We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Warm comfort”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Whenever I travel to Kampala on work, I prefer staying at Silver Springs.
The staff is polite as well as efficient.
The restaurant has a wide menu which never disappoints. Quite often they have BBQ dinners which seem very popular with the local crowd. The breakfasts have a decent variety and apart from their fresh fruit juices, everything else is great.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathrooms are large with hot water available at all times of the day. In-room cable has a large variety or channels. The location is great as well, with the nearest supermarket barely 5 minutes away.

The pool though small, is well maintained. I shall continue visiting this place on all my future trips to Kampala.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    24
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
4
1
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel has large rooms which are in rondavel style chalets (some with multiple rooms). Air conditioning, TV and bed nets all provided. The buildings are very attractive and the pool in the centre is nice and well cared for - not huge but a good size. The restaurants are very good and the breakfast is excellent. The major downsides were the level of noise on Sunday from live Indian music and continual piped music in the hotel, plus the location which is a bit out of the way for central Kampala because of the traffic, though in fact it is not really that far. Taxis seem expensive in Kampala.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

After a crazy 15 hour overland trip in our Nomad Tours truck we finally arrived at Silver Springs at 11pm. The only place we could erect our tents was at the end of a parking lot, right next to the construction site that was still active and rather noisy.
We decided to upgrade.
What a pleasure.
From the coffee our friend got us, as tired, hot and dirty we made the necessary arrangements at reception, to the friendly porter who took our bags, chatting along the way to our room.

The room itself was an absolute delight. Much bigger than we expected, containing 2 beds, chairs, a desk, a large cupboard, a fridge, TV, and lovely, lovely aircon. We had plenty of space to spread out, sort out our bags and make use of the laundry service.

A safe in the room provided peace of mind as we stashed our passports and money into it.

The bathroom was spacious, the shower huge, and the hot water provided just what we needed to wash away the grime, aches and pains after a long days travelling. Our hair rejoiced at the hair drier, we looked like normal people again.

The pool area was lovely, we swam a few times, and enjoyed sitting around on the lawns at the pool, making new friends, ordering food from the restaurant and snack bar and being delighted by the friendly service from the staff.

We walked down to the local supermarket and shops, just 5 minutes away from the Hotel, and caught a taxi to the local markets.
After that another refreshing swim at the hotel pool was just what we needed.
Supper that evening was a variety of BBQ ed meats and salads. The BBQ is cooked right there beside the pool and the tantalising smells are too good to resist.

We did have a little trouble connecting to the Internet, the connection came and went, but that is a common occurrence in East Africa.

The Silver Springs Hotel was a relaxing oasis in the midst of bustling Kampala. Security at the main gate as well as the entrance to the hotel is very reassuring.

I loved my 2 night stay there and would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Checked in on 11th January at 1am and the security guy insisted on checking our bags one by one yet we had almost 9 bags among 4. So far so good. Rooms not too shabby,friendly staff. This is a place I would revisit

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It was my 1st trip to Uganda which I think is a wonderful country with a warm and friendly feel to it. The hotel is billed as one of the best but in truth its very basic. There was a flat screen TV but very limited channels mostly Ugandan. The worst issue was noise. There are pathways between the rooms across the gardens and you hear everything being said by all passers by.In the morning the cleaners seem to travel in packs shouting rather than talking to each other. No chance you can sleep through that. On a positive note the rooms do have air conditioning and mosquito nets which are essential. Breakfast is a buffet. I turned up quite late and it looked like there had been a food fight with food everywhere. No-one seemed interested in keeping it tidy. For the price I'm sure there must be better hotels here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My colleague and I were booked into the Silver Springs Hotel by our hosts the Federation of Motorsports Clubs of Uganda to be our base for some motorsports safety training. Booking in at 04,30 on the Saturday morning was a breese even at that time and the porters who showed us to our rooms were efficient and polite. The rooms were big and airy, clean, and most welcome after a 14 hour journey/flight.
The entire staff were friendly and polite and nothing was to much trouble. The meals we had were well cooked and gave us a good "taste" of Ugandan cuisine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Looking for a hotel for our last night in Kampala, we settled on the Silver Springs. Booked online through a well-known agency, it wasn't particularly cheap. In fact, I was amazed to see that one reviewer paid $70 as it cost me more than TWICE that amount.

Check in was very efficient and details of our booking were all there. As we were planning to leave at 6.00am the next morning, I asked about breakfast arrangements. They offered to either provide a packed breakfast or have the breakfast room accommodate us at 5.30am. We chose the latter. About 9.00pm that evening, reception telephoned me to confirm that we could go down for breakfast at 5.30am.

Our room was a reasonable size but the main lighting was exceptionally dim. To find something in my suitcase I had to use a torch, which was absurd. The bathroom window would not close and it was quite clear on examining the mechanism that it had probably never been fully closed before. Consequently, during the night, we were plagued with mosquitoes who were clearly coming in through the slightly open bathroom window. The room had air conditioning, which was welcome, but it couldn't be left on at night as it was noisy.

We had a drink in the Pebbles bar, described in the hotel's literature as somewhere to relax. Unfortunately, there were two things that prevented this. Firstly, a group of about 5 or 6 men were making a lot of noise. Secondly, there was music being played in the background with bass that was so low and powerful that the tables and chairs were vibrating. You couldn't actually hear the music itself but could feel the bass. It was so unpleasant that we left after one drink and went to the restaurant downstairs. Despite it now being 10.00pm, there were only two other groups in the restaurant. Both had a multitude of small children who believed they were in a playground. They ran from table to table, including ours, screeching loudly. Nobody, not least the hotel staff, asked them to be quiet. It was awful.

Next morning, covered in numerous mosquito bites, we went for breakfast at 5.30am. There were two men there setting everything up. I explained about our arrangement. "Nobody's told me about that" was the reply and the men then ignored us and carried on with their work. They invited us to help ourselves but everything was cold as they hadn't yet lit the burners beneath the food nor turned on the urns for the hot water. It was not a good breakfast. In fact, it was something of a disaster, especially after the promises made to us the night before.

We left at 6.00am, hopefully never to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#20 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#26 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Suites
Royal Suites
#21 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premiere Boutique Hotel
Premiere Boutique Hotel
#24 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Property: Silver Springs Hotel
Address: Port Bell Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing