We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton has forced up the standard for Kampala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sheraton has forced up the standard for Kampala”
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Overall pleased I stayed here and I would recommend.
Good points - redecoration very well done, buffet food evenings high standard indeed and changed daily, staff polite, excellent location, good tennis pro and very reasonable rate, good security, able to blag access to the very nice lounge to watch the World Cup occasionally.
Not so good points - well, you have to remember this is Africa and occasional dirty water from the shower, musty rooms is to be expected. Not many bad points to count. Checking in after a long flight was SLOW, but perhaps that was down to the smartly dressed Japanese businessman in front of me who wanted to know in great detail if the hotel internet was barred from 'very notty' sites (sigh, they turn up everywhere ....).
Spotted a few European uncles with their African nieces but not too many, thankfully.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    275
    195
    76
    37
See reviews for
19
35
43
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Stayed two nights on two separate occasions. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are quiet and good air conditioning means you will have a good night sleep. There are about 20 TV channels with good reception (although old CRT tvs). Free WIFI internet is not the quickest but OK. Buffet breakfast is great. The rooms are old and not cleaned to 5 star standards but OK. For example one room had torn curtains and the other appeared that the shower curtain had not been cleaned. The Gym and pool are also average but useable.
Overall it is a good hotel but a little expensive at $US200 per night (2 people including breakfast).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I stayed here on a work related trip. The staff were so helpful and fiendly. They even remembered my birthday and presented some presents. I am not so sure about the management. Certainly there needs to be better transparency concerning the exchange rates for credit card payments. On check out I found out that different rates of exchange rates are charged for food eaten in the restaurants and that for food ordered from room service. Information was not provided on check in. It turns out that you were better off changing money and paying for your food whether eaten in teh restaurants or by room service. I would recomend this hotel only becasue the staff are trying their best and they do not make the policies! Better check everything when you check in.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Don't be fooled with what you see on the website, this hotel has the most amazing service but wait till you get to your room! old musty carpets, bathtubs from the other century that are stained over time, my shower head actually fell on me as I showered. for the price of 161 USD (UN rate) I wouldn't reccomend anyone staying at the "regular rooms" the breakfast however was amazing. For a Sheraton, they are doing poooooorly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Udaipur,India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

SHERATONS are all deployed wih skilld and professionals, at Kampala, though time was too short with us but we could feel the sheraton touch..absolutely formal but then what more one wants, specialy when on business tour.
It is memorable forits well thought out lay out, restaraunt, food /wine...roomservice, business center...they would not leave any chance to guest for complaining about anything ,even water presure in bathrooms are all regualrly monitored by them.
It ismemorable forits ambience , cordial staff and their services.I would return tot his as during this trip I cdn't goto see the source of nile river,it was jsut 50miles from Sheraton, they told meto somehow doit and they were to extend all sort of help then i told themleave something for the next time.
To sum up, time ihad was really good time.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The room was very nice; however, I found a cockroach in my room.
The restaurant was ok, but I'd recommend walking to some other nearby places to eat. Overall, for an Kampala, this was overall a good place to stay.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank juliesca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Sheraton Kampala is dissapointing to say the least. Bottom line is it is tired. Bathrooms are simply awful. Metal fixtures i.e. toilet holders etc are discolouring. Net curtains in bed room frayed badly. I was on the 4th floor and the ceiling panels in the hall way have mold on them where there was some sort of water leak.
Lobby looks like it was quite trendy in the 70's. 2 of the shops in the lobby are mobile phone operators and the other one is a local artifact shop that suggests its products are sold for some charity.
Ate at the retaurant called paradise. Hmmmm. Again tables need sanding/varnish. The sun awnings are ripped and one of them flaps around in the wind. Lunch was not good. Croque madame with more bread than ingredients and calamari that had been deep fried so they resembled volcanic rock. On the upside the buffet in the evening for USD18 was very good. Also service and friendliness of staff is good.
Was there on a public holiday and called laundry in the morning. The lady advised that laundry today would be charged at double price. I suggested she was joking but she wasn't. USD11 for a shirt on a public holiday and apparently they also charge double on Sundays. Errrrr excuse me. Is it me or is there someone with a screw loose making pricing at this place.
Bottom line I will be in Kampala regularly from now on and it will not be happening at the Sheraton ever again!
Oh and if you check out the website and are wondering why the pool only has night shots. There is a reason!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirstytraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 103 in Kampala
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 103 in Kampala
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 103 in Kampala
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing