We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best option in Kampala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Kampala
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best option in Kampala”
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Although the rooms are quite small and old, the whole experience was pretty nice. The hotel has a very nice and modern atmosphere with good facilities (incl. gym, restaurant, nice coffee lounge and bar).

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DimitraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    274
    195
    76
    37
See reviews for
18
35
43
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

The Sheraton Kampala is very tired and dated in the bedroom department, this being particularly true of the bathrooms. Water pressure in the shower varied constantly and water of inconsistent temperature sprayed in all directions. . . My colleague said the same was true of his bathroom.
I couldn't get a decent internet connection either !
I am visiting Kampala again on business next month and I will definitely be trying somewhere else. . .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Checked in to the Sheraton expecting everything that normally goes with the name. First impression was disinterested reception staff. Second impression was non-smoking room smelled of stale smoke. Third came the decidedly tepid 'hot water' in the bathroom (found this throughout my stay at all times of day). Then I found that the TV remote didn't work. Then I went for a massage in the nice enough spa area and, although I'm certainly not a prude, and have certainly done my fair share of travelling, I was pretty freaked out to feel the hands where I did. I'm sure 'Everyman' will disagree, but I think it was totally out of order. It wasn't the hands but the PRESUMPTION that annoyed me. Won't be going back.

Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank THATSGOTTABEOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

The Sheraton is the place to be in Kampala for anyone wanting a comfortable, orderly place to conduct business and recharge from the chaos and heat of Africa.

The staff is generally excellent and do things promptly when asked (this is a rarity in Africa). I first stayed there in 2006. In 2009 I stayed there twice during my last business trip -- 2 nights, then away upcountry for a week, then back for one night. The front desk staff and the bellhops remembered me and asked how our trip went. Without having to ask, the receptionist gave me the internet rate even though I was a walk in.

The rooms are small by Sheraton standards but there are plenty of cupboards/closets for putting away your stuff. My husband and I had 5 suitcases plus 2 laptops and a bunch of random crap and we managed to hide it all away. The bathrooms are also small but they are clean and the fixtures work. The beds are super comfortable and have crisp white sheets and duvet covers. Wireless internet is free in the rooms and there is a business center open furing the day. It is very quiet and you rarely here any noises from your room. Only exception is Friday and Saturday nights on the side facing Lake Victoria -- the band in the bar is loud enoght to here even on upper floors.

The iconic circular pool is nice but not heavily used due to business-oriented crowd. When we swam there it was perfectly clean and there were lots of towels available in the health club so not sure what previous reviewer meant. I also had a 45 minute foot massage for about $20 -- very nice and relaxing.

Breakfast buffet is awesome. Everyone should be able to eat well and enjoy the view from the terrace. There are pancakes, waffles, toast, donuts, croissants, danishes, eggs or omelettes to order, baked beans, tomatoes, potatos, beef sausages, pork sausages, bacon, grilled beef and other hot dishes. There is a wide selection of fresh juices, teas, coffees, plus yogurt, cheese, dry cereals and tons of fresh fruits! Lunch and dinner menus are fine too if you dont feel like going out. There are starters like soup or calamari, then mains like steak, roast chicken, pizzas, burgers etc etc.

I challenge anyone to find somewhere that is better for business in Kampala. Speke Hotel has too many hookers hanging around, Speke Resort is a 30 minute drive away, Emin Pasha is too small and many others in the city center are grubby, poorly staffed and lack either a pool, a decent restaurant or wireless internet. Serena is nice but way spendy! KLM flight crews all stay here for a reason.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daktarilinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I was given a discount on the room, so i guess that meant i got stowed away in one of the rooms that had evidently not been renovated. the carpets looked 20 years old as did the pink decor and very dated washroom. The lobby is newly redone but lacks atmosphere. Especially disappointing was the pool area- it was obviously left out of the renos. The pool is a unique shape and looks great on the website from above at night, so i was surprised how run-down it was in the daylight. the health club could use a few reforms, like having towels available in the change rooms and doing something about the intense human sweat smell of the steam room. "This is Africa" as they say, but I expected better of the Sheraton. There are so many choices these days in upscale hotels in Kampala, i'm surprised they are not giving it much effort.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentravellercanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Nice hotel - recently rennovated (at least the eighth floor and above have been re-done) with clean lines, modern furniture. I took a peek at the lower floors and the furniture was dark wood, older looking carpeting so am not sure if ALL floors have been rennovated. VERY attentive staff. Breakfast included with room - delicious, many choices of food. Arrangements for airport pick up (highly recommended) as well as airport drop off was very efficient. Gym contained good equipment - clean and well staffed.The hotel is gated, surrounded by a spacious park. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaFamilleAventureuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I stayed here for several days while I was on a business trip to Uganda. This place has an excellent and friendly staff that works with us at every level. Great breakfast and dinner buffet. It is conveniently located near many restaurants, Casinos, and local shops. Nice pool and a great spa. Looking forward to going back to Kampala.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIfishguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 102 in Kampala
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 102 in Kampala
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 102 in Kampala
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing