We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent******”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Team Monyonyo rocks ... It was a wonderful stay in your hotel and experienced great hospitality . Staff team was very efficient and helpfull. Thanks for giving us a wonderful time in the resort.

Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SruthiNeeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We planned to go there one day before Eid, however were terribly disappointed to know that the hotel was fully booked. The only room available was a Presidential Suite which of course is out of our Budget.

Still enjoyed the day out over there by making use of Olympic size pool, horse ride and boats. Lunch was perfect. The best thing to know was that many staffs have known us very well. Honestly there is no comparison with this hotel in Kampala, would have loved if we could stay there. Will try and come back soon!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Madhu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, sadly the resort is fully booked rather often and we therefore encourage our valued guests to book in advance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I spent quality time with my wife and son In munyonyo commonwealth resort over this past weekend and was amazing and truly a mesmerizing experience. Hotel staff are excellent in every aspect. My room was far from lobby and restaurants but that helped my wife to reduce on weight (hahaha just kidding). Enjoyed baseball and horse riding with my son at lakeside and ohhh how can I forget my Gimlet at pool side that was just icing on the cake.
Food is out of the world and stay was completely stress buster experience.
Highly recommended resort and surely would be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank singh1985singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings !!

We are delighted to learn about your stay . It was a pleasure to host you at the resort.Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words of appreciation, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This beautiful resort is right on the shores of Lake Victoria which my room overlooked. The "campus" is huge and the gardens and grounds are beautifully maintained. The staff was wonderful and the Indian food superb and can be served outdoors next to a landscaped "stream" and garden. Given that it is such a large resort, it is important to note that they have excellent security. Huge pool, extensive and well-appointed conference facilities. Only drawback is that it is significantly outside of downtown Kampala.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to host you at the resort.Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words of appreciation, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Situated on shores of lake Victoria. Am compelled to say munyonyo Common wealth hotel is a must visit in Kampala if you own your dollars.

I rate it among the best hotel under sub-Saharan Africa.The staff is welcoming with a charming smile. They are friendly and willing to help.
The rooms are amazing.The bath rooms are big with separate walk-in shower, tubs and best sinks.
Have two wonderful swimming pools one for resident and walk in guests respectively.

Given its huge size, a lot to do at the hotel that makes life more thrilling like pony ride, fish watching, nature walk and birding. As a birder, am so lucky that during my nature at the hotel i spotted beautiful bird the heuglin's robin chat(cossy phaheuglini).

On a record, the hotel is known for hosting Queen of England in 2007 during common wealth heads of government meeting Uganda.
Lastly i love the gym, steam, sauna and more importantly the lake breath and waving'' Florida palm trees''

I therefore highly recommend Munyonyo common wealth for high end tourists/travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nizeyimana inno... c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind words of appreciation, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Last week on 12/07/2014 I had the distinct pleasure of visiting this superb hotel for my clients. My stay was absolutely perfect. From the kind, courteous, and professional staff, to the meticulous, comfortable rooms and common areas, the exercise facility, the business center, and the spa/sauna area-Vickie was superb, my experience was nothing less than exceptional. Bahati Arthur (in-house staff) is a person you want to meet at any top class hotel. He is a person with a great sense of humor and made me and other tour operators to explore all what the hotel has to offer plus amazing horse ride. Thank you so much for the hospitality and surely, we promise business. Say hello to Singh (Front Office Manager) for the warm welcome as well. Can't wait to come back for a cold beer!! I highly recommend anyone visiting Kampala to stay at this hotel and price is pocket friendly!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. Both Bahati and Singh are assets to our hotel and we value your recognition of their efforts. We will continue to strive for service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We are very satisfied. Good relation between service and price. Hotel is clean, comfortable, has a good location. Last year we were been into the same hotel and we were satisfied too. That's the reason because we decided to choose Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort hotel again.

Service is fantastic, nice ambience and conference facility is awesome. Tired !! go to poolside and just another world mix with spiced cocktail..conference Service manager was very courteous.. in one sentence Asset to the management.. thanks again and thanks again...will visit again someday and sometime... keep it up and bye...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank afzalshariff786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.2 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
676 reviews
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
3.5 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 105 in Kampala
342 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 105 in Kampala
770 reviews
8 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#10 of 105 in Kampala
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Address: Wavamunno Road | P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £192 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing