We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Fortunately I had a low rate of less than 150 euro p/n. The atmosphere is ok, the breakfast is superior, and gym and swimming pool are pretty good.The ouside restaurant has good food with good music. Day rates > 200 euro is too much, but probably there are still who wants to that amount.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

In Uganda for a month and have stayed here and the Serena for weekends. At less then half the price, the Sheraton is a better deal. Room has a great view and comfortable bed. Bathroom a little cramped but OK. Gym pretty full service for Africa and a nice pool. Nice espresso at the bar. So a pleasant place to stay and reasonably priced. On the downside, the internet only worked once in the 2 days I was there, luckily had my Orange dataport. Stayed on the club floor which was a bit of a waste as the club lounge closed at 6 and didn't serve alcohol. The staff seemed somewhat distant and unfriendly on the whole but efficient enough. Would come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Sheraton in Kampala is just so-so, but needs some renovations. The rugs need replacing, the bathrooms need to be renovated or at least scrubbed down with cleaner since the shower stall walls had dark/mildew caulking.

When I got to my room Saturday afternoon there was fruit waiting, when I opened it Sunday noon to try some, some was moldy and old.

The phone in the room was very static so I couldn't hear. The maintenance person came up quickly and took care of it.

The food has been very good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, make sure it is not above or on the side of the disco/bar which can get ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Kampala can be a very daunting city if you visit for the first time, Sheraton provides a good escape from the hustle and bustle out there. The Food was good with a few options around the complex to dine and relax for a drink. With the weather as it is the complex provided good sundowner venues as well as excellent live music and entertainment. Rooms old and traditional could do with some renovation. Enjoyed it.

K

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Considering the price you should expect more. The staff are very good, and service excellent but rooms can be shabby.

The club floor had great service in the lounge with an array of snack and drink provided. The lack of other good hotels in Kampala makes this one of the few places to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zane_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Average is probably a mean rating, but very good would be too generous. If you want somewhere clean and safe to stay in Kampala with okay bedrooms and comfortable beds, then this hotel fits the bill. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was okay. The bathrooms need serious attention, old fittings, narrow baths with no separate shower.
The whole hotel had quite a dated feel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I know that when you are in Uganda hotel standards could not be the same as in european or american countries but when we talk about Sheraton standards, I expect them to be the same everywhere in the world.
Kampala Sheraton is a huge dissapointment in all aspects: Bad management, poor service, and very dirty (mainly sauna and pool area). During my two weeks stay at this hotel, I had problems with the A/C, bathroom and shower. After several calls and tentatives to resolve the issues, it seems that the management just decided to ignore my complains. To forget my frustration, I decided to spent some time at the pool, which needs urgent renovations and it is sooo...dirty, old and deteriorated (inside and outside, including furniture) that I did not enjoy any minute there. Some days (fridays and sundays), I saw some primary school children, staff friends and also some "funny ladies from outside" having fun or trying to get the attention from male guests at the pool, which apparently it is also used as a public pool when people from outside pay some little money.
At "the executive lounge" (that you could use as a starwood member), gym and other service areas, the staff working at this hotel seems always to be in a bad mood or tired all day. They probably never heard about customer service. Some times they are just sitting, walking or hanging around giving the impression that they are bored or they dont know what to do, when in fact they could be more proactive and attentive to guests' needs. I was wondering if they realise that their salaries depend on guests' happiness.
The only positive thing at this hotel was my breakfast, which a really enjoyed everyday.
I stongly recommend the new management to pay more attention to renovations, staff training (to teach them something about hotel service) and pool/gym maintenance. It is good that they offer a weekly cocktail hour to all guests but, they should use this opportunity to listen to guest's feedbacks and suggestions for improvements and then take some action!
In the meantime, my advice to you will be to look for better accomodations options, you will find much better ones, believe me!.. I went to the #1 hotel in Kampala for some drinks at the pool and there is a huge diference between both hotels.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Viajeromundial007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We have positively received your comments and would like to sincerely apologize for the rather unpleasant experience. We would like to advise that we have critically analysed all the issues raised by you and assure you that all effort is being made to have corrective measures put in place. Thank you for your recommendation with regards to training.

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast experience and hope you will return for a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 105 in Kampala
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#10 of 105 in Kampala
353 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: £121 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing