We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Speke resort is the best place to stay in Africa. I stayed there for 3-4 days for Conference. It's a very beautiful big resort which is located near the lake a beautiful view of gardens and lake.we did not get much time to see the country due to conference however the resort had very many thing to do.A very nice Olympic size pool, steam and sauna. Staff was very nice an friendly specially the Front office Manager Mr Ajit was great. Restaurant staff and good was amazing. Breakfast had very many options. View was amazing from restaurant . I wish to visit the hotel again

Room Tip: Rooms in main building with pool and lake view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishravk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is the best ever hotel I have ever visited. Nice friendly staff,mouthwatering food,amazing cocktails and great location. really loved the wide cuisine and brilliant service..No offence though but I really think there is one place in the world where the entire staffs of hotel will take care of you like baby even for your small needs. thank you so much to all staffs, especially Rohit from f&b who took care of me very well.Thanks Rohit..I have seen many hotels world wide but first time I came to this hotel and just one thing Amazing and Marvellous....keep going on the same way....UUU all rock...see you soon !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masthan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

It's an excellent place for any holiday seekers kids would love it. There are many options of outdoor adventure housekeeping is excellent staff friendly multi cuisine great ambience in other words fabulous awesome thankyou payel for your help

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is very excellent.. specially i would like to appreciate the work of housekeeping department. worked so well.. i would like to visit again the same hotel. enjoyed a lot there.
people behave very well.

Room Tip: everyone is very helpfull there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vipul77kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments.We value your feedback and strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can confidently say that Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is certainly among the best hotels in the world, considering its service, staff, product to offer and of course its location. It was a business trip and was certainly an amazing experience for the first staying at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort. Blissful!!

Room Tip: Everything about this hotel is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gautamkumar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments.We value your feedback and strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

overall ambience was nice. good food. friendly polite staff. kids had a nice time. peaceful good rooms with great views. hope to come back again in future. would recommend this wonderful place to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanjitWap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments.We value your feedback and strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Speke Resort Munyonyo is an amazing haven from the hustle and bustle of Kampala! The rooms are spacious, spotless and very well appointed with all modern conveniences. Most of them face a beautiful lake facing room and a large and inviting olympic size swimming pool. The hotel staff from the manager on down are welcoming and ensure that all guests needs are met. The restaurant has wide selection of tasty continental dishes but we loved the awesome and authentic Indian menu! The gym has many exercise machines and also squash court. The Resort is also very family friendly and our children loved the horse riding and bouncy castle at Lakeside on Sunday. We would highly recommend Speke Resort Munyonyo and we will come back and stay there every time we visit Kampala!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namita-ajodhiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !

Thank you for the kind words of compliments.We value your feedback and strive for service excellence. Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.2 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
668 reviews
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
3.5 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 105 in Kampala
341 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 105 in Kampala
751 reviews
7.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Address: Wavamunno Road | P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £188 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing