We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“story of a book brough in reality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

All rooms are very good esp the rooms facing Lake view.. awsm service by staff members and maximum private all times.. best place for peace of mind from busy life. The friendliness of Ugandans and the hospitality is my mind blowing

Room Tip: lake side view room... stay once n u wont ever forget they view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhawal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

The resort is very well maintained with very relaxing rooms. The hospitality and staff are very warm, courteous and make sure you have a comfortable stay. Food is good. Overall, thanks thank you to the whole team for making my stay so comfortable

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeita889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

very beautiful place to stay, amazing view from room to the lake.reception staff gave us warmed welcome.room was beautiful, gardens are very well maintained. Breakfast buffet was very good had many options. Internet , breakfast was included in the room rate .Food was delicious . It is a very good place to spent a weekend. True value for money. We wish to go back and stay in hotel....

Room Tip: first floor lake view rooms will be having amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anki0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had been for a holiday trip. I had a great experience of Amazing room, courteous and friendly staff, spacious grounds and big swimming pool.situated at a good location. Good entertainment for kids. Will plan for another trip soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcs1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Lavish property .. Amazing room overlooking the Marina, #507; highlight of my stay!! Staff extremely friendly and hospitable. Will CERTAINLY go back with the family when they travel with me;
in the mean while, propose making 1 weekend stay a Must every trip!!!! A must-do.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank MahajanPuneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here with my husband and kids over Easter. We all loved it, courteous staff, spacious grounds, the big swimming pool, great activities for kids like boat rides and horseriding and the lovely environment. We loved the climate than that of our kenyan coast. The only disappointment was the 5% charge when swiping the card and having to pay for auxiliaryservices like for horse riding and salon separately. Either way, it is a place worth coming back to soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The comfort of the conference room is one of the best I have experienced. Everyone had a comfortable office type armchair with a table to write of etc - there were over 350 at the conference. Audio visual was good.
I was intrigued to see Indian security guards on duty at each security point. All smart with tie and smart phone for company.
Conference food is conference food so don't expect much. Here the food was on the worse side of average - tough and hard to find something ok to eat.
The room was acceptable - tea and coffee available. The bed was comfortable enough. I was intrigued to see Indian security guards on duty at each security point. There was a turn down service.
Breakfast was a real dissapointment though. from far it looks nice but actually far from nice - tasteless is what I remember. At least there was good fruit.

The grounds are big so expect exercise to walk around – there are golf carts for the real lazy though.
The patio and pools overlooking the lake make the hotel memorable. We had a lovely gala dinner next to the lake with lively entertainment laid on. The food was suspect though.
I would like to have stayed longer to see more of the place.

Room Tip: Main building overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable comments feedback and compliments. We will continue to strive for service excellence in order to meet and exceed your expectations.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.2 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
668 reviews
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
3.5 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 104 in Kampala
341 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 104 in Kampala
753 reviews
7.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#12 of 104 in Kampala
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Address: Wavamunno Road | P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £187 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing