We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Friendly staff, clean, personal and safe"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manhattan Guesthouse
Ranked #80 of 195 Kampala B&B and Inns
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
1 review
“"Friendly staff, clean, personal and safe"”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I spent two months at the Manhattan this summer and it was fantastic. It really felt like a home and the staff were always there helping out and being a friendly face. The rooms were cleaned daily and the bathrooms were fantastic considering where it is located (some rooms do have a hand held shower, but most of them are proper ones!). The food is lovely, especially the goat and chips, although the menu is quite limited so if you are there for a while it's best to explore the area. It is in a great location for reaching Garden City and the centre of the city and has a great view from the front garden over the surrounding hills. It is quite a quiet place, although the occasional flash of music can be heard from the road below, but that's just Uganda for you! It is also a very reasonable price so I would definitely definitely recommend it and go again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
1
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our charity teams have been staying at Manhattan for five years. We like the small size, which means personal service. The rooms are basic, but clean, and showers are usually warm. The location is good--up on a hill, the breeze usually blows and the traffic noise is not too bad. If you are looking for something 'western', go to one of the hotels in town, but if you are looking for a reasonable price, and a more Ugandan experience, we have always found Manhattan to be good.

Room Tip: I like the rooms along the 'back' as it is quieter and the showers are warm more often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed in Manhattan for 3 weeks while we were volunteering in Nakulabye, Kampala, It is a lovely haven and although basic ( sometimes showers were cold - but that was fine), the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It is reasonably quiet at night time ( which is unusual in Africa) and the food is ok . The prices are reasonable too - will stay there again if we get back to Uganda - I do hope so

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoppingFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbys
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I have stayed at The Manhattan for 3 consecutive years now and each time return it's like going home.
The hotel is very well placed for Kampala close to Mengo. The garden is set high off the road and provides a beautiful sun set setting when the sky allows.
The staff are the unique and amazing ingredient here...they are just wonderful and I have never felt anything less than special. Nothing is too much and they always have a smile and time for a greeting...in fact, they make feel so welcome, I now feel part of the family.
The rooms are basic but all have mosquito nets and are en suite...they serve food and drink.
All I have to really say is I will be back there EVERY time I go to Uganda...and I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to use it!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#33 of 100 in Kampala
40 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#13 of 195 in Kampala
36 reviews
1.4 mi away
ICU Guesthouse
ICU Guesthouse
#8 of 195 in Kampala
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 100 in Kampala
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
637 reviews
8.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#16 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Guesthouse

Property: Manhattan Guesthouse
Address: Balintuma Road | Namirembe, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan guest house is located on top of one of the seven Kampala hills, Namirembe in Uganda.Our rooms offer a warm and relaxing atmosphere. Room facilities include TVs, and they are all self contained. Rates include Breakfast.Our restaurant serves a wide variety of local and international foods. Our friendly and courteous staff offer personalized service that leaves memorable experiencesWe do have group buffets and meals ranging from 5000 to 10,000 Uganda shillings per plate.We do have room service all day anytime.Please note:Cancellation policy: 72hrs advance notice.Late cancellation or noshow � one night charge.Payment upon arrival by cash only.Check in from 12.00.Check out before 12.00.Breakfast included.Taxes included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manhattan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing