We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is very excellent.. specially i would like to appreciate the work of housekeeping department. worked so well.. i would like to visit again the same hotel. enjoyed a lot there.
people behave very well.

Room Tip: everyone is very helpfull there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipul77kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments.We value your feedback and strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    74
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
142
80
23
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can confidently say that Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is certainly among the best hotels in the world, considering its service, staff, product to offer and of course its location. It was a business trip and was certainly an amazing experience for the first staying at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort. Blissful!!

Room Tip: Everything about this hotel is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautamkumar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments.We value your feedback and strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

overall ambience was nice. good food. friendly polite staff. kids had a nice time. peaceful good rooms with great views. hope to come back again in future. would recommend this wonderful place to anyone

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanjitWap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments.We value your feedback and strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Speke Resort Munyonyo is an amazing haven from the hustle and bustle of Kampala! The rooms are spacious, spotless and very well appointed with all modern conveniences. Most of them face a beautiful lake facing room and a large and inviting olympic size swimming pool. The hotel staff from the manager on down are welcoming and ensure that all guests needs are met. The restaurant has wide selection of tasty continental dishes but we loved the awesome and authentic Indian menu! The gym has many exercise machines and also squash court. The Resort is also very family friendly and our children loved the horse riding and bouncy castle at Lakeside on Sunday. We would highly recommend Speke Resort Munyonyo and we will come back and stay there every time we visit Kampala!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namita-ajodhiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments.We value your feedback and strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Last April we stayed there..the service is very good..an specially thanks to Mr.Sumant...who deals my kid as chinteles...rooms are very good..cool staff an yummy food..the scenario of lake Victoria is awesome...a memorable journey we never forgot that...u have to must try...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namita singh lally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for kind words of compliments. We value your feedback and continue to strive for servicve excellence.Looking forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Before I start writing this review I would like to mention that I was quite unsure whether to stay in any other hotels in downtown or in munyonyo commonwealth speke resort as I was planning to celebrate our second anniversary. With few doubts in mind (after seeing some negative talks in tripadvisor) I finally booked a delux room in speke resort in weekend package.
We stayed there for couple of nights and I must say we could not ask better from what we experienced in this beautiful,well maintained,well equiped resort. Apart from the facilities and services provided within the package we also experienced great view of lake victoria, gardens, nature and most importantly great food and great service. The hospitality provided was beyond experienced as we felt every employee of the resort was aware about our stay and we were surprised to receive wishes starting from the staff in the reception, room attendants, restaurant servers as well as from the gentleman who took us for horse ride. I must mention that rain could ruin our experience however the view from the balcony overlooking the lake and garden was something you really dream for. The room we stayed was good enough for both of us with nice bed and furniture. Wi-fi sometimes does not want to run fast but most of the time its available. The breakfast in the restaurant was amazing with lots of hot and cold options and fresh fruits. The ambience of the restaurant was just perfect to spend quality time with your friends and familly. Unfortunate enough we could not enjoy the olympic size swimming pool because of rain however I can say the pool itself is a big USP of the resort. Never visited the gym but the sauna followed by spa was truely relaxing.
My wife and I would like to thank munyonyo commonwealth speke resort to make our stay wonderful and memorable. Wish you continue your good job in future and hope to see you again in our next anniversary.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more elegant..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkjonathan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments . We value your feedback and we continue to strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was there for three days conference .Such warm friendly staff, providing top notch service, with great rooms and I had an overall excellent experience. Very very happy with my stay and the service provided by the staffs . Next time I go to Uganda, I will stay here again. Special thanks to Sumant,taken care well of me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibhash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings !!

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Regards


Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#11 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Property: Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Address: Wavamunno Road | P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing