We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a good price!”
Review of Hotel Kenrock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kenrock
Ranked #11 of 189 Kampala B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a good price!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you want a good guesthouse that is not too pricy then Kenrock is your place.
The staff is nice, rooms are clean and the food is definetly safe.
Free wifi is included and staff is available 24hrs.
It's located in one of the calmer areas Muyenga close to the International hospital and has good access to supermarket and taxi-stages if you want to reach Kampala center.
It is also easy to find safe safaris from the hotel like Trevor tour safaris and other companies closeby.
The manager Arun is also a nice guy who can give you good deals if you stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Stina_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    26
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
6
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulu, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The first time we came here there was no room available so my wife and me decided to stay in the hotel next door, this was a terrible experience, luckily the next day we could stay at Kenrock, this was in August 2013, since then we stay here every time when we are in Kampala,
My parents stayed here when they came to visit for my wedding,
The Staff really friendly and always ready to help you,
For us this is the place to be, the prices are fair end the location is perfect, the rooms are basic but very clean

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arua, Uganda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for many times now in Hotel Kenrock and the price-performance ratio is very good.
The room service is fast and friendly, the shower mostly hot and the rooms are clean.
I feel save there and many restaurants and bar are within walking distance.
So I can definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Travels99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed in Kenrock twice, last time for more then one month. And I can say that this hotel is the best option that I could find in Africa. The staff is very friendly, nice people, and the service is improving, wireless is there, more or less.
The hotel is, first of all, very safe, clean, the rooms are ok, and the price is very acceptable, from 15 to 20 US dollars. It has a lobby with a huge garden. Meny interesting people you can meet there sitting and drinking beer.
Location is great, in Muyenga, but not far from Kabalagala, actually center of night life in Kampala.
Actually Kenrock is, in my point of view, the best budget option that I could find in Africa. It is managing by very kind Indian gentleman Mr. Arun who take cares to be everything like it should be!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbale, Uganda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Located in a perfect place,rooms and beds are very clean though small.Staffs seems to be untrained with complete lack of respect for guests.My surprise was when I went for breakfast and I was asked to pay an extra fee which Ii had thought was included in cost of accommodation.Non of the staff ever dared to explain this to me.This made my one night here a nightmare.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameso897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Most people do not get to find this hotel, but it is a wonderful one not need to go to those backpackers...Kenrock has self contained clean rooms, helpful staff, and most of all the owner is a gentle kind person who goes out of his way to make costumers comfortable and happy at his hotel. The area where the hotel is located is very nice as well, several restaurant of a wide variety within walking distance, the famous "Italian supermarket," you could even walk to Garden City Mall or Oasis if do not mind a 30 min. steady pace.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnGuatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hi, everyone!
I've stayed at the Kenrock twice already and I can say- GREAT PLACE! I've heard many times the term like "the home far away from home". So, that's it!
Big room(I lived in 102- it's the best in the hotel), big double-bed, tv, hot water all the time, wi-fi, big balcony. Cleaning is every day. Nice garden on hotel's territory, good for relax. Day-night security.
For all of this - 26 dollars only!:) U can get ur meal at the restaurant right here or go out at another places. By the way, u can reach supermarket, cafe-restaurants, office for changing money by foot in 3-5 minutes. The night life(Capital Pub, De Posh and so on) is also not far- it's a walking distance, about 10 minutes. Kenrock is guest-friendly:)
Ì realy love this place. The staff is helpful and reliable, some of them work here for 5 years and more. My huge respect for the owner(hi, Arun!:)) for the management and for the treating the guests like that. I'm gonna miss u, guys! See u again!
Andrey Login.

Room Tip: My tip is- take the room #102 or #210. First one is bigger, second one is better for sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
8.7 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marie's Royale Hotel
Marie's Royale Hotel
#53 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel International 2000 Limited
2.0 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#34 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenrock

Property: Hotel Kenrock
Address: Tank Hill, Muyenga, Kisugu Area | P. O. Box 70533, Kampala - Uganda, Kampala 000256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibu - Welcome | About UsThe moment you pass through the gates of Hotel Kenrock, you enter another world, the heat and bustle of modern Kampala left behind as you tune into the cool ugandan elegance of Hotel Kenrock. It offers a wide range of accommodation and services with all rooms well furnished with an ambience that remains as friendly and welcoming as it has always been since its humble inception in 2000.We would like to warmly welcome you to Hotel Kenrock. We are committed to making your stay in Kampala as comfortable as possible. Hotel Kenrock has 26 guest rooms in different categories well furnished, equipped with Satellite TV, Telephone and Comfortable Bathroom with Shower.The restaurant can accomodate up to 50 people while our garden can take upto 150 people. Hotel Kenrock has Wireless Internet connection in the restaurant, bar and garden. Guests can access Internet in their rooms.Hotel Kenrock is an ideal setting for workshops and small conferences as it is in a quiet environment and with ample parking space which is available within the compound.We can organize for effective airport transfers, city trips and safarisUganda's potential as a tourism hotspot lies in its mosaic of landscapes, from thick forests to snow- capped mountain ranges and vast plains studded with crater lakes, and its array of adventurous activities.There are opportunities for climbing and trekking; watersports such as sailing, fishing, canoeing and whitewater rafting on Lake Victoria and the river Nile; and plenty of wildlife watching options from tracking mountain gorillas on foot through the jungle to more traditional 'big five' safaris on the plains.At Hotel Kenrock, you can relax at the garden, access wireless Internet, organise workshops or meetings at our premises and enjoy our fine continental and Ugandan dishes at the restaurant. Although our menu is quite extensive, we will be more than delighted to meet your special wish for a meal. Our Chef will be at your service.Karibu to Uganda and enjoy the Pearl of Africa! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing