We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient elevators, great smiles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ancient elevators, great smiles”
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

A Kampala landmark, this venerable and convenient hotel is full of very warm, helpful, experienced staff. Service is however slow, and the old elevators are frequently breaking down. Rooms are well appointed, but cheap plastic toilet seats and sub-standard tiling and fixtures really detract from the bathrooms. Weekend nights can be VERY noisy if you have a room facing the city center (compensated a little by great views on that side of the hotel). Not as flash as some of its more glamorous, newer rivals, but it gets high marks for authenticity and staying power. Now - if only they'd repair the once beautiful garden fountains (instead of filling them with dirt), the place might approach its faded elegance again...

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Chloe,

we appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We have upgraded all our Classic Rooms in 2012 which included new carpets, ceilings, furniture etc.

In 2013, we will renovate the bathrooms in all these rooms, including new tiling and new fittings.

The fountain was brought back to life earlier this year and I promise it will work on your next visit; it truly is a landmark for our hotel and the whole of Kampala.

Thanks for your feedback,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    270
    192
    76
    37
See reviews for
18
35
43
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Sheraton Kampala is one of the best hotels in East Africa, when you are in the hotel and you book the upper rooms you can see the whole of kampala, and they have a 24 hour open resturant and i disco , i reall loved the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oyugidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Hello Oyugidor,

those comments are the comments that make us happy and motivate us to work even harder!

Thanks, also on behalf of all our associates.

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Sulpice, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Sheraton Kampala is ideally situated near the centre, has very nice gardens and a very attentive and helpful staff. The restaurant is only reasonable.
Two points against it - if you are a smoker,you must take a room on the more expensive executive floor and every time you use the business centre you come away with viruses in your memory stick. Pity - other wise it is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyonette939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Lyonette,

Nice to hear that you enjoyed our helpful staff and gardens. We have just extended our Paradise Restaurant and now offer Italian Pizaa's from the wood fired oven and Tandoori.

We have informed our IT-department about the virus issue in the Business Center and they will update and scan all computers, to make sure they will be virus free on your next visit.

Thanks,
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed this hotel twice now. The location of the Hotel is excellent, however, if you spend 245USD, sorry to say Sharaton Kampala is not worth for it. Regular rooms are poorly maintained and old everywhere, except beds! Beds were pretty comfortable and I had a good sleep! That was 4 star! Room service food was also good, 4 star! Swimming pool, water was very clean and big, but water was bit cold! 3 star! Maintenance of the room, 1 star. However, if you stay top three floor which you have to pay a bit more, about 280USD? that was very good! :) Staff at the reception (woman) was not friendly on that particular day when I arrived. Its a Sharaton, but I did not find the value there. It's a pity. Well, that will be your turn and would like to hear what you think.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAIROBIjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Good Evening,

thanks for your response. Good to hear that you liked our beds, room service and pool. We have just finished a full renovation on our 112 classic rooms and hence I am surprised to hear that your room was not up to our and your standards. We would love to know which room you were in and what the problems were.

Please contact us directly for your future bookings and we will make sure that your next experience is the best you ever had with Sheraton. (tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com)

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Kampala traffic can be bad at the best of times and horrendous at worst, as such the location of the Sheraton made my business trip bearable in terms of reaching my destinations. On the downside because it is centrally located, my room, even with the windows closed was extremely noisy during the day.

A friendly and efficient welcome from the security and reception staff was a great start. the reception area is large and offers plenty of seating with access to a small arcade of shops within the hotel itself. The downside of this was being joined by a local lady who persisted despite repeated requests to allow me to work to want to talk to me and become my "friend"; when in desperation I indicated that I was sure that the hotel management would not approve of her asking for money from their guests she left. Internet reception in the main lobby bar is not great but it is good in the rooms and it is free! Full marks to the Sheraton for providing this crucial service as part of the room rate.

Room - hmmmm. "Tired" would be my best description. The room itself was a good size with a comfortable bed, the furniture though looks as though it came from the 1960s , it was perfectly functional but was totally uninspiring. Good television reception with a decent selection of programmes. Tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water were another +ve. Outlook from my room (clearly I had a bad one), a large roofed area and a car park - not inspiring.

The bathroom - diabolical. Tiny and grubby. Finding a positive - good towels and plenty of them. I would recommend removing the ancient bath and installing a modern walk-in shower. Seriously, even if I was desperate for a bath I wouldn't want to get into that tub.

The staff - fabulous, friendly day and night, I cannot fault them.

Outside, if you have the time and the foresight to bring swimming gear you will love the large pool. The area around the pool also looks a bit worn, but it is clean. The large gardens are lovely.

Room service, the food was hot on arrival but it was a long wait before it arrived. Breakfast - typical large hotel chain offering, the biggest frustration - getting a single cup of hot water and a teabag as opposed to a pot of tea! Snacks and meals in the bar and dining room - good, well presented and not overly priced.

Overall, a good business option.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

First time in Kampala - just as an aside - it is quite a long way from EBB, Entebbe airport; approx an hour and a half including some traffic which is common on approach to the city. Efficient check-in. Very nice reception area, with coffee/tea bar and nice patisserie, plus little gift shops. Anthony on Reception very friendly and nice. In refurbished room, which ok. Bathroom very small and although also possibly refurbished, also show signs of neglect, but it's ok. No soap provided but that might ave been an oversight.... however, when entering my room, there was a hotel staff member already in it, which was a bit strange.... but perhaps he was just leaving some of the numerous bottles of water I found provided f.o.c. in the room. Empty fridge which I personally always find useful. Rooms seem clean and tidy, and the corridors are very swish/ornate - it's all obviously been done up quite recently. Nice areas outside for outdoor eating with attentive, friendly staff. Set in attractive, landscaped grounds with views over the city. Ate in the cafe lounge restaurant by Reception area which was pleasant and well-patronised. Food does not always quite match the menu (as my colleague noted who has stayed here several times thus year) but my tilapia fish was good. Nice selection of coffees and teas, which came with delicious homemade shortbread biscuits (cookies). Free wifi throughout, the reception was better however in the rooms than in the Lobby, which is unusual! Overall, a nice stay, but bathroom size might be an issue with some.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I spent two nights during a recent business trip to Kampala. The Sheraton is very well located for business meetings, which is important given the sometimes appalling traffic. I was surprised to dsicover that it was originally built in the mid-1960s - clearly a lot of money has been spent on refurbishment. The swimming pool is very large. Service was excellent. The only negative was the basic quality of the bathroom fittings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 101 in Kampala
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 101 in Kampala
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing