the bad road you must travel to get there. The upsides are many. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the views and ambiance are very pleasant, the staff is friendly and efficient. The food is good, although when they have a buffet it is a bit overpriced. The pool is beautiful with comfortable seating, a nice bar, food service poolside, etc. Wifi worked well and is provided at no extra cost. My only complaint is that the night before I left there was a party at the pool and the music was so loud that you could feel the vibration of it in the floor of my room. Half the volume would have been loud enough for the party to enjoy it and would not have been so disturbing to hotel guests. It went on til 11pm which was way too late for the comfort of hotel guests who had to get up early to go to work the next day.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upstairs room for security purposes. The ground floor rooms have a patio door t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampala
7.8 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
9.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#13 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
14.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Lweza Kigo Road | Off Entebbe Road, Kampala 01000, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Business Hotel in Kampala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Victoria Serena Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing