We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could easily pass as the most beautiful Serena Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could easily pass as the most beautiful Serena Hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

i have stayed here three times and there is just something 'right' with Serena hotels and this one does not disappoint. Lovely rooms, lovely food, lovely service, beautiful landscape and view of the lake. One could be swallowed up in the hotel and easily block out all the troubles of the world out there. Only downside is that it is so secluded and if you are the kind of traveller who likes jumping into a taxi and visiting the town or taking a walk to the nearest restaurant then perhaps this is not the hotel for you. It would take you at least 30 minutes drive to the nearest 'town'. It therefore can get boring pretty fast! Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are just beautiful but most are quite a walk from the reception. If you don't like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopeNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    93
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
44
16
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for about 10 days, and I never regretted a single moment of it. The scenery was very lovely, the room was clean and cozy, the food was very fresh and tasty, and the hotel staff was all friendly and helpful. The conference that we organized at this hotel was successful thanks to their high professionalism.

Actually, I was quite impressed by the hotel staff’s integrity with their services every day. In the powder room on the lobby floor, I saw a house keeper cleaning literally spick and span, top to bottom. In the main restaurant, staff always made me feel welcome and at home. One time, while I was having breakfast, I noticed that a restaurant manager directed a stern look at my coffee cup and saucer. I later found that it was because the manager thought the waitress served me a coffee without a spoon (and reprimanded her for this). In fact, it came with the spoon but I put it on a meal plate myself (so I cleared the manager’s misunderstanding). Their service standards were really exemplary. This hotel really made me found of Uganda and Ugandan people. I really hope for another opportunity to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepingkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Big room with big bathroom and plenty of amenities. Very clean. View on the lake, balcony, very quite... Perfect!
Amazing swimming pool (25 m) with very good Congolese music... Very relaxing.
Staff welcoming and helpful.
Good food at the restaurant but wine too expensive.

Not much to do in the area.
The "shuttle" between Airport and hotel too expensive (taxi from Kampala center to Airport is cheaper even if hotel is closer to airport!).

Room Tip: Rooms far away from restaurant/swimming pool are quieter: beware wedding parties on WE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice location but not right up against the lake as some the photos suggests. Fair food selection trying to have a little on the menu for every corner of the world. Standard-sized rooms with tiles on the floor.

Wireless internet throughout at slow but steary speeds (I saw 150-200 kbps most of the time). Staff is friendly but a bit relaxed overall. I often saw trays with room service items on them sitting outside, which brings cockroaches (I had them in my room on both occasions). There are mini-bars in each room it seems containing only beverages.

I stayed room 144 and 142. Both of those - and many more - are facing a field just East of the property used for gatherings of the locals. At both my stays there were celebrations going on, and the music/singing was in both cases very(!) loud. On my last stay they music started at 4:00 p.m. and ended at 11:00 p.m. Not great if you're there for an early flight, a day room or to work.

I believe the Serena in Kampala itself is of higher quality (it's a member of LHW), but the drive there can be up to two hours from the airport until you arrive in the middle of the night.

All in all a nice hotel and probably the best there is in Entebbe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Don't mistaken me for a food lover but the meals are the best in Uganda and most places I have visited in the world. Great breakfast, variety at lunch and dinner. The rooms too are spacious and neat. Plumbing is occasionally disappointing - the reason I rate a 4

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichoUg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went down to LVS, after a conference last week, for an overnight stay. This was my first visit.

I had a pleasant welcome, with cold drink, herbal flannel and was escorted to the room. I had work to do before relaxing, but had to leave the room as there was no wifi, so worked by the pool instead, which was tricky with the wind and brightness. The pool area is certainly very pleasant, but I didn't get chance to try it, as we were having a cocktail party early evening. The IT Tech came from the Business suite, in order to check it out, and claimed to have internet on his phone. It didn't work when I returned.

Friday night was pasta night - fresh pasta cooked to your choice with any ingredients; alongside, a variety of hot dishes in warmers, none of which looked appealing. I was generally disappointed in dinner! And we were chased off an unreserved outside table, having already been seated, and asked a chef it if was OK!

We both had a terrible night's sleep, due to the noisiest extractor fan going all night in the bathroom; the TV coming on twice automatically (switched it off at the plug after the second time); and hard mattress. Morning came, just managed to pick up wifi by standing near the room door.

My husband said the breakfast has improved, but I only wanted something light, so went for fruit salad and danish pastries. I had to ask for butter though! It was shut in a cupboard.

On the whole, the environment is very pleasant, and I can see the appeal of possibly breaking a journey to the airport or a weekend break - but the road is so appalling to get there, you have to be prepared for that. I wouldn't like to do it in the darkness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I visited Serena Lake Victoria for the second time; this time for a 5-day workshop. The hotel offers good conference facilities and the rooms are very comfortable with all modern amenities including air-con, satellite TV, big comfortable bed and nice bathroom - and views of Lake Victoria.

Food is really good (I only tried the buffet, not the a la carte) and the staff very friendly and service minded - not least the chefs manning the buffet. The hotel has a very nice gym and spa - I really enjoyed both a pedicure and a facial in the spa - the prices are high compared to Kampala but the quality matches what you pay. There's also a large (and very clean) pool; perfect if you want to do laps. Only drawback was the room service - I ordered a tuna nicoise salad which was really tiny, nothing special and definitely not worth its extravagant prize!

If you are looking to pamper yourself, I would definitely recommend Serena Lake Victoria as a weekend get-away - or as a pleasant stop-over on your way to/from Entebbe Airport.

Room Tip: The rooms located to the right of the main building (facing the water) have much better lake views t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane-in-Tanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampala
7.8 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
9.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#12 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
14.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Lweza Kigo Road | Off Entebbe Road, Kampala 01000, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#7 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Victoria Serena Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing